We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place cured..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place cured..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was unenthusiastically dared also during stay to do nothing.
It listened to the sound of a wave, the sound of a wind, and the sound of a plant or a living thing which can be heard.
It could be united with nature.
I think that it is a good hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mamaka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Guest

It is rewarding for us that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us, having the secluded location and tranquility of our beach and bay.

Your compliments are deeply appreciated. We are pleased that you had the full experience of the Surin Phuket during your stay.

Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Jann Hess
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    353
    79
    36
    21
See reviews for
385
992
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights after the Sarojin in Khao Lak. It's a lovely hotel in a great position. Found the hotel restaurants a little pricey but take a 10 minute walk down the road to Surn beach and there's amazing affordable restaurants (Taste was our favourite) and bars. Catch bar is brilliant to sit and people watch and have a few drinks. Yes, there's loads of steps at the hotel, but you go up them what...twice a day? The staff were brilliant, and luckily it was low season so the hotel was nice and quiet. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Guest

It is rewarding for us that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us, having the secluded location and tranquility of our beach and bay.

Your compliments are deeply appreciated. We are pleased that you had the full experience of the Surin Phuket during your stay.

Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Jann Hess
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

spent the weekend there for a birthday, was an absolute delight from the beginning to the end.

Nicolas (the MD I guess?) greeted us "en francais" upon arrival and before being escorted to the room and shown the facilities.
Staff was adorable throughout the whole stay, they even brought a homemade cake to my girlfriend for her birthday!
Breakfast is kept simple but all the products are really fresh and well presented.

Best asset of the hotel is obviously the beach, perfectly maintained. We were litterally alone on a 500-meter white sand beach.

Rooms are excellent too, everything is clean and works well.
it's just a few minutes away from Catch and other beach clubs on Surin so location work well too!
will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room near the reception if you don't want to walk the stairs up and down too much if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DedeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Surin Phuket is my most favorite hotel, to date. I still daydream about laying out at the beach, enjoying the unbelievable views. If I could go back tomorrow, I would in a heartbeat.

The hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in a one bedroom hillside cottage. I loved that we had our own little "house". The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help.

The hotel is on a small, private beach (Pansea Beach) that is shared with another hotel, but you honestly feel like you have the entire beach to yourself. They have kayaks and other fun water activities that guests can take out onto the ocean for free. There is a family who walks up and down the beach selling beers and other drinks for super cheap- maybe $5 a drink? They aren't bothersome; just a nice family who wants to make a living. There are also a few ladies who will offer massages on the beach. Those were around $12 for an hour long massage. I think I got one of those almost everyday! There is also free bottled water at the hotel which was a definite plus for us. Every afternoon the hotel staff would bring out fruit on a stick to those sitting around the pool which was a nice touch!

Breakfast was included in our rate. The assortment was great- everything was fresh and delicious. We had dinner at both Lomtalay and the Sunset Cafe, as well. Great food! Most nights we did walk down to Surin Beach though for dinner.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Surin Beach, which has a ton of restaurants to choose from. Super cheap curries and seafood dishes. Pass up the Catch Beach Club and keep walking south. It's an over priced restaurant/beach club. Most of the restaurants were cash only, just an fyi. We went to Taste, Salt and Sea Breeze- all fantastic.

We booked two activities through the hotel- a group speedboat tour to the Phi Phi Islands and an elephant trek with Siam Safari. Definitely recommend doing the trek with Siam Safari. It was an incredible experience (and we only did a 30 minute ride)! I recommend doing a private speedboat tour instead of a group tour. The beaches that we visited on the boat tour got a little crowded. I'm sure the hotel could assist in booking that.

As a side note, if you are looking for a tailor while in Phuket, my husband got a suit and jacket made at the Surin Armani. The shop is located right at the end of the hill from the hotel. They custom made it in less than 36 hours. Highly recommended!

Stop searching for hotels and go ahead and book The Surin for your stay in Phuket! You'll thank me for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Surin. It has front beach, a nice pool, gym, spa, library - everything you would look for in a relaxing vacation. There are some minus points though..
- We stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage and there's just one toilet and one (stand) bathroom, so we had to wait for each other in our morning routine.
- There's no lift in the resort, so if you have troubles walking upstairs you'd better ask them to arrange a room on a lower level or nearer to the lobby.
- There are a lot of insects and flies because they have trees everywhere. I even saw a snake on the way from my room to the lobby, which made me quite scared.

If you're looking for a quiet place to just relax, The Surin would be a perfect choice. You can walk out to the nearby neighborhood for more F&B options and take a cab (500 THB) to Patong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was the luxury highlight of our 3 stop custom-designed tour of the region with andaman adventuures. Top marks to them for a great job done, this was the first time we had booked a custom holiday and it won’t be the last, it’s fun to visit more than one destination, and to get help selecting the hotels that best fit your budget and preferences. The Surin was the last stop in our tour and we wished we had had longer here, we stayed in a villa/bungalow right on the beachfront, which was surprisingly affordable too. Wonderful location, great food, luxury accommodation, what more can you ask for in a hotel?

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Akiko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very private cottages on the most beautiful beach. All the staff in the hotel are fantastic. I would recommend The Surin if you are looking for a relaxing time in an unspoilt bit of Phuket. There are several bars and restaurants to choose from nearby as the town is only a ten minute walk down the hill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
12.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 94 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing