We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Have to say that the Dusit Thani resort was one of the best hotels we have stayed in ever. We have lived in Asia for 13 years and stayed in a few places and this was very close to the top of our list. We are a family of 5 (kids ages from 4 to 8) so we had the choice of booking 2 rooms or a villa and we chose the brilliant pool villa.

The villa was exceptional. Downstairs were 2 huge bedrooms each with its own outdoor area. Upstairs is the lounge which is very comfortable complete with a full kitchen while on the roof is the villa's private pool. When compared with booking 2 rooms there is actually no comparison. The cost is slightly more than booking 2 rooms but very well worth it.

The benefits were also great. 25% off spa treatment, unlimited high speed internet (we even borrowed a laptop for the stay), full breakfast for all of us, and while petty, unlimited soft drinks! You also have a brand new push bikes thrown in to use as well.

The resort itself is easily the best in the Laguna beach (Bangtao) area. We had actually checked into another resort next door which was around the same price but moved here instead. The outdoor area is huge (300m frontage to the beach), lovely gardens and great pool area. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. The restaurants are great, esp. the one on the beach which does great bbqs.

The only disappointment was the room service food.

We will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

This was our third visit to Dusit. We liked the service and the location, specially the gardens. The swimming pool was great. The constructions and repairs are too noisy. We thougt that it was rather expensive.

Cor Amsterdam

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotamundosAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I have been meaning to write this review for months - I spent a week at the Dusit in November 2008 and got married here as well. When we arrived at the hotel and walked up into the lobby I knew it was going to be great - the outlook from the lobby is amazing. My husband and I had 50 guests joining us for the wedding and they stayed in various hotels in the complex as well as outside the resort. I had been planning this for about a year before the date as our guests were coming from all over the world and I wanted it to be perfect, after narrowing down the area we were torn between the Dusit and the Sheraton but after various emails from the hotels we deceided on the Dusit and I am so glad we did. From my very first enquiry to the hotel I was put in touch with Juthamas, she was brilliant - she responded to every email I sent within 24 hours and was there to meet us when we arrived at the hotel, she was available whenever I had a question and was present on the day! The hotel is older than some of the others but it has the best location in the resort and the service was outstanding. We were worried about having a reception for so many people in a hotel we had never been to but we didn't need to worry - it was perfect. My wedding day was everything I wanted it to be and more - Thank you to the Dusit Thani for making it a day to remember! I would go back tomorrow...

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia101London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Laguna is a gated development with five large hotels and numerous private villas. There is also a small shopping centre. You can use the services of most of the other hotels and charge these back to your room at the Dusit. Getting round is easy by free shuttle bus and a quirky small ferry that is also free. Ideal retreat for a short beachside break but wouldn't recommend a longer stay. That said, you can easily get to other parts of the island and attractions such as Krabi and Phang Na by taxi or organised transport. Very heavy on the pocket compared with Malaysia so be prepared for a large bill when you leave !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

If what you are looking for is a top quality beach front hotel on Phuket then look no further. During our stay we tried all of the restaurants in the Dusit and they were all great but the Thai resturaunt fixed menu was fabulous value and variety. Had the Burger in the Cafe one night, the BEST burger I have ever tasted ! Just a short walk down the beach there is a fine choice of medium to lower priced bars and restuaraunts, offering variety & value, the half price happy hour, watching the sun set at the Casaurina is a delight. We got out and about and enjoyed seeing other parts of the island and how dreadful Patang really is, what a dump. Do not miss Wat Cha long or the snorkeling. None of the other hotels in the Laguna complex offer ALL that the Dusit does, it's not great for kids but that would be a recomendation to me, that said kids are catered for it's just more middle aged couples make up the bulk of guests at this time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazcalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Spent 4 nights at the Dusit, originally booked for 2 at a good rate on a website, which the hotel kindly matched when I decided to extend my stay. Throughout the trip the staff are very friendly, speak great English - and are always very helpful. Food at the restaurants is great, especially the Thai one, and also there's a great little restaurant called Lotus something or other not far, which they provide a free shuttle for.

I really enjoyed the stay there and would recommend it ....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBoy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Dear LondonBoy 1983
Thank you for your review

We're glad you had a comfortable stay with us. Although this was some time back - I would like to thank you for your feedback. The hotel is pretty much the same in terms of ambiance and service with a smile.

Some renovations have been done to the restaurants, rooms and facilities with more renovations to come to ensure a better product.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We arrived for a 15 night stay on 22 February and were not disappointed with any aspect of the room, the hotel's facilities, cleanliness and attention to detail. Our ground floor ocean front room was 50m from the beach. It was serviced twice daily to a very high standard. The staff usually rememebred your name and never failed to say "good morning/afternoon/evening". Nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel facilities were more than adequate with a well equipped gym and very fit, knowledgeable instructors if one wanted a personnal exercise programme. We tried the hotel's La Trattoria and Laguna Cafe for meals and found the food excellent although more expensive when compared with other restaurants in the area.

Thursday nights the hotel hosts a complimentary a cocktail party from 17.30 onwards. Smart casual dress is required - shorts and tee shirts are not acceptable.

As we stayed on a room only basis we sampled many restaurants, with those near the small town Cherngtalay (1 kilometre from hotel) offering a free collection and return journey. In particular Toto was good for Italian food, The Lotus actually on Bang Tao Beach excellent for sea food and fish and Chaba for Thai Cuisene.

The stalls on the beach that were owned by local traders were well stocked with fruit, soft drinks and beer. Many offered booking facilities for trips that were very competitive with the terms offered by the hotel. All also had laundry lists but as we never used these services cannot offer an opinion on quality or service.

About 350m south of Dusit Laguna is the Laguna Beach Resort complex. Nearby on the beach is the well stocked "Wilko Bar" for a relaxing cool beer or cocktail. Run by John Wilkinson & his partner Phan, a terrific masseur, they provide a great little place to relax. The sea food restaurants nearby are also excellent and the walk along the beach is easy going but at an angle on the hard compacted wet sand. The massages by Phan are very beneficial - she is a very knowlegaable masseur.

Clothing can be made to order in 48 hours and near "Wilko Bar" is Valentinos - a ladies and gents tailoring shop. The fabrics are UK and Italian, great range of suiting and shirt materials. Take an empty suitcase and buy your new shirts and trousers in Thailand - made to measure at a fraction of the price in the UK. I had a jacket, 5 shirts and 2 pairs of trousers while my wife had 2 pairs of slacks made. The price included 2 fittings.

As a place to relax and unwind we cannot think of a better place to stay. The place and beach is quiet and peaceful - something respected by guests and local traders alike as evidenced by the quick exit of a hawker with a karaoke machine who quickly found that this type of entertainment was not appreciated.

The elephants, Lucky aged 21/2 and Lily 31/2 visiteed the beach every day. They were great fun and were well cared for by the handlers. If you want a different massage, ask the handlers and Lily or Luck will oblige.

We wil be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobbieBStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
799 reviews
10.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,144 reviews
8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road | Cherngtalay, Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $84 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and gracious Thai hospitality, add up to a unique holiday retreat. Unwind in a sanctuary of tranquility, shaded by natural casuarinas and coconut palm trees. Offering low rise buildings in classic neo-colonial architectural features underpinned by modern Thai designs. Gentle breezes waft through the vaulted ceilings of the open-air lobby, carrying the sound of breaking waves from our adjacent beach. Located 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. Provides complimentary shuttle boat and buses to nearby hotels within Laguna Beach offering a up to 25 bars, restaurants and entertainment within minutes. With a variety of rooms, suites and villas to choose from you can be pampered on the tropical island of Phuket or as some others might say - The pearl of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing