We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Surin Beach”
Review of Surintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surintra
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Affordable hotels. Rooms are large and clean. Walking distance to beach, 2 swimming pool. But no restaurants we eat at the beach, but it is expensive. We stayed here for 3 nights and stay connected. It was the time of our joy. And we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunsonje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We really appreciate your feedback and our team are just pleased that we made your holiday a good one.

Again, thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort. Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 535 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well I went here for a last minute stay as Agoda messed up one of my bookings with a half built hotel which I was not happy about (Pensione Capri hotel)
Anyway, I booked the hotel via the Agoda app and it cost me £20. I arrived at the hotel and was shocked at how stunning it was for the money, and it was brand new too!
The room was excellent, clean, modern. The bathroom and Balcony were HUGE and finished to an excellent standard.
Breakfast was buffet style and the staff were really nice.
Fantastic stay and I highly reccomendend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBooth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We really appreciate your feedback and our team are just pleased that we made your holiday a good one.

Again, thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort. Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a terrible and frustrating stay here. List format review:

- Running water problems. Sometimes the water just stops. If you have shampoo in your hair, use the bottled water in the room to wash it out. If you flushed the toilet and the tank has not filled when you have to go again, good luck.

- A/C is insufficient. The tiny unit is not strong enough to cool the room to a comfortable temperature even after leaving it on all day, all night, at the lowest setting.

- WiFi is terrible in the room. The selling point of this hotel over other close-by hotels was free in-room WiFi. It disconnects all the time and is unusable. In the pool area, WiFi works fine.

- Staff is mediocre. The check-in and check-out process was fine. After the first housekeeping visit on day 1, our hand towels were never replaced. Housekeeping showed up on day 3 at 4pm right after we got back (we were gone all day until then). The gal was rude and gave us an attitude that we were in the room. There is no “Do Not Disturb” placard available.

- The décor is very nice. The floors are done beautifully in concrete with inlaid tiles. Bathrooms were renovated and looked awesome. Giant 4-piece sliding glass door leads to a large balcony. The door didn’t lock or close properly. As we were on upper floors the lack of locking didn’t bother us.

- The pool looks great, but was not chlorinated / under-chlorinated. Kind of gross, but nice to cool off in. The signs for the bathrooms at the pool area were hilarious though.

- The “restaurant” where breakfast is served is a detached shack in front of the hotel. Notice there are not pictures of this. It looks pretty awful and we saw food being left out swarmed with flies as we walked by.

- Location is close to the beach, but it is down an alleyway passing by a couple shanty homes. Notice there are not pictures of the hotel entrance either.

Summary: Stay somewhere else. The Doubletree is 1 minute away and is MUCH nicer, and only slightly more.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool will have better WiFI as the access points are put up on poles around the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your stay and giving us the opportunity to serve you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised regarding water problems in the room and wifi connection. Hotel pool are chlorinated every couple of weeks. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned so improvements can be done.

Again, thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort. Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stumbled upon Surintra by accident, but the location and quality of room were a complete surprise.
The service was also impeccable - we were looking for a place to stay in Phuket Town after our stay in Surin and one of the staff went as far as driving us to the town to check out hotels that were suitable...you couldn't ask for a better, more personable approach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waltzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We really appreciate your feedback and our team are just pleased that we made your holiday a good one.

Again, thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort. Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend and i recently booked this hotel via AGODA which was given 8.0 rating for a 3 star hotel. It was nothing but the worst experience we have ever encountered. Airport transfer was booked for 7 pax, 2 days prior to the day of arrival with a quote of 600baht for all 7 passengers. This was confirmed, however on the day of arrival we waited for approx 30 mins before a transport came. This was only for 4 passengers!!!! We manage to get another transport which took another 30 mins and cost us an additional 600baht!
On arrival to the hotel, we were greeted with such hostility and felt very unwelcomed!

During clarification on what happened with our airport transfer booking, the front desk staff were extremely rude and we not helpful at all. Instead they refused to acknowledge what had happened and raise their voice and one staff even slammed on the desk showing such terrible body language!!!
When asked if i could speak to a manager, they brought a lady who could not speak a word of english. Making the situation worse. Looking at this we were very reluctant on continuing our stay in Phuket with such a hotel! We felt better being stranded than to be staying at the SURINTRA.
Management should review the kind of people you choose to be at your front desk! It was an appalling experience. We were stranded for a few hours but managed to find another hotel in the area with much better service.

First Impression Counts this definately did!

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pimjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned so improvements can be done.

Thank you for your time taken to write us a review here, we're always eager to hear what you liked, disliked and how we can improve them to be able to reach our guests satisfaction on their holiday.

Should you require further assistance or information, please do not hesitate to reach me.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice pool, beautiful room, very well situated only 10 minutes walk to the beach. Staff were very gentle and helpful. We were disappointed because it was noisy in the room we can hear everything. We could hear the sound when the person in the other room was turning on the air con. The air con was not strong enough for the room so it was hot when we were sleeping. Our bed was really hard and not confortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justineetpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned so improvements can be done.

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again. We're always eager to hear what you liked, disliked and how we can improve them to be able to reach our guests satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to reach me should you need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife booked three rooms together with 3 other couples who were there for a wedding.. First, the hotel front desk sent only a car to fetch 7 ppl when told 3 times about the number of passengers.. And we were waiting at the airport for some time and when only 1 car came, we waited for awile more for them to get another vehicle. And even though it was not our fault, we had to pay more for the transport. Which taking a minibus will have been the wiser choice. And when we asked them what went wrong , the hotel staff, refused to listen to our explanation and first a lady, just walked away saying she got a headache. They were very much defensive on thier mistake and did not acknowledge but said we told them only 2 passengers.. Ridiculous..then came the hammer blow.!! The guy who was attended to our calls, suddenly stood up n BANGED on the table to intimidate us.. And that I have nvr seen in any of my travels, been to 3 star hotels but this behavior, was totally unacceptable.. Then the lady who had a headache said since they are not happy with the outcome, requested that she refund us our money n told us to get another hotel.. Which we did only at about 9 PM that night, and we were stranded for about 5 hours till then.. It's such a terrible place to be in, and I agree I did not get to use the facilities but the front desk experience is enough for me!!!

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Ah74nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned and improvements have been done.

Thank you for taking your time to share us your experience and we hope to be of service to you here to replace your bad experience with a good one. We're always eager to hear what you liked, disliked and how we can improve them to be able to reach our guests satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to reach me should you require further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#25 of 36 in Choeng Thale
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#17 of 36 in Choeng Thale
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surintra

Address: 49/1 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $31 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surintra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surintra is a chic modern and at charming Phuket boutique resort Surin beach Phuket. Intimate, serene and relaxing hotel resort on Surin beach. Surintra is an oasis of calm and tranquility on Phuket most popular Surin beach. Surrounded by tropical trees quaint shopping Surin beach road and set around a service of garden courtyards Surintra is the perfect base for exploring Surin beach, Phuket and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surintra Hotel Thalang
Surintra Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing