We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent experience starting from helfull and friendly Airport rep all the way to airport drop off. Accomodation, food, friendliness of staff, amenities and facilities etc were fantastic and definitly will make me return to this iconic Phuket property
thanks all !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. We thank you for your comments about your stay this month. So glad to know you enjoyed being our guest at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    472
    182
    51
    30
See reviews for
553
707
52
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Thank you to all Dusit Thani Laguna team for making our stay a very memorable one! Great hospitality, great food and drinks, and fantastic location! Enjoyed every every meal, very nice entertainment in the lounge, top Italian food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antomanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guest,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. So glad to know you enjoyed your recent stay with special mention to the Food and Beverage team and their efforts. I will ensure they receive advice of your enjoyment of all the events.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've now stayed in enough hotels in Phuket to be able to give a subjective view. Amongst them, we've been to the Sheraton Laguna (now the Angsana), the Laguna Beach Hotel (now Outriggers), Dusit Thani Laguna (twice), Marriott Phuket Beach Club (numerous occasions), Phuket Yacht Club, Holiday Inn and Nicky's Handlebar (yes, honestly!).

We decided to go to the Dusit this time, as we hadn't been for many years, but were promised a Summer Family Festival and a Club Room that could accommodate the four of us.

First of all, the Club Room. Don't get the idea that the word "Club" means the same as in the Intercontinental or Hilton etc. For the extra money, you get 35sq.m., instead of 32sq.m., free afternoon tea/cakes/sandwiches and free drinks in the hotel bar for happy hour. There is no separate Club room per se. Nor are there free nibbles/food with the happy hour drink. Nevertheless, these little extras were fine. The room is still relatively small and a tight squeeze for a family of 4, but are nicely decorated and positioned on the ground floor overlooking the beach.

The other reason we booked here was the Summer Family Festival which promised many activities for children. As ours are now too old for kids clubs, but too young to be left to there own devices, this seemed a good way of keeping them occupied. Unfortunately, and in contradiction of what was on the hotel's website, the activities had stopped the week before we arrived.

We therefore had to find other things for the kids to do. Within the hotel there is very little for pre-teens apart from the pool. We took them horse-riding, but that is external to the hotel. Compare this to say, the Marriott, where the hotel grounds often have things on the go from fishing, trapeze teaching, circus training etc, and the Dusit let's itself down. The hotel grounds are bland by comparison to the others and are totally under-utilised, whereas there's ample space for the hotel to provide some additional activities. Finally, the tennis courts/grounds are very poor and need maintenance.

Please don't expect a 5-star experience. I nearly gave the hotel 4 marks, but had to award 3, as it pretends to be something it isn't. If you want to stay in Laguna, which is not a bad place to visit, then look at alternatives, at least until the Dusit changes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank burenye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your review of your recent stay. You are certainly regulars to Phuket, so your insight is valid for any reader. We appreciate your comments. Come October the monsoonal months will be behind us and the garden wind protectors will be removed and orchids shall bloom around the resort. Our resort continues to review it's efforts for guests and we shall look into your comments for the enjoyment of future guests.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013 and your future travels.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

First visit to Phuket so not to sure what to expect but one word stunning checked in the hotel was greeted by the wonderful dada who was so helpful The room 102 perfect setting just across from the beach only negative tide and currents are strong this time of year so daughter had to use the pool unlike other guest there was no smell no hassle just a family of chavs I would call them who kids ran riot Afternoon tea included in club room price very nice touch then the thai resturaunt in the hotel had the set meal what quality and flavours another plus Breakfast so much choice anyone who cant find something to eat in here must be fussy nice friendly stuff who speak better English than a lot of English people I know.If you get time you must sea kayak that is great fun and fantasia show well worth a visit all can be booked with very compent staff Will come back to this hotel as this kind of standard is first class

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings to you. Thank you for taking the time to list your experiences as our guest last month. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday so much so you would like to return. We too would like to welcome you back. Khun Dada was thankful for your kind praise of her. She is a real asset to the resort.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in two ocean view rooms on the third floor (family of 5!). The rooms were attractively decorated with nice touches - such as fresh flowers for the turn down service, lighted oil lamp in the bathroom and a bowl of different fruits provided daily. Some maintenance work was on-going during our stay but this didn't spoil our experience. The hotel reception, foyer and restaurants were extremely appealing in design and decoration. Being greeted by a Thai musician added to the very pleasant atmosphere.
The buffet breakfast was wonderful and varied, beautifully presented and catered for all tastes. The Thai restaurant provided a lovely ambience overlooking the attractive lagoon. The food, as always, was delightful.
The well maintained Laguna area with its high class hotels is certainly light years away from the Thai norm of cable strewn streets, stray dogs and millions of market stalls! You must decide which you prefer and can afford!
We experienced a few problems with electrical faults in one of the rooms and a burst water main which caused quite an emergency! All added to the experience!!!! All were eventually dealt with by maintenance staff and apologies received, accompanied by a welcome bottle of wine, chocolates or flowers.
The staff were always very professional and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The pool / garden area and access directly onto the beach was all well maintained with ample sun beds and free hotel towels. Long walks (5km-ish) on a clean palm fringed bay were delightful.
Beyond the hotel boundary, as seems to be the case in much of Thailand, there seems to be a lack of care in keeping a well maintained environment. It was a shame that a number of shanty / shed like kiosks / bars - closed for the 'green' season fringed the beach and at times could detract from the natural beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have equally good views (lagoon or ocean).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHood20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Glad to know your family of '5' so enjoyed themselves on your recent stay in August. The incident of the burst water pipe and the electrical issue we again apologise for, and it's good to know that the settting, location, facilties all measured up for you. You certainly have shared some great photos of the holiday. Your comments about the vendors is noted, regretfully something we are not able to influence to change at this time.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.


Warm regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I opted to give Dusit Thani Laguna a harsh three, although it could have possibly secured a generous four. Either way, it is a mixed bag and certainly not a five-star hotel.

In terms of the positives, Bang Tao is a quiet beach with little in the way of nightlife and a few beach vendors. It was low season but this provided a calm experience and sitting on the (plentiful) loungers was relaxing and peaceful. Things are a bit livelier around the pool as that is where the families with kids tend to congregate so stick to the beach if you want a more soothing scene.

I found our room spacious, clean and well-kept. There are nice touches – such as a bowl of fruits and four bottles of complimentary water – and my only real niggle was the TV seemed to turn on each time you entered the room. House keeping did a good job. The grounds are well-kept and pretty enough with a decent choice of restaurants (more on that later).

Generally, most of the staff seemed a bit withdrawn (although a special mention has to go to the pool bar, who were friendly, helpful and happy to chat) and there were a few service quibbles, such as ordering a beer, not receiving it and still being charged or our unfinished coffee/tea being taken away while we at the breakfast bar. While easily rectified, it is not five-star standards.

The cooked breakfast was a let-down, food was usually either undercooked or overcooked. Either way, it was bland at best - I would stick with the fruit, yoghurt and sushi on offer.

The biggest problem I had with the resort was the cost. A premium mark-up is often expected at hotels but Dusit Thani Laguana pushed the concept from expensive in the direction of rip-off. When you arrive, you are encouraged to take out hotel “credit”, so you pay a certain amount up front and get additional credit. In our case, we paid B10,000 for B12,000 of credit. This would be fine if the prices in the hotel reflected that but the hotel adds 10% service charge and 7% tax on top of the listed price; basically an extra 17% mark-up on already lofty prices which wipes out that extra 20% "credit".

This is where things grated. For example, two small bottles of beer were listed as B360 but add the extra 17% then the total comes to B421.20. Stroll a few minutes down the beach in either direction and the other bars/restaurants will charge between B140 and B160 for two small beers which does not include service charge or tax. Granted, the hotel does have “happy hour” where it is two for one but even then it would be cheaper to drink elsewhere. This prices were the highest we paid in anywhere in Thailand by quite some way without the extra 17% hike.

Be aware that the only place to drink after 7.30pm (once the pool bar is closed) is the rather banal Sunset Lounge. The hotel is missing a trick by not having a bar nearer the beach.

Food was similarly expensive, at about double the comparative rates. We ate at Ruen Thai and the Laguna Café and, despite the price, they were no better (if not perhaps worse) than the food served at other restaurants along the beach, such as Tom Yun Koong and Lotus.

In conclusion, Dusit Thani is a reasonable hotel with sufficient facilities. It is worth considering as a quiet resort for a peaceful holiday; but be wary that eating and drinking on resort will cost you twice or even triple what it does elsewhere. Be brave, venture out and save some bahts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your feedback about your stay last month. The tripadvisor.com community is growing and you certainly given allot of time to contribute on your travels, including being our guest, thank you for this time.

I am sorry we didn't completely satisfy your holiday desires, it seems there are aspects related to cuisine and service we need to improve. The pricing of the food and beverages are reviewed frequently and we respect your opinion about our pricing.

I wish you all the best for the rest of 2013 - I am sure more travels ahead of you both.

Warm Regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dusit for a conferance.
The concierge staff were fantastic .Praise to Anothai Somsap and Nicha.
All staff were great which is a real credit to mangement.
Rooms were modern and clean and the attention to detail excellant.
Food was very good and the Lotus Thai restaurant a short walk up the beach worth visiting for a sunset dinner.
pool busy but room for all unless you like doing laps

Room Tip: get a beachfront room or pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guest,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent review of your stay as our guest. Highlights to share to the team are gratefully appreciated, they are all excited to read their names on this site.

We hope the meeting/conference was productive and that the group felt the same way.

With best wishes for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
11.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing