We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in two ocean view rooms on the third floor (family of 5!). The rooms were attractively decorated with nice touches - such as fresh flowers for the turn down service, lighted oil lamp in the bathroom and a bowl of different fruits provided daily. Some maintenance work was on-going during our stay but this didn't spoil our experience. The hotel reception, foyer and restaurants were extremely appealing in design and decoration. Being greeted by a Thai musician added to the very pleasant atmosphere.
The buffet breakfast was wonderful and varied, beautifully presented and catered for all tastes. The Thai restaurant provided a lovely ambience overlooking the attractive lagoon. The food, as always, was delightful.
The well maintained Laguna area with its high class hotels is certainly light years away from the Thai norm of cable strewn streets, stray dogs and millions of market stalls! You must decide which you prefer and can afford!
We experienced a few problems with electrical faults in one of the rooms and a burst water main which caused quite an emergency! All added to the experience!!!! All were eventually dealt with by maintenance staff and apologies received, accompanied by a welcome bottle of wine, chocolates or flowers.
The staff were always very professional and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The pool / garden area and access directly onto the beach was all well maintained with ample sun beds and free hotel towels. Long walks (5km-ish) on a clean palm fringed bay were delightful.
Beyond the hotel boundary, as seems to be the case in much of Thailand, there seems to be a lack of care in keeping a well maintained environment. It was a shame that a number of shanty / shed like kiosks / bars - closed for the 'green' season fringed the beach and at times could detract from the natural beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have equally good views (lagoon or ocean).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHood20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Glad to know your family of '5' so enjoyed themselves on your recent stay in August. The incident of the burst water pipe and the electrical issue we again apologise for, and it's good to know that the settting, location, facilties all measured up for you. You certainly have shared some great photos of the holiday. Your comments about the vendors is noted, regretfully something we are not able to influence to change at this time.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.


Warm regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    479
    184
    52
    30
See reviews for
562
719
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I opted to give Dusit Thani Laguna a harsh three, although it could have possibly secured a generous four. Either way, it is a mixed bag and certainly not a five-star hotel.

In terms of the positives, Bang Tao is a quiet beach with little in the way of nightlife and a few beach vendors. It was low season but this provided a calm experience and sitting on the (plentiful) loungers was relaxing and peaceful. Things are a bit livelier around the pool as that is where the families with kids tend to congregate so stick to the beach if you want a more soothing scene.

I found our room spacious, clean and well-kept. There are nice touches – such as a bowl of fruits and four bottles of complimentary water – and my only real niggle was the TV seemed to turn on each time you entered the room. House keeping did a good job. The grounds are well-kept and pretty enough with a decent choice of restaurants (more on that later).

Generally, most of the staff seemed a bit withdrawn (although a special mention has to go to the pool bar, who were friendly, helpful and happy to chat) and there were a few service quibbles, such as ordering a beer, not receiving it and still being charged or our unfinished coffee/tea being taken away while we at the breakfast bar. While easily rectified, it is not five-star standards.

The cooked breakfast was a let-down, food was usually either undercooked or overcooked. Either way, it was bland at best - I would stick with the fruit, yoghurt and sushi on offer.

The biggest problem I had with the resort was the cost. A premium mark-up is often expected at hotels but Dusit Thani Laguana pushed the concept from expensive in the direction of rip-off. When you arrive, you are encouraged to take out hotel “credit”, so you pay a certain amount up front and get additional credit. In our case, we paid B10,000 for B12,000 of credit. This would be fine if the prices in the hotel reflected that but the hotel adds 10% service charge and 7% tax on top of the listed price; basically an extra 17% mark-up on already lofty prices which wipes out that extra 20% "credit".

This is where things grated. For example, two small bottles of beer were listed as B360 but add the extra 17% then the total comes to B421.20. Stroll a few minutes down the beach in either direction and the other bars/restaurants will charge between B140 and B160 for two small beers which does not include service charge or tax. Granted, the hotel does have “happy hour” where it is two for one but even then it would be cheaper to drink elsewhere. This prices were the highest we paid in anywhere in Thailand by quite some way without the extra 17% hike.

Be aware that the only place to drink after 7.30pm (once the pool bar is closed) is the rather banal Sunset Lounge. The hotel is missing a trick by not having a bar nearer the beach.

Food was similarly expensive, at about double the comparative rates. We ate at Ruen Thai and the Laguna Café and, despite the price, they were no better (if not perhaps worse) than the food served at other restaurants along the beach, such as Tom Yun Koong and Lotus.

In conclusion, Dusit Thani is a reasonable hotel with sufficient facilities. It is worth considering as a quiet resort for a peaceful holiday; but be wary that eating and drinking on resort will cost you twice or even triple what it does elsewhere. Be brave, venture out and save some bahts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your feedback about your stay last month. The tripadvisor.com community is growing and you certainly given allot of time to contribute on your travels, including being our guest, thank you for this time.

I am sorry we didn't completely satisfy your holiday desires, it seems there are aspects related to cuisine and service we need to improve. The pricing of the food and beverages are reviewed frequently and we respect your opinion about our pricing.

I wish you all the best for the rest of 2013 - I am sure more travels ahead of you both.

Warm Regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dusit for a conferance.
The concierge staff were fantastic .Praise to Anothai Somsap and Nicha.
All staff were great which is a real credit to mangement.
Rooms were modern and clean and the attention to detail excellant.
Food was very good and the Lotus Thai restaurant a short walk up the beach worth visiting for a sunset dinner.
pool busy but room for all unless you like doing laps

Room Tip: get a beachfront room or pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guest,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent review of your stay as our guest. Highlights to share to the team are gratefully appreciated, they are all excited to read their names on this site.

We hope the meeting/conference was productive and that the group felt the same way.

With best wishes for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in July, and had friends staying at the Laguna Holiday Club and other friends staying with friends at the Outrigger Villas. It was a great resort for getting around with the complimentary buses, and all of us managed to meet up very easily, and most importantly it was really easy for all of us to get together for our friend's wedding at the resort's Wedding Chapel - which was beautiful!

We had a club room for us and our 6 year old, and it ws lovely. We were in room 106, and although it was a little cramped with the extra bed in it, we moved some of the furniture around a bit, and it worked really well. It was great having the decked area, as we could put our daughter to bed and sit outside with a rink until she'd gone to sleep. The club room benefits are well worth having - lovely having access to the soft drinks in the mini bar, daily cocktails and afternoon tea, and other lovel extras!

We had breakfasts in the Italian restaurant and they were briliant. My daughter especially liked the "egg man" and the fried eggs and waffles and pancakes he cooked for her!

I did a cookery class at the Ruen Thai, and that was brilliant - such an amazing setting too.

We ate out mostly, and can reccomend the Black Cat, Lotus, and also Flame and the italian buffet at the Outrigger. Also liked our visit to Bliss Beach Club. We also enjoyed the family BBQs the resort put on.

We loved our holiday here and shall definitely be back. We also had a very magical time at our friend's wedding.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup. Delighted to read of your families enjoyment of their visit for the special occassion of the wedding of your friends.

The Food and Beverage team who take care of breakfasts, BBQ's and cooking classes are happy to learn of your enjoyment, and to be a Dusit Club Guest.

We wish you all the best and thank you for the feedback and contribution to information about being our guests.

Warm regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a really awful experience at the Dusit Thani. We were booked to stay for 9 nights and ended up leaving after only 2. The hotel really is way overpriced - especially for Thailand. We booked a club room with direct access to the beach - but the room was small, smelly and damp. The bed was like a rock and I had bruises on my ribs from the springs. The sheets were slightly damp and there was a bad smell of mould all the time. The bathtub plug did not seal so the water constantly drained out. As we walked around the hotel we could see that many of the carpets were 'drying' outside the rooms - this hotel has a serious problem with damp and mould. On the first night I tried to use the kettle and was electrocuted - the jolt shut off half the power in the room. We called reception to tell them and they sent out a technician who simply turned the mains back on, replugged the kettle in and declared "it's working now'. We called reception again and told them that we would like the kettle removed in case it decided to 'attack' again - so they came and replaced it with an identical one. There was no apology from anyone over this or concern that one of their guests had been electrocuted. The pool area smelt like rotting fruit and the staff were really disinterested and slow. We tried to book a car and were offered a ridiculously high rate with no excess cover - we were told by the receptionist that this was a normal rate and excess cover was not offered by any car company. We called a different company ourselves and were given a much cheaper rate which included excess cover. When we informed the receptionist - again were were not given an apology she just looked at us blankly. The food was overpriced and we were both quite ill one morning after breakfast. The location is terrible! The resort is in the middle of a fabricated 'tourist trap' called The Laguna. There is nothing else around - just a really rundown dirty dodgy industrial type town and within the laguna they have tried to create something of an authentic thai style village but the shops and restaurants are overpriced and touristy - The Laguna is NOT the place to go if you want to experience true Thailand - it really is a fake tourist trap in the middle of nowhere full of hotel and apartment developments. We moved to a 3 star hotel 45 minutes away which was 1/4 of the price and ten times better. When we did check out we politely explained all of the problems we had encountered - and again weren't given any apology or explanation - the staff just continued to just stare at us blankly. The one saving point was that they only charged us for the 2 nights we actually stayed and did not charge a cancellation fee or penalty rate. In Thailand you can get easily ripped off paying a lot for a very average hotel and average food - likewise you can pay very little for really great hotels and good quality local food. If you want to experience Phuket I would highly suggest that you avoid the hotels within The Laguna and instead choose to stay in one of the towns like Patong, Karon, Kata or Rawai.

Room Tip: The club rooms are damp and mouldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jozi_fro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup. I am sorry to read of your stay issues in July. At the time of the stay the issue of the kettle was reported, however we had no information from you of your apparent illness, mould issues, bathub issue.

I regret that that I didn't get to meet on the 18th July 2013, as I believe many of these issues you mention now that you suffered are ones that can be corrected.

Laguna has operated since 1987, it's offer guests a stunning Bang Tao beach setting, safety, award winning services and a Thai experience and hundred of thousands of guests have enjoyed this since. If your feeling was otherwise, then I respect that we were not located for your needs. We do list who and what we are on our own website as you booked via this channel. We certainly noted that when you left that you stated you didn't like the location of the resort and that it was not right for your pregnant companion, so of course no charges applied.

Again it is regretful that I read your issues via tripadvisor and that you left with such a poor feeling of your brief visit as our guest.

In the meantime all the best for the rest of 2013 and arrival of your baby.

Warm Regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was amazing really relaxed and the staff were so helpful. It is very expensive compared to the Thai currency but reaaonably priced for Europeans considering what we would pay back home for the same standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay and feel the value is there compared to the EUR and prices paid back home.

Our staff really value the feedback and it inspires them to do their best evey day. Praise is nice to share with them.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and everyone suggested, prior to our departure, it will be too long. Well time went so quickly and we were sad to be leaving. The staff was wonderful especially Dada. They were so helpful and charming. Food choice was little limited but that did not matter as we ate out few times. Breakfast was good with nice choices. Dusit Thani has its own private beach and good swimming pools. We had a wonderful time and would like to go back again. We stayed in the suite in room 314 and the sea view from our both balconies was amazing. We visited the James Bond island and it was worth a day trip. Elephant tracking was an excellent experience and certainly recommend that. Our taxi man Preecha from their taxi rank was a good host.

Room Tip: Suite on the 3rd Floor for a good view. Ground floor is number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent listing on tripadvisor providing future travellers great room tips, travel tips and even a staff recommendation, whom was delighted to learn of this news, Ms Dada.

We certainly hope you continue to hold those fond memories of your trip, and if you do travel back to the Andaman, you shall contact us.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,173 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing