We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Spent a blissful 6 days at The Surin at the end of our multi-stop honeymoon in Thailand. The location is perfect, right on the beach with fabulous views out to sea.
Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Superior cottage which they had filled with rose petals which was amazing!
Admittedly the cottages are a little dated but they have real charm and character, and are spotlessly clean. The air conditioning functions perfectly and there is a fridge full of ice cold drinks which on a beach holiday is pretty much all we need!
The service was top notch with cute little touches like cold face cloths, fruit skewers and ice tea being delivered to you on the beach, and the "Chef's Treat" left in our cottage every night.
The beach itself is perfection - golden sand, incredibly warm sea and only available to guests of The Surin or the adjacent Amanpuri. We never had a problem getting a sun lounger and unlike Surin Beach they are nicely spaced out and only one row deep.
There are boogie boards, sea canoes, jet skis and other watersports available.
For sundowners head to the Sunset Cafe for BOGOF cocktails and amazing views of the sun setting over the sea or equally impressive thunder storms..
All the food (especially breakfast) was superb but not cheap by Thai standards. We splashed out on the beach barbeque buffet one night which was fab and the beachfront restaurant is a must for incredible fresh seafood. You can walk to Surin Beach for cheap eats if you prefer but there wasnt much going on despite it being high season.
Take advantage of the free shuttle bus to Patong if you fancy seeing the "sights"! We went once which was more than enough for us!
If you are looking for a totally relaxing holiday in a picturesque setting then The Surin is the one for you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori_jenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Tori,

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we all want to thank you for the great review.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers!

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    363
    82
    36
    21
See reviews for
399
1,031
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Firstly, we arrived greeted by smiles, tea and cool towels.
Service was amazing.
They upgraded us to cottage that was closer to the beach rather than hillside which is also beautiful.
Each cottage is private and luxurious and 5star thai style.
I was in love.
The actual resort is large but still has a boutique feel.
Food was thai with a twist of elegance and really yummy. Well priced for the resort but expensive compared to street food.
they have thought of everything in regard to making it a truly special experience. Little touches from afternoon muffins/biscotti in ur room to fresh fruit skewers and cool towls whilst you sunbake on the divine, private feel of the beach.
Watersports like jetskiiing, snorkeling and swimming are among the many activities you can enjoy, but not a busy beach like all the others.
The view from you room to the restaurant to the sunset bar are absolutely spectacular. Beach, ocean, palm trees, beach, ocean!!
The service is like nowhere else I've ever experienced and I have travelled a lot. Always helpful, always smiling, very professional and conscience!!
Truly spectacular that I didn't want to leave the resort!!
** not actually on Surin Beach, thank God, but on Pansea beach/bay!! Perfectly away from the hustle and overcrowded umbrella beach but close enough to walk there!!!
I would come back here any day and recommend this highly to anyone who wants a truly special holiday!!
Rail or shine, I never want to leave!!
Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeSWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Chloe,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review! Wow we are flattered!

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

2 nights at Surin Beach - absolutely loved the location, private beach, friendly staff (cool jasmine face towels were excellent!) and the food. Breakfasts were especially wonderful. Whilst the rooms are dated, we had a lovely hut towards the beach with a fantastic view of the beach and sea. Yes there are many steps / walkways if you are not close to the centre but I see that as a big plus. You have good levels of privacy as the resort is nicely spread out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surin.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

No doubt this hotel is located on the most beautiful beach (Panséa beach, next to Surin beach), almost fully privatized by the hotel. It's a big advantage knowing that all other beaches in Phuket are now very crowded. The hotel itself is a beautiful construction of bungalow on a coconut hill, all the way down to the beach. Still, this hotel needs urgent refurbishment to deserve the 5* category, especially bathrooms. Partial renovation expected from May to October 2011, it should not be only partial....
Reservations and Front Desk are very professional, helpful and friendly, just like the Breakfast manager who takes good care of you, nice breakfast buffet, good quality of food. You will find very helpful housekeepers and bellmen as well and the Spa is very good.
On the dark side : pool service and beach service just don't exist, eventually unfriendly at times, arrive too late in the morning... There is a nice bar overlooking the ocean, but no music at all ! This hotel has no "ambiance" and eventually looks sad, there is no effort for a nice evening setup as you can see in many other real 5* hotels in Phuket. As a hotel professional, I can guarantee that management is not up to this place, this hotel deserves some better professionals. Fortunately, the local Thai employees make it up with their natural smiles.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trabet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and i am glad you have enjoyed your stay at The Surin.
The Surin will close on 1st May this year to undergo a major refurbishment and not just a "touch-up". While we will retain the structural elements with the cottages spread over a wide coconut plantation directly overlooking Pansea Beach, we will enhance all design aspects of the public areas and accommodation.
I have taken note of your comments with regard to the bar, evening setting and pool and beach service and will review these with the team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back and meet you here at The Surin after the renovation.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Room and facilities:
We stayed for 2 nights and three fantastic days at the Surin Phuket Hotel in a Beach Studio Suite, which was a kind and unexpected upgrade.
The room is as stated right on the beach just behind the line of coconut trees and it was wonderful to be able to walk from the room barefoot straight out to the sea at any time within seconds.

Main advantages of the hotel are that it is quiet, high quality, extremely relaxing, with a beautiful clean soft-sand beach, super-clear water and really friendly staff.

The Surin is cleverly located and ensures that the beach is absolutely free of the hawkers found in other areas of Phuket, apart from one or two discreet local families who walk past every half hour or so to offer cooling drinks, coconuts or beers.

All facilities were available for jetski, snorkeling, boat day trips, but we noticed that most guests prefered to stay and relax on the beach.
I did play beach volleyball with the staff (Special thanks Cam).

We liked the fresh air feel of the place, and I kid you not.... we did not hear a single mosquito in or near the room for the entire time.
Bathroom and bedroom facilities were well provided for...... lovely jasmine and tropical flowered fragranced shower gels, creams etc.... and an in-room ipod with Bose speaker system.

Breakfast was a mix of asian and international cuisine, and we stuck to the fresh local tropical fruits and juices.
The restaurants and Beach BBQ serve good local dishes, and I would really recommend guests to try these instead of the international food. You will need to ask for them though.

The pool advertised looks impressive, but we did not try it even once, since the sea was so good.

Location:
The Surin cottages/rooms are built up over a gentle hill, so you will need to walk around to get to the central reception, pool, restaurant etc. The connecting stairways and steps up and down can be tiring if you are unfit, or have small kids, but we found that this added to the charm of the place.

Service: We were happy overall and we surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Joseph,

We are delighted to have received your fantastic review. Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthAmerica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We loved The Chedi (which I believe is now renamed). Perfect spot for chill out. Choice of restaurants and bars were perfect, as where the treatments. Highly recommend. Staff were great. There were steps but you get used to them!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChicaSouthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Chica,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The Surin sits on the best beach in Phuket. If you are a beach person, rather than a poolite, this is the place for you. The only other hotel sharing the beach is the Amanpuri which is dead posh and, like the Surin, has a pretty polite clientele, well mannered and generally civilised. The Surin is currently rather shagged out having undergone minimal maintenace and refurbishment during its days under Chedi management. However, the management say they will close in May for 6 months during which the place will undergo a total refurb. What this will entail is anybody's guess but one hopes that it will not mean the prices going up. At the moment the Surin seems to be pitched at just the right price level in order to maintain high occupancy. It costs around £300 per night for deluxe cottage which is not awfully spacious by modern hotel standards but most of which have lovely views to the sea and sit under gently waving palm trees. All very jungly and romantic. By comparison, the Amanpuri is nearly double the price for a comparable room, though it is looks a lot newer and swisher. Going further up the range in Phuket you pay around £800 at one of these poncy new pool villa hotels where you have your own plunge pool. So the Surin represents good value for money if you like lying around on a beautiful beach. I hope the refurb does not mean they jack the prices up.
Incidentally, although the cottages at both the Surin and the Amanpuri are very elegant, the main buildings of both hotels, stuck as they are into the hillside with liberal quantities of concrete, look rather like gun emplacements out the Guns of Navarones. Neither are greats works of design and the main setback for both is the vast number of stairs that you have to climb, meaning that neither hotel is any good for the elderly or infirm.
PS Much talk is made in these reviews of the Surin's manager Antonio. But none of our party ever saw him once! Certainly during our 6 day stay nobody from senior management ever bothered to ask us how we were getting on. Bad mark, there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I am sincerely sorry for not having met you during your visit and I hope you have had a delightful time with us. With regard to pricing following our renovation this will always reflect excellent value considering that we will feature enhanced facilities and accommodation that go beyond the fact of being located on Phuket best beach.

Thank you for staying at The Surin. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
12.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing