We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and mouldy and in a terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Damp and mouldy and in a terrible location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a really awful experience at the Dusit Thani. We were booked to stay for 9 nights and ended up leaving after only 2. The hotel really is way overpriced - especially for Thailand. We booked a club room with direct access to the beach - but the room was small, smelly and damp. The bed was like a rock and I had bruises on my ribs from the springs. The sheets were slightly damp and there was a bad smell of mould all the time. The bathtub plug did not seal so the water constantly drained out. As we walked around the hotel we could see that many of the carpets were 'drying' outside the rooms - this hotel has a serious problem with damp and mould. On the first night I tried to use the kettle and was electrocuted - the jolt shut off half the power in the room. We called reception to tell them and they sent out a technician who simply turned the mains back on, replugged the kettle in and declared "it's working now'. We called reception again and told them that we would like the kettle removed in case it decided to 'attack' again - so they came and replaced it with an identical one. There was no apology from anyone over this or concern that one of their guests had been electrocuted. The pool area smelt like rotting fruit and the staff were really disinterested and slow. We tried to book a car and were offered a ridiculously high rate with no excess cover - we were told by the receptionist that this was a normal rate and excess cover was not offered by any car company. We called a different company ourselves and were given a much cheaper rate which included excess cover. When we informed the receptionist - again were were not given an apology she just looked at us blankly. The food was overpriced and we were both quite ill one morning after breakfast. The location is terrible! The resort is in the middle of a fabricated 'tourist trap' called The Laguna. There is nothing else around - just a really rundown dirty dodgy industrial type town and within the laguna they have tried to create something of an authentic thai style village but the shops and restaurants are overpriced and touristy - The Laguna is NOT the place to go if you want to experience true Thailand - it really is a fake tourist trap in the middle of nowhere full of hotel and apartment developments. We moved to a 3 star hotel 45 minutes away which was 1/4 of the price and ten times better. When we did check out we politely explained all of the problems we had encountered - and again weren't given any apology or explanation - the staff just continued to just stare at us blankly. The one saving point was that they only charged us for the 2 nights we actually stayed and did not charge a cancellation fee or penalty rate. In Thailand you can get easily ripped off paying a lot for a very average hotel and average food - likewise you can pay very little for really great hotels and good quality local food. If you want to experience Phuket I would highly suggest that you avoid the hotels within The Laguna and instead choose to stay in one of the towns like Patong, Karon, Kata or Rawai.

Room Tip: The club rooms are damp and mouldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jozi_fro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup. I am sorry to read of your stay issues in July. At the time of the stay the issue of the kettle was reported, however we had no information from you of your apparent illness, mould issues, bathub issue.

I regret that that I didn't get to meet on the 18th July 2013, as I believe many of these issues you mention now that you suffered are ones that can be corrected.

Laguna has operated since 1987, it's offer guests a stunning Bang Tao beach setting, safety, award winning services and a Thai experience and hundred of thousands of guests have enjoyed this since. If your feeling was otherwise, then I respect that we were not located for your needs. We do list who and what we are on our own website as you booked via this channel. We certainly noted that when you left that you stated you didn't like the location of the resort and that it was not right for your pregnant companion, so of course no charges applied.

Again it is regretful that I read your issues via tripadvisor and that you left with such a poor feeling of your brief visit as our guest.

In the meantime all the best for the rest of 2013 and arrival of your baby.

Warm Regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    489
    186
    53
    30
See reviews for
574
730
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was amazing really relaxed and the staff were so helpful. It is very expensive compared to the Thai currency but reaaonably priced for Europeans considering what we would pay back home for the same standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay and feel the value is there compared to the EUR and prices paid back home.

Our staff really value the feedback and it inspires them to do their best evey day. Praise is nice to share with them.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and everyone suggested, prior to our departure, it will be too long. Well time went so quickly and we were sad to be leaving. The staff was wonderful especially Dada. They were so helpful and charming. Food choice was little limited but that did not matter as we ate out few times. Breakfast was good with nice choices. Dusit Thani has its own private beach and good swimming pools. We had a wonderful time and would like to go back again. We stayed in the suite in room 314 and the sea view from our both balconies was amazing. We visited the James Bond island and it was worth a day trip. Elephant tracking was an excellent experience and certainly recommend that. Our taxi man Preecha from their taxi rank was a good host.

Room Tip: Suite on the 3rd Floor for a good view. Ground floor is number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent listing on tripadvisor providing future travellers great room tips, travel tips and even a staff recommendation, whom was delighted to learn of this news, Ms Dada.

We certainly hope you continue to hold those fond memories of your trip, and if you do travel back to the Andaman, you shall contact us.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there during Our Honeymoon. It was a very relaxing place with excellent service, environment, view, nature, bed. We had the 106, it was a ground room with direct access to the ocean. VERY VERY very romantic area.

Downsides: The rooms are getting a bit specially concerning the Air conditioning system and the sewage.. it could get smelly inside :(

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zodiaclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and our Congratulations on your very special celebration of your Honeymoon. Delighted to read that you have enjoyed the setting for this special reason of travel. We will look into the comments about the Dusit Club Room you mention and recitify this. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Wishing you continued happiness.


Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have used this Resort on a number of occasions and the exceptional standard of service provided throughout the Resort is sufficient to attract us again and again as returning guests.

Depending on personal preferences for a holiday location on Phuket, this Resort is very hard to beat. It is not centrally located to the busier nightspots such a Patong, but it is close enough if more varied nightlife is required. The township of Cherngtalay is also very close by if additional restaurants are required. Quite a number of restaurants can be found on the main road between the Resort and Cherngtalay, without going right into Cherngtalay.

The qualities that set this Resort apart are it's proximity to the beach; the large free form pool; the acres of beautiful grounds in which it is possible to find a quiet place to relax; the wonderful staff at all levels within the Resort and high quality food and beverage outlets available at the Resort. Breakfast can be a bit hectic and 'buzzy' in the Laguna Cafe, but the quality and variety provided in the buffet breakfast are of the highest standard. There are a number of other quality food outlets, of which Ruen Thai, which provides Royal Thai cuisine accompanied with the tranquility offered by dusk and sunset views over the lagoon, and La Trattoria are probably the most notable.

The Resort provides varied food and beverage promotions in most of their food outlets, representing outstanding value, that vary from month to month. While we were there during July and early August 2013 an Italian buffet was available in La Trattoria which provided amazing choice of dishes and represented amazing value.

The rooms are very well presented, even though some may be found to be a little on the small side. Club Rooms provide extra space with a private deck, however the Club Rooms are all located on ground level and some privacy might be sacrificed in the Club Room decking in relation to the grassed grounds in the immediate vicinity of some of the Club Rooms. The Club Rooms themselves, however, provide full privacy.

The Resort consists of nine 'blocks' of low rise accommodation over three levels, with eight rooms on each of three levels, in each block. The end, (or Corner Rooms), in eack block offer a slightly larger balcony space than the other rooms in the block. (Corner Rooms end with a 1 or an 8, so Room 208 indicates Room 8 in Block 0 on level 2). The Ocean Front Rooms (in Block '0'), really are ocean front. The Sea View Rooms all offer good sea views through the landscaped grounds. (We particularly like a Corner Room in Block 8). The Ocean Front and Sea View Rooms all face the west and provide, at times, stunning sunset views over the Andaman Sea. The Lagoon View Rooms face the east and attract morning sun to go with the tranquility of the lagoon immediately adjacent to the Resort.

There is also a quality spa facility within the Resort.

If you are seeking a location that will provide quality service in a relaxing environment with ample distractions for daytime activies as well as quality in-house dining and proximity to alternative dining and other entertainment options it would be hard to find a more compelling option than Dusit Thani Laguna

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasBKatoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and thank you for your very detailed review of your stay last month as our guest. Very delighted to know that your enjoyed yourselves, and I hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. I am sure in the meantime your review will help future travellers to this area.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katterbach, Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was great. My wife and I had a great experience in Phuket because of the amenities and the staff. The food at the restaurants was great, and the staff was always around to help regardless of the time. The pool location was great and the water was always cool. We stayed in the Dusit Club room, and it was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were awesome. Next time we go back to phuket we would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet was very well worth the cost. It was great, with a huge selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Thank you for your tripadvisor.com comments. Nice to read you enjoyed your holiday as ou guest and the facilities we offer. Also a great start to the day at the daily breakfast selection to be enjoyed.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent five days here and ,although the weather wasn't great,the service and ambience was fabulous. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite which was absolutely beautiful. The resort is very wellmaintained and the people are welcoming and extremely helpful. The shuttle between resort hotels enables you to explore the area and there are a few restuarants and shops outwith the laguna resort which are good value. 'Peppers' was a friendly place with a fun quiz night. A taxi ride to Patong made for an interesting day and evening in contrast to the tranquility in the resort. Well worth a visit to Dusit Thani Laguna- probably the best of the resort hotels there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisiescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience as our guests. We are delighted to know you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you also for listing your destination tips about locations nearby.

All the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,

Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing