We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Lagoon resort, Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
447 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great stay in Lagoon resort, Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

we had a lovely stay in Angsana Laguna Phuket which was previously Sheraton until mid 2011.
Since it reopened with a new brand and look, the decor was elegant and modern, we had a comfortable stay, there is private beach, lots of activities , restaurants with good quality food.

Room Tip: higher floor , lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    549
    153
    67
    46
See reviews for
874
524
42
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the angsana over the christmas holidays, arriving on the 26th with 3 children: 10, 7 and 3 years old.
It was a most relaxing (well, as relaxing as it can get with 3 little boys) and enjoyable stay. The kids had an amazing time. The kids club is nice, and has a playground outside which is certainly a plus - I really don't like the in-room kids clubs where all they do is playing wii all day. My son painted with the painter in residence chris who was super nice and encouraging. He would take off every morning all by himself to go painting for 2 hours.
Staff was super attentive and nice, they really tried to make your stay as enjoyable as they could.
We had booked B&B which was the right decision - as we spent all day at the beach there are tons of little places and restaurants where you can have lunch and dinner, which is much nicer than eating at the hotel. Because as nice as the hotel is, it doesn't really feel intimate or 5 star, due to its sheer size. The first day we were quite shocked to be honest, walking to the beach along this endless corridors - which we called secretly "the tunnel of death" - it all seemed pretty scary at first. However, you do get used to it, but you certainly don't have the luxury boutique hotel feeling.
We had a villa close to the italian restaurant, the villa was great and spacious with a balcony. Again, housekeeping was super attentive, they always left out little gifts for the kids which they loved. If you are really picky you could find some flaws - the bathroom window wasn't super clean and the kids shower was blocked most of the time. This added to the feeling that the hotel was great but not perfect.
As the hotel is so big it is quite a walk to get to the beach, we did not mind though but lots of people stayed at the pool - which I personally don't get because what am I going to Thailand for if not the sea? the lounge chairs at the beach are really far from the sea, so if you have smaller kids that you want to watch you can't really use them. So we borrowed some lounge chairs from the nearby restaurant, which was fine - but again, not 5 star service.
The beach is great however - the hotel elephant comes around (kids obviously love it) and there are plenty of ladies who bring you food and drink from nearby restaurants. There is even a massage centre just right outside the hotel, they do great massages and ok pedicures, for a fraction of the price of the hotel.
In the evening we went out for dinner every night with the kids on the beach - in 10 days my little one did not wear any shoes. The nicest of the bunch is Lotus, although we did have mixed experiences there - I think it depends on the staff's mood of the day... We did eat at the resort also - once in a small restaurant in their shopping village which wasn't any good (i think it was called albatros) and once at market place which was actually pretty great re the food, and we managed to get one of the very few tables outside looking onto the lagoon. What we couldn't understand is that almost everybody else had to eat inside an airconditioned room with views of the lagoon, or even worse on the "tunnel of death" with views on the corridor. Weird site for a restaurant.
It is nice that you can take the hotel shuttle to go and see the other hotels - don't bother about these as they are inferior to angsana. Except The banyan treee is very nice (and definitely more 5 star) but not sure it's as easy as the angsana with small children, as the beach is quite far away from the hotel but reachable via golf car.
What else - yes when we arrived they offered to upgrade us from our 2 bedroom villa to a 3 bedroom villa with our own pool - however I had the foresight of asking exactly about the location of this villa- turns out it these larger villas are really quite far away - you would have needed the shuttle to get breakfast and to the beach eetc - so I did not think it was worth it, and we were very happy about our decision once we realised how large the hotel complex is anyway.
All in all - we were very happy there and did not regret coming, however it would have been nice to have less of a factory feeling. But you really cannot fault the staff which is very attentive and goes out of their way to help you relax and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: really check where your room is going to be located as the resort is huge and you might end up quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holmead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Angsana Laguna Phuket from 1~6 April. We picked the Laguna Grand Room. Beautiful room on the second floor, facing the laguna, a bit far from the pool and restaurants but worth it if you are looking for peace and tranquility. Away from the crowds and noise. The room was nice but the aircon was so noisy. They renovated the entire hotel except the aircon machines? Breakfast was good but not excellent. They serve the breakfast at the Market Place restaurant, very noisy. Had a quick meal at the Poolside Restaurant, average food, a bit pricey. Room service was pricey too and not worth it unless you are not planning to go out for local food.
The hotel has a baby elephant and will appear daily at 930am and 330pm. The pool is a lagoon shape, very long and narrow, not suitable for swimmers. The infinity pool located next to the beach was not ready but open for viewing if you have time. The beachfront is very nice, hotel towels included. Get a locker from the gym to store your stuff while you are in the beach then you dont have to go back to your room. Fruits and juices are safe to buy in the beach (local vendors). Complimentary yoga classes are offered to hotel guests.
TV cable channels are very limited. One for every language and few in Thai and in Chinese.
The hotel has complimentary sports facilities in the laguna, take advantage of that, you will have a good time.
I will definitely come back to the Angsana hotel. Suitable for couples and family too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
2 Thank jadechick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Angsana Laguna looked so amazing on the internet and I was so happy to see that it was just as beautiful in real life! Everything about our stay was fantastic and the staff are extremely friendly and helpfull! I would go back in a heartbeat!
A+ on staff, accomodation, food, ambiance etc....
One of my best travelling experiences!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Jdeklerk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good place if what you need is lying on the beach, reading a book and enjoying being far away from the noise of the city. Yes. You will find good SPA, nice restaurants around the Laguna area, though there are not many choices. Thirt-minute drive to Patong, which will cost you around THB 500 for single way. If you'd like to go to disco or bars every night, it's not very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The newly opened hotel brought us happiness and fruitful memory. I enjoy the swimming pool and breakfast very well. Also the little elephant - Lucky gave me warm expression. Unfountrately, we could only see the general outlook of the beach club and some other facilities which might leave us a message to meet her again some day in the future. The restrurants in the hotel need more promotion and advertisement to raise the popularity and we're looking forward to more suprise in next return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Resort has many facilities and a nice beach. And the location with possibilities to dine around on other resorts in Laguna Beach area (with complimentary shuttlebus/shuttle boat) is very nice. For golfers the Banyan Tree golfcourse is just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Laguna Phuket

Property: Angsana Laguna Phuket
Address: 10 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Sheraton Grande Laguna Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm tropical sun, pristine white sand beaches and a shimmering blue sea. Angsana Laguna Phuket has it all. Play golf, snorkel, island hop, or bask on the beach, this is the ideal resort to spend a restful beach vacation, romantic rendezvous or a fun-filled family holiday. Angsana Laguna Phuket is the flagship establishment of the Angsana Hotels and Resorts - managed by luxury hospitality brand, the Banyan Tree Group. The resort features 401 immaculately decorated guest rooms, lofts, suites and private villa residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Sheraton Hotel Cherngtalay
Sheraton Resort Cherngtalay
Sheraton Phuket
Sheraton Grande Laguna Phuket
Phuket Sheraton
Angsana Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing