We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Surin is a lovely resort, situated on a gorgeous private, sandy beach with crystal clear water.
The accommodation is very comfortable without being "over the top". The rooms have everything you could need and we especially appreciated the constant and plentiful supply of bottled water.
We attended a wedding which was absolutely perfect in every way! All the details were managed by the hotel which left the bride and groom (and their families) free to relax and enjoy a very special few days with friends and family. We were very lucky to have had perfect weather which topped off a great stay. BEWARE it's very steep and some of our friends had over 200 steps from the lobby up to their hillside rooms! Folk should really take this into consideration when deciding which type of room to choose. Food prices at the resort are reasonable, and snacks are available on the beach from local families very cheaply. It's about a 10 minute walk around to Surin Beach where there are shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Wonderful resort...

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and share with all Travelers your experience.
We all will be waiting for your return!

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    314
    70
    35
    19
See reviews for
334
861
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had just 4 days off work and we wanted to rest. We found en excellent service, extremely clean, very good food by chef Alberto and Thai delicatessen.
The pool was excellent and the gym has everything you need to have.
The SPA is clean and quiet: what you need to relax!
If you have little time like me, it's an excellent place to spend 3/4 days and relax completely.

Room Tip: If you want to stay by the beach, avoid the hillside cottages. Cottages around the pool might have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001_wasobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We found en excellent service, extremely clean, very good food by chef Alberto and Thai delicatessen....

We all will be waiting for your next 3/4 days break, or even more if you have the opportunity!
On behalf of my Team thank you for your review and positive comments.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were upgraded on arrival to a room closer to the beach - room 333. This was brilliant as we were moments from the sand and beach. When we return next we will NOt book a hillside cottage as they are way up the hill and too far from the beach.
Our first night was interrupted until midnight with wedding music. The restaurant where they hold weddings it right near the cluster of cottages we were in. The surin were apologetic when I called to query whether weddings would be held every night(no) and gave both of us a free spa treatment which was very much appreciated. Before booking or at check in, ask about the weddings though because in high season it could be an issue.
The restaurant food was great, breakfast plentiful and interesting, all very well presented and service staff all very friendly. English is mostly understood and spoken, with only the odd hiccup experienced.
If you like a very firm mattress then the surin will suit you. We had two pillow top add ins and it was still too hard for us.
If you are at all physically impaired then the stairs around the resort could be an issue as you can't escape them anywhere.
The hotel offered to do our flight checking for us and had breakfast boxes and coffee for us before our early departure.
We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: If you want to spend your time at the beach, request the beachside cottages, especially if stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellair90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
“Excellent service, beautiful beach - a brilliant stay...

All the Team of the Surin Phuket will be waiting for your return!
Meanwhile thank you for such kind and rewarding comments.
It inspire us to continue to work hard to improve.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downunder
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent a fantastic week at The Surin. Perfect weather and location. The Great Bits: breakfast, beach, gym. The Good Bits: room, staff, pool. The Bad Bits: the stairs. Breakfast was great each day with an impressive range of local fruits. Few reviews commented on the stairs from the beach to the reception. Our cottage was level with breakfast area and reception. So you can walk easier out of the resort to nearby local restaurants but get you get a work out each time you go to the beach. But it's not that bad in fact it's perfect for burning off those wonderful curries. The beach was perfect and largely private for the 2 resorts on the beach. Yes the family which runs the "private" beach bar are fantastic. We will return.

We did a day trip with Phuket Sail Tours: Phang Nga Bay in a speed boat which was great and a thai cooking school with Phuket Thai Cookery which was excellent. You start with a wet market tour was very interesting.

Room Tip: If you want to spend all day at the beach/pool then choose beach front. If you want to leave the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Loved it. Cannot wait to return....

We all will be waiting your return, meanwhile thank you for such a positive review.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just came back from another great vacation at The Surin and had a wonderful stay.

->The staff were excellent as always (special Kudos to Lek, Tan, and Sara who made the stay that much better with their personal attention, smiles, and service!).

->Our room was great - spacious and clean - and the bed very comfortable.

->The food was excellent - love the breakfast with fresh fruits/juices, and eggs, waffles, pancakes etc made to order. Need to be sure the cappuccinos come out HOT (had a few that were barely warm).

->The beach area was fantastic as always and really one of the best beaches in all of Phuket. Wonderful white sand, emerald green water, and plenty of "water toys" for the more active and adventurous.

I think the combination of the great staff and outstanding beach make this the best bang for the buck on the planet.

My only concern: parking. We rented a car and consistently had to park far away up the hill from the entrance because the Surin's own vehicles were parked in the slots closest to the entrance. I would think the guests should have priority for the slots closer to the entrance for parking.Do hope this is addressed before our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach if you don't like stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikKubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Another Day in Paradise - Fantastic Stay at The Surin!...

The Paradise will be waiting for your return!
Thank you to share with all your overall experience.
Suggestion for all the Guests who rent a car, please do not hesitate to ask the assistance of our Bellman at the door or Receptionists, they will be more than pleased to help you.

Thank You!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff and obviously beautiful setting. On of my best trips, probably best for couples but also family friendly. Only problem was that rooms smelt a little bit of humidity but I was there in December which is the end of the monsoon season so I guess that should have been expected. Other than that would highly recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff ....

Thank you for your so positive review, all the comments are important for us.
It has been a pleasure for us to receive you and we hope to have the same pleasure to receive you again in a near future.

Thank you
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our 5th visit to Thailand, 4th to Phuket. We were a bit hesitant about going back to Phuket, as our last visit was to Koh Samui. We were looking for an area away from Patong, but close enough to travel into there, if we wanted to. 15mins in taxi/tuk tuk.

Arrived late evening, after a full day of travel. Our greeting pleasant and very efficient, our room was ready and we felt the internet pictures were realistic. We were not dissapointed.
Everything was as we had hoped - fantastic!

Breakfast was more than adequate. We stayed for 10 nights and I was satisfied with the quality and variety. My son loved how the man who made the pancakes for him came up with a diferent animal shape each day. My wife was sick one day and the breakfast staff were concerned and only too helpful in sending some breakfast to our room for her. A nice and helpful touch.

The pool and beach area is gorgeous. After breakfast my son (9 yo) and I needed to burn some energy and the boathouse crew were only too happy to get involved in a game of beach soccer. This was a part of the day that we both really looked forward too. My son is a good footballer but Sam and the others were toying with us!

We too were a little surprised to find the gym not open or informed prior. Everyone has great intentions to use the gym, but really how often do you go to the gym on holidays? A swim or walk on the beach is much more pleasant. The renovation didn't annoy us greatly as we found they only worked about an hour a day on the jackhammers if that ,so we just moved to the beach lounges and you couldn't hear the noise.

The pizzas from the Beach Bar were delicious, and always a nice break from asian food.

We chose to stay in a Deluxe Cottage as we wanted to be close to the beach and not too far from the amenities. Yes there are some stairs but really they are good form of exercise, and there is plenty of flora and fauna to look at. I think the hillside cottages would be a little difficult for someone not good with stairs.

On the morning of our 5th day The Surin needed to do some maintenance near our cottage and we were asked if we would mind being upgraded to a Beach Suite - hard desision -Yes!. Rooms were of the same standard but larger and with more balcony space, closer to the beach. This room had an issue with the ceiling and after one night we were offered a further upgade to a Two Bedroom Beach Suite. A bit of a hassle having to pack twice but more than adequately made up for by the larger room. Well done Surin a great outcome for a minor problem.

We were sad to go and when the staff found out we were leaving they all made us feel special with their genuine goodbyes.

Marie (GM) Surin you have great staff.

Would gladly recommend this resort to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaysarefun-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Everything was as we had hoped - fantastic!.

Thank you for your recommendation and so positive comments.
All the Team of the Surin Phuket is waiting for your return!
Please feel free to contact me I will be pleased to assist you during your reservation process.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#10 of 92 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
12.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 35 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,058 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#1 of 92 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing