We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, shame about the sales pitch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sansuri Resort Phuket
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, shame about the sales pitch!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here at the end of June 2014 on a group deal voucher. Fabulous value with the voucher, but there was no mention that we were to be victims of a sales pitch to purchase one of the apartments. A salesperson came to our apartment supposedly to welcome us with a free breakfast & to tell us about the sights of the area. This turned out to be a ploy to get his foot in the door & try to sell us one of the units. We were very clear that we had zero interest in the offer, but we had great difficulty in getting him out of our room. I suggest you arrange to meet him at the pool - so you can get up & leave if you want!
We had a similar mix-up as another reviewer re airport pick-up. We were told by email that we would have to pay for a taxi from the airport at a cost of around 2000 BAHT. We agreed to this despite the fact that airport pick-up was supposedly included in our voucher. However, a driver was sent to pick us up after all which we were not told about - total waste of time & money, & no reimbursement offered.
Apart from these problems we had an enjoyable stay. The apartment was top-class & beautifully fitted. We were opposite the pool which was a delightful location.The TV offerings were unwatchable unless you are a sport fanatic & no DVD's were available on-site.The room service was a bit hit-and-miss, although the staff were lovely.There was a coffee-making machine in the room, but each pod was about equivalent to $2 AUD - very pricey. We bought our own good-quality coffee.
Room service meals come from one of the Surin beach cafes & transported to the hotel. They are thus often cold but can be reheated in the room. We were not overly impressed with this food.
The noise of the continuing construction onsite was also a bit off-putting but was not as bad as some experienced. We were also underwhelmed by the location on a narrow street with rubbish everywhere.
Great if you have a voucher but not worth paying full price at this stage of the development.

Room Tip: Our unit opposite the pool was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful apartments, good service, lovely people….however in my view the location of the resort is not that great considering the cost. The other thing that I found really hard to deal with was the noise, they were busy with renovations during our stay and it was really annoying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopperman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our first fault in staying at sansuri first started when we had arrived at the airport, after exchanging emails, it had been agreed that my partner and I would be picked up from the airport free of charge, this was not the case. After waiting an hour in intense heat and trying to phone the hotel we had to get a taxi to the complex, which cost us 2000 baht, which we never received any compensation and nor did we receive an apology from staff or the manager, speaking of which, the manager was not seen until the day of which we were to check out. Despite being emailed about a complimentary breakfast and a talk which I am guessing is the part where he try's to sell us an apartment that these other reviews mention.

The apartment room itself was beautiful, and was furnished in a very modern style and came with the basics that anybody would need for a short stay.

Although the resort has a variety of services these do come at a price. We were charged 1300 baht for around 4 kg of laundry also the shuttle service will set you back almost as much, you are far better walking to the main road and getting a tuk tuk. But beware at night the road does have some stray dogs roaming around, and some property's have very large and loud guard dogs.

The distance from the resort to surin beach is only a 10 minute walk.

The bedroom had a large double bed, which had a tv beside it, and although the window was facing the stairwell it still felt like we had more then enough privacy.
In the bathroom unlike most showers in Thailand there was warm water and pressure!

The kitchen itself had an array of utensils that came in very handy should you want to cook during your stay, and it felt like there was a lot of storage, everything seemed to work perfectly. A huge downside though I felt was the noise from the construction to the majority of rooms going on. Although I understand construction has to happen, I feel sansuri should not be open till it is finished it's work.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Fergusbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ResidencePhuket, General Manager at Sansuri Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Fergus,

It sounds like you did enjoy the apartment and majority of your stay. I am here at the resort every day but do not get to meet every guest. I am available to help with anything that anyones needs if any customer requests my assistance.

A couple of points are below reference your stay:

There is not any construction onsite anymore but is maintenance os being done in a room then it will only be between 10am and 5pm. Sorry if this caused inconvenience to you.

We did have our driver at the airport waiting to collect you but somehow you missed the sign with your name on it. The service was complimentary.

Our shuttle service is only 100thb per trip which is far cheaper than using any other local transport which most customers enjoy taking advantage of.

Hope you had a safe trip and best wishes from the Sansuri team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

it was very quiet when we stayed they're (only 3 or 4 out of 20 units were occupied). The complex is brand new and very comfortable. The kitchen is all equipped and everything was in working order.
The complex is only a 10 min walk to the beach.
The staff is very friendly and always happy to help.

However, there is some light construction going on in the property, so you might expect some noise, but only during the day-time. The building next door is getting build and can cause some noise too.
You will be contacted to meet a staff to talk about time-sharing offers, but if you are not interested, kindly decline the offer and no one will call you again
There was a bar by the pool, but only beer was available when we asked.
I suggest you don't use the room safe as all the spare keys are available at reception in a drawer upon request (so not so safe after all).

We rented via "deal coupon" and could not expect better location, service and facility for this price.

Room Tip: We had unit 5D, very clean. But I expect all units to be in the same state as it is a new property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ResidencePhuket, General Manager at Sansuri Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thought that it was great value.

The pool bar does sell a range of cocktails but maybe the cocktail waiter not available at the time of your order.

We do have a sales team here as we have apartments for sale and membership. It's meant to be a enjoyable experience for our guests and not any kind of high pressure sales talk.

Hope you can make it back

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in June. First time we had travelled to Thailand in June and found the area of Surin Beach and Bang Tao beach almost deserted. That may suit a lot of people but we like the night life and found ourselves taking off to Kamala beach and even Patong (800-1000 THB taxi fare each way) to find people.
Apartment was spacious and beautiful with a view to the sea from the balcony. Beautiful pool area, but no sea view from the pool lounges (just not quite high up enough) but again we were the only people there so no poolside mingling for us. Still enjoyed plenty of refreshments by the pool though!
Approx 15 min walk to Bang Tao beach or 30 min walk to Surin. When we did venture down to either Surin or Bang Tao at night we struggled to get a taxi home (yes believe it or not in Thailand) and found ourselves alone in the numerous restaurants and bars. They tell me it's much better in "the season" which is definitely not June.
Staff were awesome!
We witnessed the destruction of the Surin beach clubs on the west side of the beach road which was quite an event. If your planning a visit to catch beach club in the future it would be wise to consult trip advisor as to their status as there was plenty of talk about kicking them all off the east side of the road too when we were there.
If we had one negative it was the construction noise. Many of the apartments are incomplete and we were often awoken to the dulcet tones of hammer drilling. Add to that an entire building being constructed next door as well as the road out front being dug up with heavy machinery and you won't find yourself saying "ah the serenity".

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ResidencePhuket, General Manager at Sansuri Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the review Kevin, this time of year is very quiet and is quite a contract to the high season.

We hope you did enjoy your stay and maybe next time if you get back we can make sure you get a sea view apartment

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The apartment was very spacious and clean. Although I was only at Sansuri for 1 day, more as a stopover, I have to give them 5 stars for helping me to resolve an ear infection which had gotten progressively worse over the preceding 3 days in Bangkok. I decided to get it sorted as soon as I arrived at the resort. The chauffeur took me to a local Doctor, waited for me and returned me to the resort for 400 baht, however, the Doctor relieved me of 980 baht for antibiotics, allergy pills, pain killers,...
Whenever possible, I prefer walking but it takes about 15 mins to walk to the beach/action. That said, the Catch club on the beachfront was a good, albeit expensive, experience.
I can't fault Sansuri as it was exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ResidencePhuket, General Manager at Sansuri Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for the review of your stay.

Our staff are always happy to help with any issue you might have and we are glad that you got the service you required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beautiful Sansuri apartment 4D,lovely decor & balcony. Great idea to have shuttle, this was perfect so we didn't have to walk in heat. Beautiful beach with awesome sunsets, lots of great bars serving food & cocktail,most with daily happy hours. Pool was great & resort staff were very friendly & helpful. Will definitely be back, great part of Thailand for the beach lover .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ResidencePhuket, General Manager at Sansuri Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review Linda.....hope you will be back to stay

Best wishes from Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
13.9 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sansuri Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sansuri Resort Phuket

Property: Sansuri Resort Phuket
Address: 70 Moo 3, Haad Surin Soi 4 Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sansuri Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sansuri Phuket Surin Beach’s newest and most exciting executive serviced apartment where contemporary apartments and the best of hotel services blend seamlessly to deliver a perfect holiday experience. This is Sansuri Phuket, the apartments of choice for the savvy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sansuri Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sansuri Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing