We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pla Seafood

Pla Seafood
Ranked #69 of 164 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was surprised by all the negative reviews. The food here is excellent, a great menu with delicious thai dishes. Attentive staff and a lovely hostess. Gorgeous spot on the beach, next time we're in Surin beach we'll be stopping by for some hot basil prawns!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snuffles1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    29
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We dined here for lunch on our anniversary, and so glad we did. It was recommended to us by a guest in our hotel. Sitting under the trees is just beautiful in their climate, and the chairs in the sand is nice with lanterns in the trees for the evening. Our food looked and tasted great. My only slight issue was my paw paw salad was only room temperature (which i know is common in thailand) but it tasted smelly if that makes any sense.
Pina coladas were delicious, and the staff were great. I just think their location on the beach under the canopy of the trees is awesome, and will definately go back when we get the chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Having spent 16 days in Surin Beach, we ate at Pla a number of times. Absolutely can't understand the negative reviews on here because in our opinion the place is lovely, serving wonderful food, at a very good price. We ate here on four occasions and therefore had quite a lot of different things off the menu and without fail, the food was plentiful and tasted lovely. The cost was also reasonable, certainly a lot cheaper than other more celebrated restaurants nearby. Go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WolvesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaiole in Chianti
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We've been coming here for some years now. We tend to stick with the Thai menu although there are extensive other choices. We have always found the Thai food great - salads, curries etc. They have staff coming out of their ears - you figure they must be volunteers of they have a decent wage bill - so service is instant. We read about wine at these restaurants - frankly it's not a good idea. Wine is expensive and out of line with most food offerings. Stick to local beer, juice drinks (always good) or something like an Aperol spritz. Note: most drinks are expensive on Phuket.

Feet in the sand dining, just a few feet from the waters edge, is hard to beat. On a good day rent a bed for 2 for 800 baht and eat and drink with waiter service then take a dip in the sea to cool down. It's a great way to spend a day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I have eaten at 'Pla Seafood' twice this week and on both occasions have had a great tasting meal with ample portions. I was therefore surprised to see some of the less than complimentary TA reviews, as the staff all extremely polite and courteous, the location the best of the beach-front restaurants and the food right up there (if not slightly better) than we've had from their local competitors. The bill was a pleasant surprise too and therefore a further visit is on the cards!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattsBeenEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pla Seafood also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Pla Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing