We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lucky Star”
Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from 9-15 Feb. I had reviewed the resort immediately upon our return, but apparently TA experienced some sort of tech glitch, and it got lost on cyberspace! So here it goes again....
We read about this newly refurbished resort just before leaving the Banyan Tree Samui 2 months prior and decided to give it a try....how bad could it be right, being brand new and being the sister hotel of BT?? Boy were we in for a rude awakening!
General public areas looked nice and new, but the lagoon view room we had was old and tired inside....this is just months after it reopened! And there was definitely no sign of that big purple rug you see in their website pictures. There were 2 huge stains on the tiles in the room. There were missing tiles in the bath/ shower stall. The toilet cistern lid had a huge chunk missing, it was oozing some sort of rusty liquid from the back. The grout and tiles in the bathroom were grubby. One of the purple bedhead lights was busted and nobody bothered to fix it during the entire duration of our stay. Be prepared to be greeted by bathroom scales and an in-room safe from the last millenium! I did not realise their idea of a multi million dollar make over meant slapping a coat of paint on the ex-Sheraton fixtures! And the stinky old elevators...nobody thought of changing that during their renovation???
Not to mention the putrid smell in the corridors leading to the room....
To make matters worse, there was a big 3-day wedding during our stay and certain section of the hotel were off limits at one time or another. When the wedding guests finally packed up, we breathed a sigh of relief....only to have the hotel invaded by a huge financial logistics convention. The first day, they took over the green behind the pool. I understand that the hotel has to set up in advance for the evening function, but to let the irritating DJ carry on with his super loud 'tsk! tsk! Testing' 'tsk! Testing, testing!' over and over again is just totally unacceptable! I had enough and went over physically to shut him up!! Thereby ending my relaxing lie by the pool! Then on Valentine's night, the same group decided to have their super loud karaoke session at the same place! Their tone deaf rendition of 'country road take me home', was enough to peel the enamel off anyone's teeth! I just pity the poor smucks who chose to stay in the hotel to have their romantic dinner!
Checking in took a long time, but leaving was worse. We called 3 times in the space of 20 mins and noone came to get our bags, so we had to lug them by ourselves and left with a bitter after taste. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, go elsewhere as this is a hotel that caters to the masses.I guess this resort got its 5 star rating by riding on the tails of the BT. It certainly does the good BT name a great injustice by calling itself a sister hotel.
The only saving grace this hotel has is Lucky....the Baby Elephant!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KraZkatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    563
    160
    68
    46
See reviews for
906
544
45
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We chose this location to enjoy a relaxing break from London winter and liked the sound of the Angsana. It was everything we wanted: lovely location, newly refurbished hotel on the beach as well as the lagoon and a large swimming pool area with a section especially suitably for young children. Great facilities, excellent gym, super spa and superb buffet breakfast. Baby elephants visit twice a day, so lovely for children and adults alike. we were upgraded to a loft room on the lagoon and very near the beach - comfortable and spacious. Perhaps the only difficulty was that drinks in the poolside bar took a while to arrive! Patience is needed for the occasional language misunderstanding, but who said everyone needs to speak fluent English?? We stayed in February and there was plenty of room for all the guests - a conference was taking place but we really barely noticed. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby for people looking for cheaper and local eateries and of course, plentiful shopping also. We would definitely book again.

Room Tip: i would ask for a room near the beach as the breakfast is served in the cafe on that side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Big hotel in the Laguna hotel complex. Certainly a lot better than when it was a Sheraton. I wouldn't select this hotel if the internet connection is critical - the wifi had great coverage but their back haul connection was intermittent and was at many times unusable. The room was standard but it had tiles missing in the bath. The biggest problem is the magnetic keys were not reliable and others on the conference had similar issues, I had to walk back twice the get it fixed and given its a large hotel it's a long walk. Staff generally very good and helpful, a solid resort style hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

surrounded by stunning man made lagoons, it has excellent access to a secluded beach for hotel residents. Delicious on site restaurants and a plethora of more delicious food on the breakfast bar. beautiful rooms with lovely view of the lagoons. Really friendly staff. Cheap taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We are still here but wanted to say the resort is beautiful. Public areas are beautifully done and maintained. I'm glad they don't have AC in these areas as it is plenty breezy and allows us to experience the nature here. Staff and admin have been very helpful and flexible, esp with an issue we had with one of my kids. Our room was nice but probably the weakest part of the stay since there were a couple of maintenance issues (rain shower head did not work, other small things like that). I don't know about wedding/corporate event issues as neither, if they were there, interfered with our stay. We loved the pools, the kids events, the kids room, the baby elephant,the grounds, the huge breakfast. My son said it was the best vacation we have been on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a terrace right on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mint1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed 12feb to 20th . Excellent room on 3rd floor overlooking pool area. Luckily no Indian Weddings but several corporate events which interfered with hotel guests especially those eating in hotel on evenings when corporate dinners took place as most waiting staff were sent to event. Superb location and very good facilities so I sincerely hope they get their act together and recruit more staff to cope with the number of guests. Half board not recommended as there are several restaurants along the beach and lagoon where you can enjoy some very good meals and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Despite problems would return again but check weddings/events planned before booking

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent the last weekend at the Angsana ( Me, my wife and my son ) and had an excellent time. We chose to book two interconnecting Laguna rooms as our Son sleeps quite early and it allows us the freedom to do as we please.

The rooms first of all are very spacious we managed to get the rooms overlooking the pool below, the location was quiet and the balconies got sun most of the day, sadly we didnt have much time to relax on them.

By the time we had unpacked and got ready it was almost lunch and we decided to dine poolside, the adult food was excellent, salads and the pizza was all fresh - The kids menu could do with some healthier options, but overall the choice was good. The rest of the day consisted of swimming in the pool and running around the HUGE kids club, being child friendly there are enough kids running around so playtime for them is pretty easy as the adults can relax at the swim up bar ( nice move having the kids pool right next to it!).

The downside ( for those with kids young enough to still be changing nappies ) is their are no changing areas nearby, so getting the little ones in and out of swimming nappies is a tad challenging, their is a toliet block quite close however so you can wrestle the kids inside.

The Kids club is excellent and caters well for kids up to 10, outdoor slides, roundabouts , climbing frames helped us tire out the little man, these would benefit from shade above as the slides can get a little hot, however our little one loved it! The area is fenced off and all kids and adults have to be signed in - staff are around all the time. Our favourite bit however was the soft play centre inside with ballpit which provided an area for us and him to cooldown when playing inside....

Although we didnt plan to, we decided to take up the babysitting option - at 4 quid an hour it seemed crazy not to, the little one was in bed and being looked after by 7 so me and my wife headed out for a few beers at the lobby Bar ( Huge Cocktail list!) and excellent accompaniment of snacks ...we decided to splash out and head for Bodega, as far as steak goes this is possibly the nicest i have eaten, wine menu was also good

After all the food , we slept soundly and the blacokout curtains worked a treat as our son slept in a little later than normal ....

All in all we had a great weekend, i normally dread family friendly hotels as their are often too many kids - but the benefit of this resort is that it is spread out with plenty of room for the kids to run around, facilites for them are good also , plenty of babychairs, good kids club, excellent babysitting service and ok kids food

We will definately go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Laguna Phuket

Property: Angsana Laguna Phuket
Address: 10 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Sheraton Grande Laguna Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm tropical sun, pristine white sand beaches and a shimmering blue sea. Angsana Laguna Phuket has it all. Play golf, snorkel, island hop, or bask on the beach, this is the ideal resort to spend a restful beach vacation, romantic rendezvous or a fun-filled family holiday. Angsana Laguna Phuket is the flagship establishment of the Angsana Hotels and Resorts - managed by luxury hospitality brand, the Banyan Tree Group. The resort features 401 immaculately decorated guest rooms, lofts, suites and private villa residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angsana Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Sheraton Hotel Cherngtalay
Sheraton Resort Cherngtalay
Sheraton Phuket
Sheraton Grande Laguna Phuket
Phuket Sheraton
Angsana Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing