We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cat

Black Cat
Ranked #15 of 163 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good local good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read the previous reviews and the fact it was recommended at our villa, we decided to give this a try. On a main road looking fairly average from the outside but it's a huge place and quite a busy place. My wife ordered the red paneng curry and I had the chicken in cashew nuts. Service was quick, no long waits for the food as others on trip advisor had mentioned, but perhaps that's because we ordered the local thai dishes. The food was tasty. The curry dish had a kick to it which was pleasing. The cheapest meal in phuket we had had, costing less than 400bhat for the two of us excluding alcohol. Good cheap local food, better than some of the shacks on the beach front. And fantastic value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank McCanns2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    259
    95
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A victim of it's own popularity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The first time I dined in Black Cat was in 2011 and it was very good. The service was warm and friendly and the waiter was good at recommending dishes. The food back then was really nice, especially the fish steamed with lemon. It was so good that we earmarked it as a "must-visit" restaurant when we return to Phuket.

We went back a few weeks ago and how things have changed. Yes, they still had the complimentary pick-up and return service from the Laguna Complex, which was really handy as the weather was pretty rainy during out visit.

But once we stepped out of the vehicle, the dissapointment begun. There was no warmth in the place which we experienced previously. It has grown so popular that we felt rushed to be seated. Then our orders were taken by a disintered guy who didn't bother to recommend or give some opinion. We ordered 3 entrees and 4 mains for the 4 of us as we were really famished and knew the food was good.

Guess what? All the 7 dishes arrived together and the waiter just plonked the food on the table without a word before rushing off to get new customers at the door seated. Besides a little bit embarassing having so much food on the table, it was super ridiculous to have entrees and mains served together and I was pretty unhappy with that, especially since this time round, my parents were with us as guests.

All in all, I would give this place a wide berth next time I am in town. It has grown arrogant due to it's popularity (I am sure Tripadvisor helped with it's popularity). Plenty of other new restaurants around to try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philblackcat, General Manager at Black Cat, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Sorry to learn that you've been disappointed on your last visit in our restaurant. I am not sure when it was exactly. But doesn't matter as we did a mistake by bringing all food at the same time. It happens sometimes and in most cases we just take back mains dishes to bring them back, hot again, when starters have been eaten. You don't even talk about the quality of food! How was it?
In case of problem, it is always easy to call a manager who will try to solve it. Regarding the staff who took care of you, as i also had other problems, he is not with us anymore.
As for many other places, we find it very difficult to find good staff. But please do not judge a place and call people there arrogant only because of that. Like you said, our popularity, which started long time before trip advisor, almost 18 years ago, is based on honesty, friendliness and being able to offer good value to all of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing starters but good main courses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Black Cat was on my list of restaurants to try on this visit. We booked a table and walked there rather than use the pick up service they offer.

It is a large restaurant, covered but with open sides so it has an open air feel to it.
Black Cat entrance is on a busy road so not a quiet or scenic outlook.

They have a very extensive menu of many pages which is slightly off putting. They could easily simplify the menu layout to make it easier.

The waitress gave us funny looks when we asked for certain dishes to be spicy which made us laugh.

I really like chicken satay and use it as a comparator between Thai restaurants. I like it flat and well cooked. Black Cat satay was big and chunky, more like a kebab and therefore disappointing.

The vegetable pancake rolls contained large pieces of green beans which we hadn't experienced before, different and not to my taste. The other starter was a spicy papaya salad which had a real kick and was very tasty.

Main courses were a lot better than the starters and retrieved the situation.

The Massaman curry (requested very spicy) was very good, as was the chicken penang curry (requested spicy) The chicken pad thai was one of the best we have had.

I don't like a lot of rice with my curry so not good when the large portion of rice was given to me on my plate not in a separate bowl. A minor detail perhaps, but something to differentiate the dining experience from other restaurants on this holiday. Also the beer was not ice cold and got warm a bit too quickly, perhaps we should have stuck to small bottles!

Overall, not a bad meal, very good value. I would return for the inexpensive main course and give the starters a miss next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glitch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A friendly local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

A friendly local restaurant with good food at reasonable prices. I went here twice and had Thai dishes and it was delicious. The staff were friendly and it's really reasonably priced. They also offer a pick up and drop off service for free from your accommodation. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Beach, Australia
2 reviews
“Good variety for families with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went to this restaurant with three you children (under 10). There was excellent variety and the staff were very helpful and accommodating for the children. Excellent pick-up and return to your hotel service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Black Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing