We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in Surin to watch the sun go down”
Review of Salt - CLOSED

Salt
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Turn Left on Surin Beach, you wont be dissapointed. New Beach Bar with friendly Staff, great food, and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Surin Beach. No better place to watch the Sunset, with some great Cocktails and Delicous food
whitstable
2 reviews
“The only place in Surin to watch the sun go down”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've been going to Phuket for a number of years now , and there is nothing better on Surin Beach if you like watching the sun go down with great food, cocktails and excellent music, this is a must if you are ever in Surin

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steverosewhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairecookson, Owner at Salt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very lucky to have one of the few spots on Surin beach with a uninterupted view of the beautiful ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    73
    18
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great quality, yummy food, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went here for my grandmother's birthday and the staff were great. We ordered a beer bucket and when someone accidentally ordered a single beer later, they didn't charge the higher price, just took one out of the bucket. You MUST try their duck curry as well as a fried noodle dish (can't remember the name but it's another special of the restaurant). All the food was well flavored and nicely cooked. The grilled squid was the perfect consistency. When it came time for the birthday cake, the "easy listening" DJ turned his music way down so we could sing, and then played a special birthday song for my grandma. The staff was easy to deal with and very friendly. They suggested dishes for the vegans in our group and didn't let us down. The meal for 12 people was a total of 7000 Baht (very decently priced, considering we got 3 plates of appy's, several mains to share, and alcoholic drinks to boot!).
Right on the beach and we had a great sunset to start our meal off right.
Highly recommend this place!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Litterally ON Surin beach. Best Thai Food we had in years. Very decent price (200thb for larb gai) even in peak season. Don't hesitate to ask your favourite not on the menu they will do it. Service took long time because they cook all from scratch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCGUILLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairecookson, Owner at Salt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, very happy that you realise good food takes a little longer and your correct we do cook everthing from scratch, using fresh ingredients, we also do not increase prices during the high season, thanks again for taking the time to write this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't trust them”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

It was almost empty (5 other people) at lunch, we waited ages (we ordered just 2 dishes) and had to remind them about our order, when they arrived one dish was wrong, we asked them to change which they did reluctantly (arguing amongst themselves). They then put the wrong order (deep fried prawns) into a wok dish (what was ordered) as if we wouldn't notice but the batter on the prawns was soggy and the prawns hard from being cooked twice. We complained, they reluctantly took the dish off the bill and were unapologetic, ignoring us on the way out. Good luck.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetillew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairecookson, Owner at Salt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Very dissapointed and sorry you had a bad experience at Salt, have taken your comments on board and will be addressing them with the staff at our weekly meeting. No excuses, for rude staff , however very suprised as normally get really good reviews , on our normally very friendly and helpful staff.
Would love for you to try us again and see if we change your mind with a complimentory lunch.
However do feel your Title , 'do not trust them' was a bit harsh
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a lovely dinner at Salt!

We were throughly impressed and consider this the best restaurant we went to in Phuket.
Ordered the pineapple fried rice with raisins and cashews (so yummy, makes you forget about the no carbs rule), stir fried vegetables (simple dish done well), grilled squid (done to perfection), duck curry (bursting with flavor).

Enjoyable experience dining outdoors in the cool evening breeze. The indoor bar looked spacious and clean and great for chilling on rainy days.

We visited Salt again a few days later to rent the kayak and stand up paddle board- it's the only spot in Surin that offers SUP and Kayaking..uber fun!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abaey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairecookson, Owner at Salt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a nice review, will pass your comments on to the chefs, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing