We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom-Yam-Goong - CLOSED

Tom-Yam-Goong
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the reviews on here as we found this Restuarant to be lovely with prompt friendly service. One child that was dining with us had several life threatening food allergies which they were more than accommodating with. We have eaten here on several occasions to try and avoid the overpriced resort restaurants. The highlight dish for me was the red curry which was to die for. The toilets were also the cleanest toilets we have seen in Phuket which makes you hope the kitchen is of equal standard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good-value beach restaurant next to Laguna Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely location, good value, easily accessible from the beachside shops at south end of the beach at Laguna Resort (next to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Romantic Location for a meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Took my lovely wife there last June 2013. Sunsets are magnificent and meals were good. If you want a hot spicey Thai meal with a drink in a sexy glass then this is for you. Service was friendly and quick as well. Close to the Laguna Resort which is easy access to all other resorts in the area. Recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it looks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our last night in Phuket, and we were disappointed with our choice. The setting looks idyllic on the beach, elevated on bamboo stilts, unfortunately the food didn't live up to expectations. It was more pricey than anywhere else we had been and not as good taste wise. My wife had a whole fish, but when she got it, it appeared to be massacred, covered in onions and nowhere near the size it started off. We probably chose the wrong things, but unlikely to go back and try again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin13H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Won't recommend this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I had take away on my first day in Outrigger and quite disappointed with the food and service here. The staff was totally not friendly. Although the tom yam is passable, but the spaghetti was awfully salty. The rice is also very hard. Overall, I didn't come back anymore.

Helpful?
Thank VSung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom-Yam-Goong also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing