We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thought this was good till i tried others nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Twin Brothers

Twin Brothers
Ranked #65 of 164 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Can also be found on this website - http://www.phuket.com/dining/surin.htm Amazing restaurant, best food along the strip, and cheap. Run by a local family with identical two twin daughters (teya and leya) - not sure why it is called twin brothers and not twin sisters.... hahaha.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“thought this was good till i tried others nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

the food here was fine - nothing to complain about - had bbq fresh fish and prawn - but over the next week when we went to others a) they were cheaper for the same fish 80bhat per 100g for white snapper at others, while it was 100bhat per 100g here and b) the food in the others was nicer. Plus, I cook fish often, and the amount of filleted fish that ended up being served compared to the size of the fish picked was questionable.

Perhaps they get lazy on the filleting and throw a lot away as scrap .. who knows ... but in other restaurants for a similar size fish I would say you got a good deal more flesh on your plate !! which when you pay by the 100g for the raw fish ......

That said ... I must stress we didn't come away from here feeling upset with our meal, we were quite happy .. it was only that it began to pale later in comparisons

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    44
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chilled out but great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate a few times at Twin Brothers and the food was excellent every time. The price was also excellent and was the cheapest around. The guys running the place are chilled and relaxed so just go with the flow but you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WolvesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“So good, Right on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We came to Twin Brothers for lunch and had a great meal. We ordered the curry chicken and a fried rice, it was inexpensive and right on the water. The prices were also great compared to some of the other spots (Catch, for instance) and we each got a beer. The staff was very attentive and the food was delicious. We stayed at Twinpalms which is right above the beach from Catch so this place was a little ways down the path, so if you're in that area, don't be discouraged, keep on walking :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostontraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dinner at Surin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is one of quite a few similar restaurants on the beautiful foreshore at Surin Beach. They are typical Thai experience that we journey to this corner of the globe to enjoy. Other restaurants along this mostly walking street could be described as more up market and prices to match.
Twin Brothers has a swept sand floor, mostly open air but with some individual small open huts over certain tables. Tables and chairs are wooden; chairs have cushions. Tables were complimented with a small vase of orchids. Menu included seafood, pizza, western and Thai. Our meal was excellent, drinks cold and staff friendly and efficient.
We really enjoyed our evening at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5555lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food while watching the waves rolling in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

A typical beachfront Thai restaurant with great food and service. The BBQ squid was delicious and my wife had the noodle soup with chicken and loved it. The house white was quiet drinkable by Phuket standards, the beers were very cold and very prompt. The ocean put on a show for us with rolling waves and crashing breakers only meters away from our table. Will return again to Twin Bothers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Brothers also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Twin Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing