We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place, lovely experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Chayna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baan Chayna
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent place, lovely experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent 3 nights in March '13 at this in the middle of nowhere little hotel. But when you get there... you dont want to be anywhere else. Beautiful pool and 10 minutes walking distance to the gorgeous Bangtao beach and lots of resturaunts, shops, etc.

What i will never forget about Baan Chayna is Alex (the sweet Italian boy who made us very comfortable) and the owners (cant remember their names) an equally lovely Italian couple who were a pleasure to spend time with an actually gave us some great tips on where to go and what to eat. But what touched our hearts was that each night they would make sure we reached back safe OR that we were out with safe drivers. Just btw, we were 2 indian girls travelling around thailand for the first time right after that horrific Delhi rape case. It was great that someone was looking out or us. :)

Oh and i almost forgot.. i have stayed in all sorts of hotels, but i will never forget the breakfast at Baan Chayna. Wholesome!! You better get there to try it. :)

For those of you who like luxury, perhaps this is not the place, but if you want an experience then it makes for a great stay, not to mention - economical, and i bet you will leave with stories of your own...

Room Tip: Get the one on the ground floor, the upper floor rooms can get hot under the Thai sun! And yes.. car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arpita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
39
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I have been to bangtao at baan chayna for 1 week...I have to say a very thanks to william (the manager), he was very friendly and kind, he did helpe in every needs...without him the place would not be the same...thanks again for your hospitality!!!! See u soon william!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank alexxxx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Our taxi driver struggled somewhat to find Baan Chayna but we were so pleased he did! William was waiting for us and helped us lug our very heavy suitcases up to our rooms. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with all the amenities we could ask for. The standard
of cleanliness was very high. We found it close enough to the beach without being too close and there are several delightful and authentic restaurants within an easy two minute walk. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Sky, the night watchman who cooked up an early breakfast for us so we could get to the airport in time for our flights out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I loved my stay at Baan Chayna. It was a great little place away from the crowds & commercialism and it was only a 7 minute walk to the beach, restaurants & bars. The swimming pool was lovely. Unfortunately, there is a lot of construction going on next door & all the roads around so hanging out at the pool can be a bit noisy. They were nice enough to let me stay later by the pool on my last afternoon. The rooms were nicely furnished and I liked having a back door to open to let in more light. Overall I was very pleased with my stay and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a torch to find your way home at night. I liked being up on the third floor but there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

As per a few reviews, this place is a little hard to find for some taxi drivers. This is not the fault of the hotel, it seems some cab drives don't really know smaller roads/streets. This is not a resort style hotel with all of the fixtures and fittings some might want, but as far as value for money goes, we were quite happy. Has a minibar, hot water, nice pool, clean bedding. We stayed on lower level right next to the pool.
Will was very generous and let us keep our bags in his office all day as our flight wan't until late. We were also allowed to swim in the beautiful pool and have some drinks at the bar even after we checked out, so thanks Will. A/C was good, beds were fairly comfy (stayed in much worse in Thailand!)
It is a little walk to Bang Tao beach, (7 minutes as mentioned) but it's good to have a little walk around and see the smaller shops and neighbourhood which you don't get to see in large hotels.
Tv had DVD player so at night we could relax in the room and watch some movies, this is a nice little bonus. Breakfast cooked fresh rather than buffet consisted of fried egg, fruit, toast and jam with a coffee or juice. (Basic, but effective)

I would probably book closer to beach next time, but that's just my personal taste. As far as the actual venue goes, it was worth the asking price, and I'd stay again.

Thanks to Will and the Chayna team.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, request a lower room as there is no elevator. Bottom rooms are right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for 5 days.
Greeted by hotel team upon arrival at the entrance! (So sweet with such warm welcome arrangement).
Got the upper top most room (by stair-not an issue).
The hotel Manager (presume he is William who corresponded my mail) was kind enough to print a brief map for easy guidance (without request!).
Breakfast was just nice.. (egg, fruit, toast, juice, coffee).
I requested for a twin setup but given a double room. However, without hassle, I am given an extra bed as the solution.
Air-conditioner, bathroom and bedding are all in crisp condition.
Fresh towel daily even we hang it (not in the laundry basket).
Super huge mini-bar in the room. A safe is provided too.
Super peaceful evening and nice sunrise from the balcony.
Highly recommended for anyone wishing for a real out-of-chaotic-urban breakaway.

It has quality of a 4 Starred hotel at the such price. Just 2 minutes drive to Bangtao beach, or 4 minutes drive to Surin.

Perhaps, the hotel should try playing music at the bar to keep it lively. Maybe a mellow ones. Sad to see such nice bar being empty. Should be nice to have a menu with simple hot-meal.

Room Tip: Try cut down big baggage if you are planning to get upper top most room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feyryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Baan Chayna for two weeks and I cannot praise it enough. Will, the manager, went above and beyond in every aspect; from telling us where to go, helping us hire a car, even showing us a watch repair shop. He made our stay there faultless. We cannot thank him enough. The hotel itself is beautiful; rooms are big, cleaned every day and are absolutely spotless. The staff are super nice and helpful. The pool and surrounding gardens are pretty and well maintained. It's really quiet and tranquil. The beach is really close and bars, restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. If you stay here you will not be disappointed. Thanks again :) 10/10

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.5 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benyada Lodge
Benyada Lodge
#67 of 94 in Thalang District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#81 of 94 in Thalang District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#30 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chayna

Property: Baan Chayna
Address: 87/5 M. 3, Soi Surin Beach | Cherngtalay, Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chayna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming and romantic Lounge Resort of Baan ChaynaSituated 5 minutes from the beautiful beach of Bang Tao, our 3 stars hotel has been perfectly designed for a tranquil, magical experience.Surrounded by lush countryside and complete with a beautiful tree-lined pool and intimate bar, our welcoming and friendly staff are here to help create a most wonderful relaxing stay for you.The Baan Chayna experience starts in the gardens with a delightful buffet breakfast and continues throughout the day with a vast range of activities - from massage to diving - that we can arrange in advance through our specially selected local partners. If pure indulgent relaxation is more your style, you can unwind around the pool or bar, and glorious traditional Thai massages can be arranged within your private room.At the end of the day, the magic continues with the enjoyment of sumptuous Thai ,French and international food in the restaurants close by.We are happy to arrange all your local transportation needs from scooters to hiring cars and transfer back to the airport and advise you on the best sights and beaches to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Chayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chayna Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing