We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay - great villa and warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - great villa and warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We've just returned to India after 7 great days at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket. We are pretty seasoned travellers, especially in the beach-side resorts around the region (blame my son's fascination for sandy beaches!) so we always look for beach-facing properties which are away from crowded areas but still an acceptable distance from nightlife and restaurants. The Dusit at Laguna fulfilled all of these, there was a great deal on for a lagoon-facing villa (The Ultimate Pleasure Package) so we booked online about 10 days before heading out.

To be honest, we were a little unsure about the place and the group, never having used a Dusit property before and having had a bad experience some years ago in Phuket... so we were a bit unsure of what we were getting into. However, from the first moment we landed and drove into the property we were blown away both by the villa and by the famous Thai hospitality. The Laguna is a gated development of 6-7 resorts around a lagoon - I think there are only 3 which are beach front - the Dusit, the Banyan Tree, and the Sheraton (which has left Starwood and is being rebranded from next season.. it was shut down during our visit) while the others have beach access- so if thats important, you should check before booking.

The beach is lovely - its a public beach like all Phuket beaches but because of its location its not very accessible, so as good as private. We couldnt swim (red-flag season) but it was soft sand with a nice slope and then a dropoff.. so all ages and levels of swimmers, waders, paddlers can enjoy it in better weather.

If I could remember her name I would recommend the villa manager who met us and took us to the villa for a checkin - smooth process and clear explanations - we had a query about one of the freebies the package was supposed to include, and she was able to clarify it and revert to us. We've seen checkins go on for an hour at other places in the region, so it was great we were able to wrap it up quickly and smoothly.

A word on the villa - we had booked a pool villa - it was a split level accomodation- entrance level had a large dining and kitchen area with a sit out, two large bedrooms (1 king and 1 twin) one level below each with their own sit outs, and a terrace pool with loungers. High quality of fittings and furnishings and extremely private - we must have seen the housekeeping staff just twice the whole stay but everything was always laid out freshly. Even maintainence worked fast - the AC in one bedroom stopped working one day, but a call to housekeeping got an engineer over in 10 minutes flat, who fixed it quickly and unobstrusively, then vanished without bothering us.

The location - about 30 minutes by taxi to Patong, which is where all the nightlife and restaurants are. If you dont want to do, there are 6 other resorts clustered around the lagoon and there are free bus and water-ferry shuttles which keep going around between them, so you can try out other places too. There's also a touristy shopping arcade closeby (2 min walk from the gate). The village is also closeby ... with its own set of shops and eateries... about 10 min walk... we didnt try it since it was really hot and humid... but saw lots of folks head there regularly... both couples and families with children. There are also a bunch of beach shack eateries which we tried twice but were disappointed with the quality and pricing... cheaper booze but some of the meals were more expensive than that in the hotel!! Dunno how that works... Patong was extremely cheap and better wrt eating.

Tip - There are lots of 'laundry service' stands in front of each hotel... each sells booze and soft drinks and makes fruit snacks which all the guests at the pool consume... so during the day when we were at the main pool we ended up combining hotel service for cooked snacks with occasional trip to the stands to get cold cut pineapples and chilled beer. Bit surprised at the hotel allowing it... but I guess they've learnt to live with it. Best of both worlds!!

Things to watch out for -
1 Rough seas in this season - this affected some of our plans to take all day boat trips - since the sea at this time of the year is rough... so make contingency plans .. luckily there are enough other (inland) excursions you can take to make up for missing on this.
2 Overpriced taxis - pleasant folks but overpriced - the hotel runs a shuttle, but the timings dont always suit - so there's alternative to using the taxi stand at the gate - bit of bargaining needed - but nothing new for any resort... but factor in at least THB1000 per round-trip if you want to go to Patong or Phuket town.
3 Completely underwhelming elephant excursions - we wanted to go on an elephant safari... duly booked one from the hotels tour desk - amazingly bad - got driven about 30min away to what I can only describe as a large field with a stream - loaded onto an elephant with no seat restraints, just a rubber pipe wrapped around the 3 of us to hold us into our seats - as the elephant waded down into the stream and then meandered through a plantation. About 20 minutes in toto. Really not worth the time and money (about THB2500 for the 3 of us). Needless to say we did all our bookings online after that and got better results.

Room Tip: Book online, reinforce with mail to Dusit bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    482
    184
    52
    30
See reviews for
566
720
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with some friends - Ordinary

Check-in very quick, which was good as we were late arriving - however first room i was shown was ground floor on a corner with a window next to the path to the pool - next! - second room was ok - but a bit musty, and a twin not a double so had to wait while the changed bed to double - only after staff were gone did we realise the a/c was stuck on high so it was like sleeping behind a 747's engine - late so we turned if off to sleep - next day i insisted on being changed again (after some dubious red stains were found on floor of bathroom) - "oh we're full" - well look harder - "oh we have a suite" - thank you - turns out first room was in a block being renovated - and i'm a loyalty program member!

suite was nice - good size - new flat screens - was a twin bed too, but turned into double so bed huge - plenty of towels and no problem delievering more - bathroom nice, though amenities disappointing, no brand and strange smell from shampoo/soap - a/c a little loud but you get used to it - so overall fun, but a little tired

only ate breakfast - not very good at all - they leave a lot of food uncovered so it just sweats in the heat (meat, cheese in particular) - selection good but not sure of quality - service, as it was throughout the stay and the hotel, very friendly and helpful - had a few drinks in the bar - usual city/hotel prices but otherwise fine - pool area nice, but towels basically rags, and no help for pool side staff - strange for a hotel of this alleged quality.

Overall quite disappointing really - no one ever explained/apologised for the room debacle - food pretty poor and the hotel itself is looking quite tired - not sure i'd be back again anytime soon - its only getting 3/5 as the staff did their best with a poor product

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were here at the end of June so it was very quiet. Hotel is lovely – very well maintained lobby and grounds. I can imagine the swimming pool area getting very crowded during peak months though, there’s not a lot of space for sunbeds etc.

Breakfast was good – buffet style with all sorts of cuisines.

Our room had everything we needed and was very clean, only issue was our patio door wouldn’t close properly. We did tell reception who sent someone to fix it straightaway, it was made slightly better but was still very difficult to close.

Hotel drinks/food prices were very high and no happy hour promotions like most of the other hotels in the Laguna have. However you can visit all of the other hotels in the Laguna and eat/drink there and simply charge it back to you room. Free shuttles buses and boats were great and very regular.

Free wifi in lobby area only.

Would certainly come back if I’m looking for a relaxing week away from everything – there’s not much to see or do nearby, but it’s definitely worth checking out some of the more local eating places about a 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights, the staff are the only thing lovely about this resort. The breakfast was also nice with plenty of choices but other than that the whole place needs a good clean with a pressure hose, the foyer rugs are very grubby as are the small balconys & the whole place is old and dated. The windows on our arrival were covered in salt spray, I realize this would be a continual problem being so close to the sea, but to be clean on arrival would have been good. The room it's self was very clean though. We only chose to stay here after having repeatedly wonderful stays at Dusit D2 in Chiang Mai & thought the resorts would be of equal standard. Sadly this was not the case. Our stay was also compleatly spoilt by 3 or 4 Russian families staying just near our room. Their children ran screaming and shouting bashing doors until midnight. Their behaviour around the pool was also not much better. We were not aware you wouldn't be able to swim in the sea at this time of the year but that is not the resorts fault. We found a lovely local restaurant called "the sunset" which was fantastic, & if we hadn't found them we would have cut our losses and moved out early, unfortunately we had pre-paid, luckily we had got the room via a great special on Wotif, but we would've been extremely upset if we had paid full price. Most other 4 & 5 star places we have stayed have provided free wifi all over the resorts, it is only free in the lobby here. Will we be back or reccommend to others... sorry but NO.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My 2nd Time in Laguna. It was our getaway as friends ( girls) after a long busy year. we have booked 2 rooms and once we arrived the reception and the smiling faces were waiting for us. we were upgraded for villa with 2 bedrooms and a swimming pool so we can all stay together. They really made our day after a long flight.
The curtsey and friendliness of the the lady at the trip organizing desk was amazing she tried to accommodate all our needs.
I really recommend this hotel for all. We are already planning our next vacation same place for next February.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salma_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel is very much a five star, with impeccable service and great facilities. However travelling in the low season meant it felt a little empty, this was great around the pool, but a little characterless in the restaurants. Having said this we ate lunch at the pool bar on a number of occasions which was lovely, but the Thai restaurant was truly fabulous, great food and a lovely intimate atmosphere overlooking the lagoon.
The Dusit forms part of the "Laguna" complex, which is a number of hotels including the Sheraton and Banyan Tree located around the lagoons and beach. All hotels are linked with a sweet little water shuttle making it very easy to dine at the other hotels and sign back to your room.
As we were travelling with our 4 year old we wanted something child friendly, but as it was low season there were only a few children in the kids club, so ours preferred to stay with us. The Laguna Hotel seemed the most geared up for children with countless pools and slides, but its beach is completely obscured by beach vendors huts forcing all guests to sit around a crowded pool. The Sheraton looked tired and characterless and the Banyan Tree looked amazing, but for couples.
Each day Lilly the resident elephant comes for a visit which we all truly loved....she seems very content and excitedly trotts over if you have some fruit for her. We arranged for her to come on the morning of our son't birthday for a ride along the beach which was lovely.
The Dusit had a lovely beach, but due to the time of year, the sea was quite rough and although my husband and myself went for a play, it was too rough for children.
The service in the hotel was faultless as was the cleanliness and efficiency. There was a problem with the AC in my mothers' room so they immediately helped her move and sent her a bottle of wine with an apologetic note.
We tried a number of the beach restaurants, none of which served poor food, but again because of the lack of travellers, they were all very quiet. I'd like to mention two in particular, The Lotus (right along the beach) looks lovely during the day, but is dull at night, prices are like the hotel and although the meal was ok, the manager is awful. There was one item missed off our order and when the bill came he accused us of lying, needless to say we didn't return. On the last day we tried Tik (left along the beach past the Laguna Hotel), very rustic with lots of driftwood and very simple, they opened the restaurant just for us and it must have been one of the least expensive best quality Thai meal we had.
There is also one very nice restaurant in the village outside the hotel called Chaba, its located directly on one of the lagoons. One sits on a terrace over the lit water crammed with lillies. Food is good, atmosphere is lovely (it looks a little brassy from the road side) and they offer a free shuttle services, just ask at the bell desk at the hotel when you're ready to go.
We also travelled to Patong for some retail therapy and ate at one of the thai food courts - lots of atmosphere, good shopping is you're looking for copies, but I'm pleased we didn't stay there!
We also went to the night market in Phuket Town (Saturday and Sunday nights only) - great fun, half the price of Patong with some fabulous food within the market.
We adopted a local taxi driver who just waited for us when we went out, a lot less expensive and more flexible than the hotel shuttle.
Overall it was a lovely holiday, the only shame for us was the rough sea and the rude Russian children in the hotel, but neither of these can be controlled by the hotel.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet holiday with five star service and surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fluffyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at dusit for the last few nights during our trip and it left us a little disappointed. The arrival and the staff were lovely and the resort looks lovely and very well maintained. The restaurant la trattoria was divine and the staff were lovely! The ocean view rooms were very nice and clean however we requested a DVD player at night whilst we were relaxing and they charged us almost 600baht even though on the website it stated they have DVD players in the room there is no wifi in your room only in the reception area. We couldn't use the beach as the current was strong but the pool was nice and the pool side bar provided nice pools. Lastly we paid 400 baht from Phuket airport to the resort when we were booking a transfer back to the airport they wanted to charge us 800baht each!!! They then organized a transfer for us which did not show up on time leaving us with a 20 min rush to check in at the airport which was stressful when on an international flight. This resort is nice for families I would not recommend this resort for a youngish 30's couple as there are lots of kids which does not make it romantic. Overall it's a nice place just not right for us

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,192 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing