We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem on Surin Beach”
Review of Surintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surintra
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having been to Surin Beach many times I was very pleasantly surprised by the Surintra hotel. Just off the main accommodation street opposite the beach and next to the main hotels the Surintra is very well situated. (It is not down an alley as some have mentioned). I was in the first (older block I think) and the room was massive. Spotlessly clean and with a kitchenette at the back. It is a 3 star quality but for the price is great value and one where I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: U rooms were very big and opposite the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Nick_Pat71,

Warm greetings!

We are delighted to read your positive feedback regarding your stay and we sincerely thank you for choosing Surintra and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to having you here again in the near future. Should you require further assistance or information, please do not hesitate to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 535 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

i HEARED THAT sURINTRA WAS REFURBISCEHD AND i PASSED BY WHILE ON hOLLIDAY TO SEE THE IMPROVEMENTS,The rooms are still beautifull and the horrible thai bathroom is gone and replaced by very nice modern bathroom,there is a second pool and other room wich are smaller but very nice,so if you are on a budget but not want to spend your time in the hussle of Patong but in a seren thai plce like Surin beach you will be ok at Surintra,as said in other reviews Tripadvisor needs to help other travellers coming after you and a review sometimes needs to be actualised

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear KhunPhilip,

Greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

We sincerely thank you for your kind feedback regarding our major changes and noticing the improvements of our hotel room specially our bathroom. We will do our best to maintain our standard in a manner that would satisfy our guest. It is our great pleasure to read your positive comments and it will be passed on the management to let them know that their effort do not go unnoticed.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you here soon. Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Awesome resort
Second time to return
Staff fantastic , can't complain about anything as everything perfect
Breakfast was very nice ,
Quiet location for quiet time
Beautiful pool
Rented a motorbike from shop at roadside and no need to hand over passport as I stayed at surintra resort , the first time in Thailand that I did not need to hand over my passport


Be back in six months

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanorehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Mr. Seanorehan,

Greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you and we sincerely thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff and to let them know that their effort do not go unnoticed.

Thank you and we look forward to having you here again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice hotel with spacious rooms with good design. Very clean. House keeping working well. Friendly English speaking stuff. Aircon, big fridge, 2 bottles of water every day, TV, hairdryer, etc. Spacious balcony. Good location, close to the Surin beach, one of the best in Phuket. Very good thai massage salon (2 minute walk to the left).
Absolutely agree that it would be better if there were chairs on the balcony, and mirror in the room as the bathroom is a little bit dark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanuqqio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear tanuqqio,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. The team are delighted to read your positive comments concerning your stay. Therefore, i am happy to inform you that we have placed and extra 2 chairs on the balcony and we have already ordered a mirror to put in in each room.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you here again on your next visit. Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely hotel, close to the beach, spacious room and bathroom, open kitchen. Terrace with swings - nice place to spend time with glass of wine. Helpful stuff. Breakfast is the same every day and served very simple place outside the hotel territory - the only negative moment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to read your positive comments concerning your stay. However, I would like to inform you that we will be closing our Breakfast section to renovate the place and do some changes on our breakfast selection. Hopefully, it will be ready by the end of this year.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you here in the future.

Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Resort has had a recent uplift with fresh paint and fittings, showers thou were bare concrete with mere holes for drains and in our case an unpleasant odour from the drain. Rooms were kept very clean, walls shows signs of recent cracking. Beds were aged but mattresses were firm and comfortable, linen clean. Not a boutique resort, but more a hotel with 6 levels and plenty of stairs. Although I wouldn't personally recommend, the price was fair, the food at the adjacent kitchen pleasent and the location is within a short distance to the beach. Very happy we hired scooters as there is little in the way of shopping or tourist attractions nearby. If you do find yourself at Surin Beach yen I recommend The Flavour restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Look to trip advisor and like sites for realistic reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Crawls71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback and comments regarding your stay.

We hope to welcome you here again at Surintra Boutique Resort! Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is a bit difficult to review Surintra. I will try to explain why. I will not call Surintra a resort. It's more like a hotel or motel. I will review it as that, and also in light of the price we paid. Less than THB 1500/day is excellent value, but do not expect a 5 star resort with all ammenities. We stayed for 2 days only. We came from Khao Lak and needed a place not too far from Phuket Airport. Surintra is tucked away in a small street behind some major expensive resorts. Check-in was efficient and quick. The lady spoke way way better english than you normally hear in Thailand. Our room was more spacious than expected and a positive surprise, considering the price we had paid. It was light and minimalistic in a funny mediterranean-thai style. Tiles, stone, concrete and an iron bed. Not the usual thai deco, but it suited us fine. I wanted to give the sleep quality 5 stars, but I deduct one for the loud italian guys in the room next door and one for the local dogs that went ballistic every evening and night. We had a large balcony. The view is quite open and green, but you do look at the backside of another resort and yes you have a view of smalll local community living in what looks like slum houses. Free wi-fi and it worked fine. Our booking was excluding breakfast, so we can comment on that. The breakfastrestaurant is not directly connected with the hotel, but is in a seperate building 50 meters from the reception. The pool area is ok. 2 polls, plenty of sunbeds and sun most of the day. Check-out and booking of taxi was no problem. Surin Beach is a strange place. It's quite different from other beach destinations we have been in Thailand. When we took a walk from Surintra to the beach we hated the place. The beach is packed with (fancy?) beach clubs advertising with champagne and the beach itself is nothing but rows and rows of beach chairs for hire. Looked like something in southern Europe, and the area also seems to attract mainly french guest with northafrican background. And a lot of thirsty russians ofcourse. But the upside is the food. If you like basic, cheap and really good thaifood you can certainly find at the beachfront. You are not sitting under palms on the beach and it's in no way romantic, but it's a very charming chaos and you get superb thai- and seafood at very reasonable prices. I wouldnt mind staying again at Surintra, but only if we had to fly out of Phuket and needed to stay a couple of days. The location is simply not good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DK_Riis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and the team are pleased to send you a warm thank you. It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. Please accept our sincere apology as well for any inconvenience you had experience while you're here. it is not something we can control.

Again, thank you so much and we hope that you'll chose Surintra Boutique again on your next visit. Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 36 in Choeng Thale
357 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#25 of 36 in Choeng Thale
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#15 of 36 in Choeng Thale
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surintra

Address: 49/1 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $31 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surintra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surintra is a chic modern and at charming Phuket boutique resort Surin beach Phuket. Intimate, serene and relaxing hotel resort on Surin beach. Surintra is an oasis of calm and tranquility on Phuket most popular Surin beach. Surrounded by tropical trees quaint shopping Surin beach road and set around a service of garden courtyards Surintra is the perfect base for exploring Surin beach, Phuket and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surintra Hotel Thalang
Surintra Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing