We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chava Resort
Nearby Hotels
Allamanda Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaman Seaside Resort(Bang Tao Beach)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Villas Resort Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$139
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$145
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$148
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$112
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
$951
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
$927
$730
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
501
61
7
1
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
61
7
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonestwo bedroom apartmentplunge poolbeach matsfull kitchenshort walkwashing machinebig balconythe general managerfamily holidayhome away from homebeautiful surin beacha wonderful staythai foodrestaurant staffpool sidegreat pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 579 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Chava Resort, Surin Beach in Phuket is so lovely with a fantastic pool surrounded by mature tropical greenery, views of the pool & beyond to hills from most rooms facing into the resort or over the ocean from those facing the street. It is a tranquil location, a few metres from the beach where there is a variety of restaurants. The Catch is recommended, excellent service & food though eating at The Chava is also very good, especially breakfast and lunch by the poolside. Service at the Chava is personal & friendly as it is a small complex so you get to know the staff and they look after you very well. A must is a massage from Becky by the poolside as she is brilliant so have at least 2 or 3 with her rather than go down to those at the beach as her rates are very reasonable and it is so convenient to have a to quality masseuse on site. The apartments are spacious and beautiful with a huge fully equipped kitchen, balcony, very large living room with TVs in all bedrooms and the living room (wide range of channels) plus great internet access and spa master suite with a gigantic bath. The bedlinen is pure cotton, duvets feather/down and the best pillows - high quality showing consideration of guests' needs. That's the essence of the Chava, there is no compromise on quality at any level - it really is a paradise and we had a truly relaxing week's holiday. I won't stay anywhere else now that I have experienced this style of resort, definitely large impersonal resorts are not for us! Loved it, can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Well constructed so that bedrooms are beside bedrooms not living rooms; corner apartments have nothing next to bedrooms; probably top floor is quietest but garden flats have more secure & private space outdoors for families with kids. Aircon noise is not an issue as it is all ducted but it does get cold so best to have air flow and use aircon only when absolutely necessary.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misspiggypiggy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

What a wonderful review and on behalf of all the staff I thank you. I am so happy you enjoyed our massage service - you are so right, whenever we have a lull I try to take advantage of Becky's massage! I am also very pleased you mentioned the bedding as this is an area where we have endeavoured to provide the best sleeping conditions we can. Hope to see you again very soon!
Larry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is my first time visiting Phuket and was very pleaseeee with Chava!! We were looking for a room for 4 which Chava was perfectly fit. The room is very big, clean and nice with modern decoration. With this rate, you will not find any room this size in Phuket, it is a true great value if you looking for a place to stay with family. Staffs are all very nice any helpful in every way. Breakfast by the pool was also great, all food are prepared fresh not like the cold buffet at typical hotel. Pool is also nice and quite...very private and beautiful surrounding. It is only 200 meter walk to the beach and activities.
A truly perfect place to stay, Chava would be my first choice when i go back to visit Phuket.

Room Tip: The higher the better view!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hi Thana and thanks for your comments. We are very happy with comments about breakfast because our staff put a lot of time and effort into buying the freshest ingredients, organic where possible. Our two bedroom/two bathroom apartments are a great "fit" for a family of four or two couples. Hope to see you again very soon. Larry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday with friends from the Chava and it was exceptional. Golf and the team provided the best service and assistance in the lead up to our arrival, nothing was too hard. This is our 4th trip to Phuket and we love the island and have now found the perfect place to stay. The location with an awesome beach across the road, with great restaurants to choose from and now 2 beach club bars that crank most nights (especially on the weekend).

The rooms are exceptional and if you have a family, you will appreciate the size of the 2 bedroom suite. Finding places with 2 bedrooms in Phuket is not easy without paying for adjoining rooms, but the Chav delivers in spades.

Hope this is helpful and do yourself a favour and stay here!

Room Tip: The 2 deroom suite is the way to go. I wouldn't waste money on a pool villa, as it has a large beautiful pool anyway
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 462AdamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hi Adam and thanks for your great review. I will allow Khun Golf to respond: "Hello Adam and my deep gratitude to you for taking the time to review The Chava Resort, especially when you said really nice things. The wide choice of restaurants at Surin Beach is indeed one of the drawcards to our area and the fact that you can eat a delicious meal for 200 baht or 2000 baht depending where you choose to dine! But the best thing is coming home to The Chava after you have eaten your fill, right? Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon! Golfie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

we went back to the Chava again. It was nice as usually. The room is big so it was very comfortable for all of us not like the hotel room as there 2 bedrooms plus big kitchen , dinning table and sofa set. I love the balcony slide door that we can open it completely wide for pool view. Even in the peak time , the Chava had the peaceful admostphere around it. It will keep being our place to be in Phuket ..:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaeJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your return visit to The Chava because we enjoyed having you back! Our large 2 bedroom deluxe apartments average 160 square metres and provide space and privacy even for a family of four. Thanks again for your review and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Larry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've just returned from an idyllic few days at Chava Resort on Surin Beach, Phuket, at the end of January. What a great location! The resort is a peaceful, private, tranquil haven, just a short stroll from the activity of the beach. The main feature of the resort is the glorious pool, all lush green foliage where you can always find a private lounge to enjoy complete relaxation. The pool is such a lovely contrast to the lively bustle of the beach.
While we didn't have dinner at the resort, because there were so many options to dine right on the sand of the beach, breakfast and lunch by the pool were delicious and very reasonably priced, and we were surprised at the quality and freshness that came from the poolside bar/kitchen area.
We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa which was luxurious, spacious and whisper-quiet. It was decadently indulgent with the main bedroom not only opening to a private plunge pool but also opening to the ensuite bathroom that contained a huge bath, definitely big enough for two!
We enjoyed great service which was attentive and friendly, yet unobtrusive. We were especially impressed with how they located, retrieved and delivered to our room our luggage that went missing on our flights between Laos and Phuket.
Another highlight was meeting the ever-friendly and ever-helpful Larry, the Resort's manager.
Our few days at Chava were low key but luxurious and totally relaxing.

Room Tip: The two bedroom villas that adjoin the pool area are quiet, luxurious and spacious, with their own plunge pools.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Judy and thank you for a lovely review, although by telling all I am ever friendly and ever helpful you have increased my workload immensely! Just joking, thanks a lot. I am really pleased you noted our unobtrusive service. This is an area we have been emphasizing with our staff and it is great to get feedback along those lines.Looking forward to seeing you guys again soon! Best, Larry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews