We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly, great local!”

Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All sports shown on Large screens in HD,European and Thai Food.All food home made and freshly cooked,specials menu changed weekly.We are OPPOSITE Tesco Lotus in Cherntalay near to Blue Bank.If you are using GPS it is incorrect . Please note we are CLOSED Monday during the day and open at 4.40 Pm.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always friendly, great local!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Our local waterhole has consistently provided a warm friendly atmosphere since the day it opened, there is always sports on the massive screens and cool tunes playing in the background.
We dine here almost once or twice a week and enjoy it for the great home cooked style food and the service with a smile. There is usually a few new faces at the bar and always a few old ones but regardless it is an easy place to strike up a conversation and enjoy a few cold beers.
It is a family style, clean and modern atmosphere with ample parking, friendly staff and attentive manager. Jamie ( manager) religiously personally visits every table and guest at Sugar Reef to ensure they are happy with the meal or that the beer is cold enough..
We highly recommend trying the weekly specials - which are truly special meals lovingly prepared by Jamie's mum. Shepards Pie and Sunday Roast are the most popular so get in early so you don't miss out.
Great destination for a relaxed atmosphere, great food and value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phusanisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Phusanisa for taking the time to review "The Reef" so posivitely.We have worked hard over the last year to ensure that "The Reef" is the place that customers want to visit and enjoy our food.

Tropical Regards.

Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great English grub”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you want some great home cooked English food this is the place to go, had lovely steak and kidney pie and mash... lots of nice soft steak... much more than you would get in most pies back home unless you make it yourself.
Also had a nice full English breakfast sausages and bacon just like the cafe back home.... always very friendly and aim to please they do roast dinners every week. and always a great choice of specials...
and lastly not forgetting the apple crumble Delicious... not great if you want to loose weight!!
located opposite the Tesco lotus on the main rd from Surin to Cherngtalay.

great big screen tv's if you want to watch sport its all on...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Paul Z for taking the time to review "The Reef" we work very hard to produce good,English Pub Grub and it makes chef very happy when she gets such glowing compliements.Thank you once again and we hope you enjoy many more meals at "The Reef".

Tropical Regards

Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Big meals great welcome”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having just returned to our villa, I felt that I should share the experience that we enjoyed tonight. We are two couples in our 40's from England, to say the portions are large would be an understatement.two of us had Thai dishes and two had the Chicken & leek pie.the Thai dishes were as good as any meal that we have eaten since our arrival, the pies were very tasty and served with fresh vegetables, all the food was served piping hot.The evening was made by the host Jamie who was very welcoming and full of information about the local area,his staff were very attentive . To sum up good food good company good price!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bingotina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would just like to thank you for taking the time to Review "The Reef" so positively.We are pleased that enjoyed the food and have passed your comments on to chef,who was very pleased.We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our bar again in the future.

Tropical Regards.

Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
“Good Food! Cold Beer!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've been to Sugar Reef a few times and the food has been delicious. I had the reefer burger, the chicken leek pie with mash and gravy and the fish and chips. Cheers to the cook! The beer was cold and reasonably priced. I plan on returning there on my next trip to the area.

My the American

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review "The Reef" so positively.We look forward to welcoming you again when you return to our lovely Island of Phuket.

Tropical Regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good grub”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Jamie is a great host. I visited with my family. This is a great place to go when you want some "home cooking". The whole place is very friendly, and the local staff are very attentive. Great burgers, must try the pies next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you David for taking the time to review "The Reef" and for your very positive comments the staff were very pleased to hear this .We look forward to you visiting "The Reef" again and hopefully you will try one of our Roast Dinners .Looking forward to seeing you again and many thanks for your review.
Tropical Regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing