We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paridise Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Stayed in 2 bed suite overlooking Lagoon in Feb/Mar 2007. Whilst bathroom in need of a little refub, always constant hot water . The suite was massive with magnificant views. Whilst the Dusits beach location was a big plus the Allamanda had greater plus points & it was £400 cheaper p.p.. I think the Dublin reviewer must have been very unfortunate. We had constant source of free water,tea,coffee etc etc with no shortage of towels,robes,bed linen ect. Our room was cleaned to high standard everyday. The view of the sunset from our balcony with a drink in my hand will be a lasting memory. We mostly ate on the beach .It was excellent freshly cooked & unbelievably cheap. What a location. Lots of choice. The staff were fantastic & the Manager met us on arrival with his card.This is our 3rd visit in 6yrs to Thailand & I cannot wait for the next.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank gussyCardiffWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2007

I've just returned from Phuket and stayed at the Allamanda Hotel. On a previous visit I stayed at the Dusit Laguna which is excellent, but on this occasion it was full and so we booked into the Allamanda. This hotel is first class for service, food and accomodation and although it is shortly to be refurbished it was in great condition. The only difference to the Dusit is really in the fact that you have to get the free shuttle boat to the beach across one of the small lagoons, but this actually adds to the fun. The shuttle ferries and free shuttle buses all stop at the five Laguna hotels and are quick and easy to use. Bang Tao beach on which this complex is located is in my opinion the best beach in Phuket and is miles long with large streaches devoid of people. If you golf, then the Laguna golf course is just next door and is a first class golf course with the best greens I've played on for some time. The green fees are about £40 and cheaper than Blue Canyon or Mission Hills by about £10 to £15, but don't be fooled it's a far better course than Mission Hills and only a bit down from the superb Blue Canyon courses. Just one word of warning, don't get involved with the Laguna holiday homes/ timeshare deal that you will get a phone call about. They will promise you a free round of golf each at Laguna GC but you will end up with a free 9 holes, and for this you will spend best part of 4 hours with them (no matter what they promise you). The deals not a great one in my opinion with the maintenance loaded far too high and I suggest that you don't waste a big chuck of your holiday for £20 worth of golf. As for the hotel complex at Laguna resort, just go there it's great and so are the cheap beach restaurants.

Stayed: March 2007
9  Thank WorldGolferWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

The time at the Allamanda Phuket was the last leg of what was up till that time a wonderful holiday in Thailand. It was the 7th Hotel on our trip and it was terrible...Don't go. The place unkempt, dirty, no maintanence and the housekeeping service was almost non-existant. Balcony rails, needing a good wash and rotting away...accident waiting to happen!!
All accommodation are suites from junior suite to two bedroomed suites.
On the day of our arrival we requested change of room as the bathroom was disgustingly filthy, the kitchette also was a health hazard.
On the 2nd day we had a new room which was a one bedroomed suite, the room overlooking one of the pools was a very fine room but the housekeeping service was abisdsmal. Day 1 No robes because "out of stock", no pillow covers, and they do not do slippers (now this is a allegedly a 5 star hotel in a 5 star resort).
Day 2 No hand towels "out of stock".
Day 3 No complimentary water (standard practice in Thailand)
left in our room.
Day 4 Toilet paper not replenished and we had to phone for supplies at 11.30pm after a day away in Phi Phi!!
The guest service manager Uma was very sympathetic to our complaints but she and all her staff are disillusioned with support (or lack of it) from management above. We witnessed to couples checking out in disgust while we were there and we were going to be the third but unfortunately having spent an entire morning trying to get accommodation in one of the other 5 hotels all were full owing to a Golf Tournament there.
The General Manager Mr. Svenson doesn't seem to make an appearance at all was not available for an appointment with ourselves. The restaurants were dirty, the cups at breakfast had coffee and tea stains on them, the tables in the lobby were covered in dirty "ring" marks. Bang Tao Beach is beautiful with lots of lovely restaurants and Bars, Lotus Garden, Tum and Green Leaf being three of the one's we tried. Wonderful massage ladies on the beach and also a reasonable laundry service on the beach too. Our advice would be if you wish to go to the Lagune Phuket resort, choodse one of the two sell known chain hotels, beautiful, but if you have small family the Laguna Holiday Club....but definitely not the Allamanda. You'd be well advised to spend a little more and enjoy the extra but simple details that the Thai people are so good at providing.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank suzieblue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Was a little worried about staying here after seeing the lastest reviews but we were so delighted once we got to the Allamanda.
We had a two bedroom pool view suite. The rooms were very large, had an ensuite for each bedroom and the kitchen/dining/lounge area was so large that we put a fold out bed in dining area and and didn't miss the space! We opted for breakfast in the price of our room and it was exceptional every day. Staff were attentive and very friendly. We used the laguna hotel pool twice and each evening we went to a restaurant on Bang Tao beach and just walked through the laguna hotel and caught the complex free shuttle back to the Allamanda. The bathrooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade, and I prefer my shower and shampoo to be in individual bottles etc rather than the bottle that they must refill but other than that I can't fault the place. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wells67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

After having a lovely time in Bangkok at the Royal Orchid Sheraton, we spent 3 nights at the Allamanda Laguna Phuket. We were there with our two college age daughters and had two one-bedroom suites. The rooms are quite spacious - very nice for a family - with a large living room and dining area, balcony, kitchen, bedroom and very small bathroom. The Laguna Resort area is very convenient. You can sign for meals at any of the hotels.

The Allamanda itself is tired. Frumpy furnishings, uncomfortable mattress, cramped crummy bathroom (with rancid shampoo), few amenities....there's no real bar area and you have to take a ferry to the beach (which is lovely). You cannot use the beaches in front of the other hotels, although they really all share the same beach. Each hotel has its own color of beach towel, so you'd stand out if you walked down to, say, the Sheraton or Dusit.

I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jgmcTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

We are on a 3 week trip in Phuket. The island is fantastic, the locals wery welcoming and gentle. The beaches are magnificent, white sand, warm sea, little food huts and restaurants, that serve good value and delicious Thai treats!

So far we have stayted in two five star establishments which have been very welcoming with excellent facilities.
The Allamanda: We selected this hotel on the face of what we had seen on your website. Luxurious accomodation, suites over three floors, luxury whilst a family atmosphere.
Here's what we got: Room not ready on early afternoon arrival, room itself floors not properly swept, very tired bathroom, panoramic windows dirty in bathroom, and overall feeling of tired accomodation. What the heck we're on holiday,let's have a drink!!
Found one ice cube left in the ice tray (the personal touch!!) We then find a broken and unusuable corkscrew. The third floor is advertised as our sunbathing terrace and we found two wooden chairs. without cushions. We eventually convinced them to supply two sun loungers, having shown them a picture of what their website advertises;
The air conditioning works but is very noisy. We could go on i.e, fuzzy t.v, kitchen tired with only cold water tap, sweaky wardrobe doors, bath that you can't fill as plug doesn't fit.
The staff are very nice and put on a positive face and one described it to us as two or maybe three star hotel.
The Phuket Laguna Resort is overall very prestigious; Top 5 star hotels, lovely timeshare resorts and exclusive properties for sale. We would consider coming back to the resort, but would consider another hotel from the Allamanda.

Stayed: December 2006
9  Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

one of the best experiences i ever had . The rooms were huge and travelling with a child the kitchenette was helpful . The staff were extremely helpful , would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank saritha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
1.5 mi away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
584 reviews
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#30 of 36 in Choeng Thale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cassia Phuket
Cassia Phuket
#1 of 14 in Bang Tao Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#22 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $38 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing