We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Most amazing beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chedi for 3 nights during our two week honeymoon in Phuket. We loved the relaxed, layed back atmosphere of the Chedi. Our upgraded (rustic) hut was steps away from the beach, where we spent 90% of our days. Yes there were a lot of stairs, but really, with the amount of drinks and food we consumed on a daily basis the steps were very much needed! The breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for and was very western and the staff were extremely friendly and excited to chat about the soccer world cup that was just finishing. The beach is the cleanest, most prestine beach I have ever seen. We were there during the 'low' season so there was only a handful of people on the beach at any given time. The walk to Surin beach is only a few minutes away, but caution at night the hill going down the road is pretty dark. Surin beach had many restaurants to choose from, as well as beach side shopping and some nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    353
    79
    36
    21
See reviews for
385
992
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed for 9 fantastic days the staff are amazing and the food was excellent. Best was the private beach with no touts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

My new wife and I have spent the last couple of years visiting the Chedi for important occasions like Christmas, 30th Birthdays, getting engaged and precious weekends away. Last week we held our wedding at the Chedi and invited 50 of our closest friends and family there. It was an amazing week and the location and staff were incredible. During the Green/Summer/Low Season there are incredible waves for boogie boarding and swimming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

I have been here before 12 months ago and it was just amazing. So i was a little excited and a little aprehensive about returning with my partner.
Service was better, food was great (but i do have to say, go and explore patong as there are some really good places to sample Thai food), pool fantastic but most of all the benefit to having a private beach out weighs anything.
Its a tad expensive but you have to expect that when your in a nice place with great service you are going to pay for it.
The only thing that we dint like was the fact that there seemed to be several families that go on a regular basis at the same time with lot of their kids. They seemed to think that they owned the place with no respect for anyone else around the pool. A little disappointing considering the hotel staff seemed to pander for their every wim
We travel a lot with work and for leisure, we have stayed in may 5* places throughout the world. Would we recommend the Chedi.....ABSOLUTLY! just dont go during christmas when all the swedish families are their with their spoilt children!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIGI721119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We just left the Chedi last week and we had a lovely stay. The hotel is due for a renovation next year so the rooms are not brand new but we loved the charm of the bungalows on the beach side and the fact that it felt like we were still in Thailand and not at some luxury resort that could have been anywhere. The staff are lovely and very friendly, at the hotel and were especially impressive when due to an ear infection we needed a specialist and one was connected directly to our room by phone within minutes.
The beach is absolutely the best on Phuket. Private, clean, and no jet skis or polution or noise or disturbance from boats or activities. The beach shack restaurant Tam at the end of the beach which is not part of the hotel kept things authentic and the staff there are wonderful too...
I can't wait to experience the new renovations and look forward to our next stay at the Chedi...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igotdajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We have just checked out of the Chedi Phuket, and were very disappointed with our stay overall. Let me start with the good – the beach is amazing, presumably the best on Phuket. Unfortunately that is the only good thing I have to say about this resort, and I cannot agree with a lot of the comments of the other reviewers. We arrived and were shown to our room. It smelt so badly, that we asked to move to another room. Also the next room stank, so we were moved again and upgraded to a superior cottage, which had the same layout as the Hillside cottages, but is closer to the reception/beach, meaning less stairs. I read a lot of comments about the stairs before booking, and always thought “well, it can’t be that bad”, but believe me it is.

The rooms are okay and clean. They are old, which is not necessarily bad, but in this case it meant that the doors were all loose, and there was an about 3cm gap between cottage and door. At night one had to stick a towel in between, or they would rattle the whole night. I don’t want to know how high the electricity bill is every month, with the air conditioning on the whole time, whilst cooling the outside air. The mattress was very hard. Unluckily our room was also very loud. We presume that because the room had a partial sea view through the trees, these funneled that sounds coming from the ocean, and we could hardly sleep at night. Our friends that stayed in a room closer to the beach, had less noise. The bathroom is nice and big, with a big shower and a separate toilet.

The breakfast was okay, everything there that one needed, but nothing seemed to have been arranged with any attention to detail. The service was miserable. Plates were not cleared quickly, and tea and coffee were only refilled if one asked. Some guests even got up to get the tea/coffee jugs, and refill their own cups.

The normal Thai friendliness was totally lacking in this hotel, and you were very seldom greeted with a smile when passing a member of the staff. The price policy of the Chedi is a rip off. The normal internet low season rate for 7 days is EUR 1.300 through the hotel website, while we paid EUR 400.

The overall impression of the Chedi is, that it needs some serious refurbishment, which is planned for next year. Due to this fact, the staff seem to not really be interested in doing their job, and don’t look after the guests. Once the hotel has been renovated, the Chedi will become a real gem (due to it’s location), which of course will mean even higher rates.

I do not recommend the Chedi at this point. Give it a miss. There are other hotels that one can stay at for the same price. Okay, the beach may not be as good as Pansea, but you will be more well looked after. During our stay we drove to the Phuket Yacht Club, which is also an old hotel, but from the minute we arrived we felt at home. We looked at 3 of their rooms which were in perfect condition with an unbeatable view. The whole atmosphere was completely different to that of the Chedi, and although we only had a cup of tea there, we were treated like one would expect of a 4/5 star resort with perfect service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We went to Phuket right after Bangkok. The Chedi was nice. It was in a very tranquil part of Phuket. The rooms were aged but still nice, steps from the beach. The beach was pretty nice and clean. Food wise, breakfast was pretty good, hotel restaurant was tasty as well but the poolside bar was very greasy. No beach waiter service. Despite a bit noisy with kids, pool was pleasant. They do need a new filtering system as the water was cloudy. The Chedi spa was the most memorable in the trip. We both had a combo massage/facial that I have no words to describe how intenselly pleasant it was. We had massages every single day at different spas, but the Chedi experience was terrific and became the level for comparing other massages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
12.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 94 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing