We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gueshouse”
Review of Baan Chayna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Chayna
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely gueshouse”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights here - very relaxing place to stay.
Very nice - got upgraded as they were full. Lovely room, nice pool, breakfast good (except for the sweetcorn yogurt...) - helpful staff and only a 10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
41
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Baan Chayna is a real gem. Recommended to me by friends who live locally, this small but perfectly formed hotel was really the very best that I stayed in during my three months in Thailand (Dec 2009 - Feb 2010); I stayed here for about 2 months of those three. It was then a family run hotel, which changed to Fanch and his co-partner. Fanch is a really friendly and funny guy, warm and personable; he serves at the bar in the evenings, is great at cooking and really looks after you and your needs throughout your stay. The hotel is small, about 12 or so rooms, but clean with a cute pool bar and with a lovely general vibe to it. The pool is not so small - you can certainly do laps in it - and it's also not depressing, as some reviewer said; it's a lovely sunlit pool for most of the day. It's true the location isn't picture perfect, in terms of having a view and you do have to walk to the beaches, but it's a short walk to both the beaches and the town, and all the night life and restaurants you could want. Alternatively Fanch will arrange local taxis to take you to Surin or other wonderful beaches about 10-30 minutes away. Totally worth it for the tranquility, the relaxation away from the crowds, but well served if you want to hit the town too, plus excellent, friendly service and insider knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just came back from a week at Baan Chayna. Overall a good experience, but not great.
The plusses:
-clean comfortable rooms
- reasonably quiet, except for the barking of neighbors' dogs
- friendly and knowledgeble manager, Frederique
- the nearby restaurant which is tasty and cheap, but open only for lunch
- tv in the room with basic channels like bbc and tv5 monde
The minusses:
- wifi network which is not password protected, and very slow at times
- breakfast which consists of a glass of artifical fruit juice, a good croissant, a yogurt, 3 slices of toasted bread with jam, and one nespresso coffee. Any request for an extra cup of coffee is charged at a steep 100 to 120 baht! We were charged for the coffees that our son did not drink and which we presumed we could have instead of him!!! We are fruit lovers and in this beautiful Thailand where mangoes, pineapples and bananas are sold on every market or street corner, this hotel does not offer a fruit based breakfast option.
- the pool is small, 10 by 4 meters, and in dark blue tiles, which give it a sad feeling. It was clean and nice just to cool down.
- the walk to the bang tao beach (10 min), surin beach (20 min) or the restaurants in the evenings is safe, but streets are littered with trash.
So overall an average experience. We rented motorbikes to visit the south. I suggest you ask Frederique to arrange airport pick up at 700 baht because the hotel is difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bekaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Baan Chayna is really nice. Great rooms and boutique vibe. It's not the kinda place you can relax by the pool but it does have a pool bar.
There is an amazing family Thai restaurant next door but otherwise it is just located in middle phuket, the walk to the beach is not nice and nor are the beaches.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZNZNZNZNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddobrest, Gérant at Baan Chayna, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Google Translation
merci d avoir apprécié notre hôtel. nous sommes désolés que les plages de bangtao et surin ne vous ai pas plu car elles sont considérées comme les plus belles de l ile.
bien a vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our family of four stayed for a week in the family room/luxury suite this January. It was unexpectedly good. Spacious accommodation on the top floor with a balcony. The quality of the furnishings and bathroom was good. The TV had cable which was great for BBC world news and the kids channel. The hotel doesn't overlook the beach but really is only two roads back and only a 5-7 minute walk to the beach. Our French host and her bar manager were friendly and helpful. Pool is fantastic and breakfasts tasty. A good location far far away (OK thirty mins) from Patong!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddobrest, Gérant at Baan Chayna, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you so much . We hope to see you very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We were looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay while we slept over in Phuket on our way to the north. We got just that at Baan Chayna. We could't book a room for 3 on the site, so booked for 2 people and when we arrived the manager was great about it and she gave us a very nice room for 3 people. Nice breakfast and great little pool. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddobrest, Gérant at Baan Chayna, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you so much . We hope to see you very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We would like to say thank you very very much to frederique. we never forget this hotel. We have a good time and we be back next year. Thank's

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herve34000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddobrest, Propriétaire at Baan Chayna, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you so much . We hope to see you very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.5 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#30 of 34 in Choeng Thale
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pen Villa Hotel
Pen Villa Hotel
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benyada Lodge
Benyada Lodge
#63 of 95 in Thalang District
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chayna

Property: Baan Chayna
Address: 87/5 M. 3, Soi Surin Beach | Cherngtalay, Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chayna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming and romantic Lounge Resort of Baan ChaynaSituated 5 minutes from the beautiful beach of Bang Tao, our 3 stars hotel has been perfectly designed for a tranquil, magical experience.Surrounded by lush countryside and complete with a beautiful tree-lined pool and intimate bar, our welcoming and friendly staff are here to help create a most wonderful relaxing stay for you.The Baan Chayna experience starts in the gardens with a delightful buffet breakfast and continues throughout the day with a vast range of activities - from massage to diving - that we can arrange in advance through our specially selected local partners. If pure indulgent relaxation is more your style, you can unwind around the pool or bar, and glorious traditional Thai massages can be arranged within your private room.At the end of the day, the magic continues with the enjoyment of sumptuous Thai ,French and international food in the restaurants close by.We are happy to arrange all your local transportation needs from scooters to hiring cars and transfer back to the airport and advise you on the best sights and beaches to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Chayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chayna Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing