We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Thai French restaurant”
Review of Black Cat

Black Cat
Ranked #15 of 165 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Thai French restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

For a change of food very good,service with a smile did not have to wait long to be served was always busy when visited .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    268
    98
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good local food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love the 99 baht lunch specials. You get a main dish (my picks - chicken with ginger, chicken with basil leaves and chilli) and a fruit shake (my picks - water melon or mango) and it's always quick and yummy. Plus they include some fried vegetables with the dish too. It's a great venue for larger groups too and they offer a transfer services for Laguna hotels.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Local knowledge required”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Visited on the back of good Tripadvisor recommendations.
A driver came for us & took us to the restaurant which was a good start but unfortunately that was about as good as it got.
Although newcomers to Thailand we had enjoyed reasonable success in the restaurants that we had previously visited but I am afraid the dishes that we chose could at best only be described as ordinary....perhaps we were just not experienced enough in the ways of the huge range of dishes that were on the menu.
Suffice to say it will not be one of our future stop-off points.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiffnockIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mesmerisingly large menu and good local food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Black Cat and Pesto next door were both great examples of local restaurants. Cheap, tasty, fresh, friendly. When you take into account the cost, Black Cat is excellent value for money. The meals are as good as the resorts for a third the price. They even pick you up and drop you back to your hotel free of charge if you're local.

Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We went here to dine, and to watch the football. The normal size TV's were discreet and not in your face, which pleased Madam. We were collected from our hotel and dropped off after our meal. The food was very tasty and plentiful and the restaurant was quite busy. The wine list was not extensive but some good value wines were available at reasonable prices. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin13H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Black Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing