We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Choose another hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am in this hotel right now.. If you have ever experienced luxury do NOT come here. It is an old, badly maintained hotel. The rooms are small and old and bad decoration. I am supposed tobe ocean front, can only see the sea from behind the trees andback of restaurant and the smelling kitchen. Of course the thai people are very nice and you have the beach right in front which makes your stay less painful. Though beach beds are worst plastic!!! I have been to banyan tree, if you like luxury go to banyan tree same price and another world real asian magic there....maybe less comfortable with smallchildren. Anyway do not come to dusit thani if you have been to a five star hotel because delusion is guaranteed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice-ecilA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

I am sorry to read your trip advisor listing. Please contact me via the reception desk to arrange another room.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    497
    191
    54
    33
See reviews for
594
744
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our wedding 25th Jan- 5th Feb. Overall we enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely and attentive and our wedding recption amazing. However we were initially disappointed with our room. We booked a deluxe lagoon view and when we arrived found out we had been upgraded to a sea view. Getting to the room we were on the ground floor and we could only just see the sea as there were trees in the way. I think we would have prefered a higher level lagoon room. We decided we would upgrade our room half way through our stay to a club which they did discount a little but still cost us an extra £120 per night on top of what we had already paid. The showers in the room I must say were fantastic and staff replaced all amenities when ever we used them.

Our wedding at the Casuarina resturant was completely fantastic and all guests comented on the quality of food, The staff couldnt do another for us, and met with us several times before to make sure we were happy with things. They even went out of their way to find chair ribbon to match in with our colour scheme.

The only thing I think the hotel could of done better was to offer breakfast in your room the morning after the wedding. We did have our breakfast but were charged to do so.

Our guests all stayed at the Angsanna which we seemed to spend most of our time, this is a more modern hotel, 2 of the party had a free upgrade in this hotel to a suit with no extra charge which made us feel a little robbed having to pay £120 a night extra. If you want more traditional the Dusit, although a bit worn is better. If the Dusit wants to compete with the newly refurbished Angsana and the Laguna Beach Resort they will have to think about updating soon.

Overall we were happy, our Wedding which is what we went for was our highlight. But would I stay here again? Probably not, I think he Angsana and Laguna Beach Resort are better value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tula_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed there during the end of July and the beginning of August. It was a very relaxing place with excellent service, environment, view, nature, bed. We had the club room, it was facing the ocean and private breakfast club was included. It was very romantic area of having breakfast, birds flying around and fresh air with ocean sound. Wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank you c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a friendly hotel - after my country tour. I needed a few days rest. The staff are amazing, food good, the beach is fabulous- snorkelling, I love the environmental link and the community action. I would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesmith399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and thank you for your recent tripadvisor listing about your stay as our guest. So pleased to know you enjoyed your R&R.

We wish you all the best for the rest of the year.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Dusit Thani Laguna over the Chinese New year period. I was expecting it to be crowded but it did not appear to be so at all. We had two interconnecting ocean front rooms as we travelled with two kids and my mum. They brought in an extra bed for our 3.5 year old. The rooms are not big but we had enough space even with a cot and an extra bed. Our check in was speedy and all our requests were dealt with within 5 minutes of ringing up.

There were always sun loungers available by the pool and at the beach unlike some resorts that we have stayed at. The beach was beautiful and water crystal clear. I had a few relaxing massages by the beach which were very cheap. There is a free shuttle bus that takes you to the entrance of the laguna and you can walk to the nearest town if you need to get anything from the local supermarket. Their front desk was also very organised and reminded us about our return transport and suggested a sensible departure time for us.

The only chaotic experience we had was at the airport! It was completely jammed with tourists when we arrived to the extent that it was almost dangerous at the immigration hall.

My children enjoyed their holiday there very much and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and thank you for your recent tripadvisor listing about your stay as our guest. It's always nice to hear that a family vacation can be enjoyed by all. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

We wish you all the best for the rest of the year.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We are currently at the dhusit Thani now after a tour of the far east. We selected this hotel as we thought we could have a relaxing beach stay at the end of our holiday!
So far we've had nothing but stress.
We arrived from Bangkok and we had booked an ocean view room. Got to the room and oh my god! It was like being in a Bangkok prison cell! Not that I have been in prison ha ha. It was small, dark, dated, dirty, and full of ants! We put a request in to move rooms, but were told there wasn't any available as it is Chinese new year. No one offered for us to go to reception and have a drink while the room was recleaned and de anted!
So we sat for two hours waiting for a resolution. I was bitten by insects all over my legs while sitting waiting for someone to provide a solution. We chased the staff again, and we were shown to another room, which was exactly the same. Eventually they showed us a club room on the ground floor which was cleaner and lighter and bigger, but we could only stay in it for one night, then we would have to change room again. We accepted this change to get away from the ant room, but this wasn't until we had marched all our luggage again up to reception and made a call to our travel agent at home to put some pressure on them to move us.
They then said we could move but we would have to pay the room supplement of 2000 bht extra for the first room
Change and 5000 bht a night for the second room change as this would be to a suite!
We eventually told them that we were leaving the hotel. The service was dire, there was no communication between the staff, or willingness to help out paying customers.
Thai hospitality? Well that must have been left in Bangkok because there hadn't been any here!
Eventually they agreed to wave the room supplement charges but we are not able to enjoy the other benefits which come with this room type. We werent bothered about that really anyway but we thought that it might have shown good will and a way of an apology for the huge inconvenience and stress caused when we checked in.
Other than that, the hotel is dated, and the selection at breakfast is poor.
We are on our second night of a 5 night stay and quite honestly if I could find another hotel that isn't booked up for Chinese new year I would leave.
My recommendation is not to stay here and I'll never stay at a dusit Thani hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. All the feedback we receive is very valuable. I am sorry to read of the unfortunate circumstances that you incurred during your stay, and the subsequent feeling that you left with. We had hoped that the upgrade to the suite #364 was suitable. Once again thank your precious time to let me know of your experience.

We wish you all the best for the rest of the year.

Best regards,

Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There's a 70% returners rate at this hotel and you can see why. The setting is glorious, right on one of the best beaches in Phuket. No rows of loungers as on beaches further south (Patong down to Kata), just 5km of uninterrupted white sand.

But this is no 5 star hotel having only one pool (taken over by children for the time we were there), restaurants that need re-doing and things like the aircon which struggles at night.
But - the food is good and the staff are typically Thai friendly.

We had two problems when we were there. One was a lot of Russians with their very spoilt and noisy children, and two was a 3 day Indian wedding at the next door hotel which meant not much sleep (though the hotel did very kindly give us a discount which we thought excellent PR on their part).

The grounds are big so you can get away but if you are not mad on children this is probably not the hotel for you. Its a shame they dont build an adult only pool to the south of the hotel.
Also it would be nice to have a beach bar, I know a lot of people like to keep separate on holiday but we quite enjoy meeting others and there is little opportunity to do this.

Lastly we travelled on Etihad from London. Into Abu Dhabi is fine but its not Etihad into Phuket but Air Berlin and there is absolutely no leg room whatsoever. Its a real charter flight with pretty grumpy service and I cant think why Etihad have linked up with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAilliwN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket.

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. All the feedback we receive is very valuable. Phuket is now a desitation for all ages and nationalities and we receive our fare share of the mix, and we do agree that our setting is special as you mention. Thank you for sharing your sentiments about your stay.

We wish you all the best for the rest of the year.

Best regards,


Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,990 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,874 reviews
11.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road | Cherngtalay, Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and gracious Thai hospitality, add up to a unique holiday retreat. Unwind in a sanctuary of tranquility, shaded by natural casuarinas and coconut palm trees. Offering low rise buildings in classic neo-colonial architectural features underpinned by modern Thai designs. Gentle breezes waft through the vaulted ceilings of the open-air lobby, carrying the sound of breaking waves from our adjacent beach. Located 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. Provides complimentary shuttle boat and buses to nearby hotels within Laguna Beach offering a up to 25 bars, restaurants and entertainment within minutes. With a variety of rooms, suites and villas to choose from you can be pampered on the tropical island of Phuket or as some others might say - The pearl of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing