We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family of 5 - Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family of 5 - Nice Location”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. The staff was friendly and brought towels quickly when requested. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was 2 rooms (one king, one with 2 twin beds) joined together by a living area. The living area consisted of a kitchenette which was basically stocked to get by ( a bigger pot to cook pasta would have been great). A table to eat at, and a step down living area with couch, love seat and tv. Balconies off each room. The rooms were very neat and although the beds were on the hard side, we all slept great. This living area gave us plenty of room to spread out in.
We had an issue with the drain in the kids shower. Mentioned it to the staff, but it never seemed to get fixed. We just had them shower in ours.
The pools at the resort are OK. The kids (ages 4, 8 and 10) enjoyed splashing around, but they enjoyed the neighboring hotels pools much more.
Apparently you can purchase a pass to let you use all of the Laguna hotels ammenities. We just jumped over and checked them out without the pass. We were never asked if we had one.
The Laguna Beach Resort and Holiday Club had water slides that my kids enjoyed.

The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast was enjoyable each morning, as it was included in our price. We ate lunch and dinner there occasionally and the food was good.
The boat ride to the beach and other resorts was fun and quick. There is also a free shuttle to take you between resorts.
We would definitely stay here again. The price was good, the room was nice and the location was fun. The beach is gorgeous!! Clear water - white sand!
If you want to go into the town of Phuket frequently, this might not be the place for you as it is a quite far from the actual town.
I would recommend with younger children that you request to be lakeside, as you have to cross the street to get to the restaurant and lobby.
There are pools on both sides of the street, so we will request lakeside next time.

Make sure you check out Lucky, the baby elephant at the Sheraton! The kids love him

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    101
    35
    20
    21
See reviews for
110
68
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

As mentioned in previous reviews the Allamanda is at the stage where it does need some serious work done on it to bring it up to date ... but as far as a place to have a great holiday in Phuket it offers a great experience.

My partner ,two very good friends and I stayed in an Allamanda suite right on the lagoon. The apartment is spread over 3 floors with a roof top balcony for relaxing. There was plenty of room for all of us and an adequate kitchen with limited cooking facilities if you wanted to stay in for a meal. But why would you!!! You're in the land of Thai food and with the village of Cherngtalay on your doorstep, the dining options are endless. We had breakfast everyday at the Allamanda ... and my waist line thanks you for the fine spread every morning.

We pretty much dined at the Black Cat every night. Good food at an excellent price and they offer free diner pick-up and delivery back to your resort. (I think most of the major restaurantsI couldn't speak highly enough of the Black Cat staff, service and dining experience.

The staff at the Allamanda were also a delight to deal with. Never any problems and pretty much instant attention to issues raised. Our only real problem was a jug that didn't work and that was replaced almost instantly with a big urn ... so plenty of constant hot water for cups of tea. The room was serviced daily and was always spotless on our return from our island explorations

The pool at the Allamanda was a beauty...and at the time of year we went; rarely was it crowded. In fact it would be a rare occasion when it wasn't just us enjoying the warm water and the spitting Thai style fountains.

The ferries too and from the beach run pretty much to time and there was never a huge wait. Bang Tao beach is a beautiful stretch of sand and was never crowded. Good swimming and plenty to do and see. A massage with the girls on the beach is a must. An every day treat if you have the budget.

It appears Best Western have now taken over the management of the Allamanda and hopefully they invest some time and money into doing up the rooms and the cosmetic work that desparately needs work. It wouldn't want to be left much longer.

I would return to the Allamanda as it is part of the wonderful Laguna complex and offers so much. I was a little concerned at the size of the whole place prior to travelling there as I'm much more into privacy and seclusion (last trip we stayed at the Chedi, but that is now out of my price range), but the layout of the whole resort means I never felt crowded or overwhelmed by people. I imagine peak season could be very busy though.

Learn some Thai, engage with the locals, embrace the culture and have fun. You'll thoroughly enjoy yourself ... and you could do a lot worse than basing your Phuket adventure at the Allamanda.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We are a family of 5 and find it very difficult to stay in places which are family friendly and have the right kind of accommodation for us. Allamanda was perfect. We had a two bedroom 'golf villa' which was really an apartment complete with kitchen, dining and lounge room. The resort is low key and the staff are friendly and relaxed. The menu is limited but has excellent selections for the kids. The Hotel is on beautiful Bang Tao beach and is linked to the other resorts at Laguna. The other resorts have terrific pools including one with a water slide. You are supposed to get a day pass to use the other facilities we never bought one and were never asked. Great place for a family holiday!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUMOFTHREESYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Our stay was between 8th November to 17th November. We arrived just after midday and we were met by great staff who promptly attended to our check-in. The female staff member was very courteous and the porter quickly loaded our bags onto a trolley and we were guided down to our room.

Once at the room, we were very impressed with layout and it was three levels with each bedroom having its own floor. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. We had a great view from balcony overlooking the lagoon. The furniture was comfortable and the rooms and living areas were air conditioned.

The rooms were made up everyday with bedding changed every second day. Towels changed every day. Bottled water was also provided and placed in fridge everyday. While we were here, the kettle stopped working and was replaced promptly when reported to reception. Television has many channels although we were out most of the time, so we didn't watch televison all that much.

The resort has a pool area with many deck chairs, there is a very good boat transfer service from the resort to the Canal Village, to the Sheraton and most importantly to the beach. The boats usually run on every ten minutes (or threrabouts) and cost nothing (all inclusive in your acommodation booking). Allamanda has a portion of the beach with deck chairs beloing to them and is free for people staying at the resort. However, you can swim anywhere along the beach. Other resorts along the beach also have parts aportioned to them and you can go there but they may charge to use their deck chairs. The water is fairly clear and waves can get quite dangerous with big rips when there is a storm about.

There is a restaurant on site at Allamanda and is quite good but is quite pricey too. Average meal for one person is about $80.00. We found that there is a restaurant up the road in Cherngtalay called "The Black Cat". Has a great range of food including Thai and western cuisine. The food here is very reasonably priced and well worth the trip up. The Black Cat offers a pick up and return service from the resort. The staff here are very nice also. We ate here almost every night we were at Allamanda because of the price and friendly atmosphere.

We also found that we needed laundry done while we stayed at Allamanda. There is a laundry service provided by the resort, but it was far too expensive. There is a place just outside the resort which does laundry by the kilo. We paid 70 baht per kilo of clothes. I have to say that the clothes came back, neatly folded, smelling like flowers and nicely packaged.

We found that transportation into Patong was usually about 500 baht after bartering the Tuk Tuk drivers/taxis down from 700/600 baht. The tuk tuk drive from resort to Patong and return was an experience in itself. Thailand does not have strict road rules like Australia and there were times that the Tuk Tuk felt like it was about to take off! The driver's only know one speed and that is fast!

We had breakfast included in our accommodation booking. The variety was very good and the staff were always obliging with tea/coffee refills and attended to any request promptly.

The staff overall were very good and were always happy and courteous to help or even just saying hello. They really made our trip that much more special. It was always fun to joke with them. We miss their happy faces. They were always willing to help in any way possible.

Smoking in Thailand is not regulated like in Australia. We were a bit annoyed by flight crews from Air Berlin who smoked everywhere while we were having breakfast.

This hotel is not five star and probably not four star, but it is very comfortable and functional. Things that I found that might be a put off like discolouration in between tiles in the bathroom did not hamper our stay. If you want five star accommodation, then this is probably not the place for you, but if you want somewhere to stay that is clean and fairly decent, then Allamanda is the place for you.

Our experience here was satisfying and would recommend Allamanda Laguna Resort to those wanting affordable accommodation with relaxing surrondings. Overall, Allamanda Laguna Resort provided a very satisfying and relaxing experience at an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qantas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

due to stay at this so called 4 star luxury place,turned up from scheduled flight to be asked why late?????rooms seemed to be handed out in a muddle and group split up.Dissatissfied doesnt come into it,yellow stained toilet seats,building work in area around all our rooms,smell of mould constant,tatty areas in rooms,breakfast revolting,met up with many other unhappy customers in the one day we stayed there before eventually getting moved to a proper 4 star(diamond cliffs...outstanding)allamanda was so not 4 star cant believe it!!paid a lot of money for this as sons wedding but bitterly dasappointed with treatment and way tried to get us to pay a cancellation fee,disrupted whole thailand experience and since leaving found out from locals its gone downhill since new managment took over......think twice!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
330 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great accommodation for family due to spacious apartment. Allocated apartment across road from reception, away from the lake overlooking golf course but not particularly inconvenient. Whilst resort did have a small provision shop, advisable to stock up before getting to the hotel. Free bus shuttle was useful to get around the laguna area although the boat transfers were more fun.

Breakfast buffet was limited but adequate. Beach is a bit of a distance away and the hotel has limited activities to keep the kids busy so its important to plan your days well as there is a lot to keep over active teenagers busy around Phuket

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We booked a Junior Suite with Golf View. We wanted to have a separate bedroom so our child could go to sleep while we stay in the living room. The suite was quite comfortable. The bedroom was a little bit small, especially after the cot was put there, but we used it only to sleep. Kitchen was OK.
Since we had a Golf View room, it was very quiet : no car traffic, nobody, nothing.
I guess the Pool View rooms are quite noisy since there are always children there.
Breakfast buffet was OK.
The resort is next to 6-8 other resorts, so I guess it gets really busy during high season. When we were there, there were less than 10% occupancy.
I was disappointed that the beach was so far from the hotel. You need to walk to the reception area, wait for the shuttle boat to bring you to the other side of the laguna, then walk upstairs to the (small) beach. This is quite a lot of hassle with a little child. And we were lucky to be off season, so that we could always get into the boat. I can imagine it is really crowded otherwise.
The baby sitter charges quite a lot, not like on Langkawi in Malaysia where there was no commission for the hotel...
We had a problem with the bathroom : we came back at the end of the afternoon to find red brown water spilled everywhere on the floor of the bathroom and the bedroom. This was quite a hassle because it was the evening where we wanted to leave our child with the baby sitter, but obviously, you cannot have a child sleeping while the staff cleans up the mess and repairs the bathroom... They wanted us to move, but we were quite reluctant at colleting our stuff and walking in this water... So we finally got a second room just for our child and the baby sitter and only for this evening. We only needed to convince them not to charge us...
We tried the spa : really nice but very expensive. I noticed afterwards there are a lot of spas just outside of the resort. I am sure some can offer the same service for less money.
The golf driving range and course are really nice. Take your clubs with you!
We had an elephant ride in the resort with our child. Take the short one, the long one is not worth the money since you just ride through the resort. We had a short one and it was enough excitment for our child and to take some pictures.
I recommend the Black Cat to have dinner. They give you a complimentary pickup at and return trip to your hotel. Very cheap and excellent!
The Chaba was not so far but really expensive. Nice view and nice food.
You can rent a car in the resort at resort prices. Or just take the shuttle to the exit and walk a little bit to rent a car for less money. Be careful : you must leave an ID. My husband left his national ID, NOT his passport.
Do not take a taxi in the resort. They charge you a fortune! Take the shuttle to the exit and then bargain one of the taxi drivers outside. Always pay the exact amount, because they always pretend to have no change... This is a negative point on Phuket : everybody tries to make money out of the tourists, doesn't matter whether you are white or Thai (this happend to a Thai friend of us as well...)
We found a huge outlet village that had just opened and that I can only recommend. Nice quality, no fake, and real outlet prices, especially the brands produced in Thailand (eg Adidas, Guy Laroche, etc...) and the children clothes. And of course with GST refund service (you get a bill that you can show off at the airport. The GST is refunded cash, very useful to buy a snack at the airport when you have no baht left).
We had a very relaxing week, but only if you don't care about the "get the maximum out of the tourists" mentality. I would not recommend it during high season.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girafe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#31 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resor...
#48 of 95 in Thalang District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cassia Phuket
Cassia Phuket
#1 of 14 in Bang Tao Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Property: Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#20 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing