We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chava Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Twinpalms Phuket(Thalang District)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surintra(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MANATHAI Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AM Surin Place(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benyada Lodge(Thalang District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pen Villa Hotel(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surin Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
501
61
7
1
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
61
7
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonestwo bedroom apartmentplunge poolbeach matsfull kitchenshort walkwashing machinebig balconythe general managerfamily holidayhome away from homebeautiful surin beacha wonderful staythai foodrestaurant staffpool sidegreat pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 579 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Chava Resort for 6 nights in September and enjoyed every minute. We stayed in an enormous 2 bedroomed apartment, which was extremely modern and sleek! Our kingsize bed was sooo comfortable, and the unit provided everything to ensure a fantastic stay. The whole resort and pool area was immaculate, and we spent many hours around the pool and enjoying the great weather that Phuket and The Chava, had to offer. All the staff, right up to management, are an asset to The Chava. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. It is obvious that the staff enjoy working there, which is a rarity in many places that we have stayed at over the years. I must mention that the food that we ate at The Chava was delicious and extremely well priced. We had the most amazing noodle curry dish for lunch that was a "secret recipe" from Chiang Mai - we are still talking about it now! The Chava is known for being a great family resort, but we felt that it was equally fantastic for a couple, or a friend's get-together. The 2 bedrm apartments are so large, that 2 couples sharing would be perfect.
The resort is located in Surin - we consider it to be the nicest beach area, with lots of lovely beachside restaurants. Taxis are just outside The Chava with fixed prices, so it is in a great location to base yourself. Also, if you wish to hire a car, which we did for a day, The Chava organises it all and there is secure parking downstairs.
A big thank you to Pete (manager) and a special thanks to Larry for making our stay at The Chava truly memorable. We will miss you and we do hope to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the 1st floor looking towards the beach. The front block for us was great, as it was close to reception, and you do not have to walk past the pool to exit the resort. If you like to be close to the pool, there are some lovely poolside rooms as well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you Sandy- I thought that you and John enjoyed your time with us here at The Chava, but wow! - I didn't realize just how much. Your words about are staff are too kind and we really do appreciate them very much-our staff are very proud to receive praise of this type and it makes a big difference to moral around our property. Chef is also very pumped about your comments about his Khao Soi Gai dish from his own family recipe from the Chiang Mai region of Northern Thailand. Our ability to combine a family resort with an intimate couples getaway is a real positive as well. Hope to see you both again very soon. Cheers, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband, one year old son and parents in law stayed in a massive two bedroom apartment. Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Breakfast out by the pool each morning was delicious and of high quality.
Only a short walk to lots of beachside restaurants which Peter (manager) was happy to recommend many restaurants of all budgets. Our favourites diamond beach club, audy and cefalu Italian restaurant.
Great quiet small boutique resort away from the hustle and bustle of patong. Family friendly and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Julie-we are so glad to have had yet another happy guest visit, and really appreciate the comments you have posted. Poolside breakfasts in the morning sun are often mentioned to us as a stay highlight by families in particular. Our proximity to the 50 -odd restaurants in the Surin Beach area, all within 5 minutes walk from our front gate is also a benefit that comes free with a stay at The Chava - please hurry back. Regards Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is my 4th time at the Chava and it just gets better each time- the service and food is fantastic - the rooms are large and the pool is amazing . For me I love the location as I come here to relax and swim and an early morning run! I need to stay in contact with my office so WiFi is most important, the wifi at the Chava is very good - last night we had the chef come to our room and provide a cooking lesion and dinner party amazing experance a must do.
Peter and your team keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Tim-it's great having regular returning guests staying with us as you are doing yet again. We have the utmost respect for the opinions of our guests particularly those from the travel industry so place great value on your comments. We are also glad that you enjoyed your private in-room cooking class-you're not the first guest to mention this as a highlight. Hope to have you back with us again very soon. Regards Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a week at Chava last week, absolute heaven!! We had a party of 2 adults and 4 teenage children and the resort catered for all our varying needs. We really didn't want to leave the resort as we were offered delicious food, cocktails and massages around the pool and the room was very well-equipped with foxtel screens and a fully-functioning kitchen (even though we never used it...). The area is quite safe, even for our teenage girls to wander around shopping or taking a quick mango smoothie down the road.

Peter, Sharon and the team were wonderful with their advice on where to eat, where to go and what to do, even which shop to go to for that last minute gift!

We have returned relaxed, and thoroughly in love with the Thai culture. We will return

Room Tip: Get down to the pool early for the prime cabana position!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyraS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kyra- I'm delighted to receive your very positive comments about your recent stay with us particularly in relation to our food, cocktails and massage service. The safety of the Surin Beach area is also something our guests find particularly comforting. Our free advice service is something we are only too happy to share with guests and Sharon really enjoys constantly researching on your behalves!!! Please rush back soon-regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 14 month old daughter a couple of weeks ago and we loved it. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with plunge pool. Immaculately clean, very comfortable, extremely quiet and the staff were beautiful. Located only 150 metres from the beach, with plenty of restaurants to choose from the Chava Resort is perfect for families and couples alike. Booking process was painless and even the general manager, a Carlton supporter was a good bloke! We will definitely be back, thank you again to Peter and his team for a fantastic stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Anthony- it's very gratifying to receive such an encouraging review from a fellow Hotel Industry professional such as yourself- additionally from a senior TripAdvisor reviewer. Our very close proximity to beautiful Surin Beach-the best beach on Phuket - is a real positive for us as are the multitude of restaurant choices available to our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay- more so on a weekend where Collingwood exited the finals race!!! See you on your next visit to Phuket-regards Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews