We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location in Surin Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location in Surin Beach”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This was our second visit to Surin Beach. Our first visit was spent in a guest house up on the hills; although it was beautiful and the view was unbeatable, the 10 minute walk up and down the hill kept us from spending much time down on the beach! This time, we decided to stay near the actual beach. The Courtyard was the perfect location -- about a 5 minute walk to the beach, and near many restaurants. It was also very convenient to have the taxi stand right across the drive way from the hotel. The staff was very cordial, and did everything they could to answer all of our questions. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel since we were at the beach or in Patong (about a 20-25 minute taxi ride away) for the night life, but enjoyed how quiet and relaxing it was -- even with the kids area! I would recommend this hotel if you are a traveler who wants a nice place to come "home" to -- for the money and the great location, this is definitely somewhere we'd come back to.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    411
    219
    43
    46
See reviews for
541
360
60
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IRAN
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Some facts regarding :

1. delux rooms are somehow small so I recommend suits which are more comfortable.

2. this hotel is located on surin beach which is far from patong (20 minutes by taxi) so if you are interested in nightlife activities this hotel is not for you but if you are looking for a place to relax here you can find a calm environment where is less crowded.

3. It seems that this hotel is originally designed for kids. they can enjoy many activities here among them pool slides are the highlight. swimming pools are brilliant and believe me if you are going to phuket with your family (kids among them of course!) you have to look no further as this hotel is just the place for them. I do not recommend hotel for business travellers and couples on honeymoon

4. staff are extremely kind and helpful. they are smiling all the time!

5. rooms are clean and service is acceptable.

6. breakfast buffet is as it should be and restaurants are great.(be sure to try pizzas at Gallo Nero)

7. most of the guests here come from scandinavian countries(SWEDEN,...)so you you can find information here in 3 languages:English, Swedish, Japanese) even in restaurants the menu contains swedish cuisine.

8. there is a MINI Mart at the hotel where you can buy some basic items for yourself (like mineral water,chocolate, ice cream,..) and the prices are reasonable

9. taxi rates is the same as other places but it's better for you to change your money outside the hotel.

10. The beach is not close to hotel. it takes 10-15 minutes by foot as you have to cross a street but it's less crowded from the patong beach (phuket's main beach) with less watersports activities of course.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel for families with kids.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mehrdadnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This was our first time to Phuket (it was Dec-08). Omg, it took one year for me to write in about this trip. Haha :) Anyway we stayed here in Courtyard Surin Beach. The moment we step into the lobby, we knew this was the right place.Front desk staffs were atttentive and charming, the welcome drinks was a nice to touch to keep us impressed...

We were given room 1519, overlooking the pool. The distance from the lobby towards our room was quite far, so it advisable to request somewhere nearer to the lobby. Room was spotlessly clean, bed comfy and everything was just so nice. The location is quiet and peaceful with a Thai settlement near by, renting a car is the best way to move around if you stay here. The hotel also provides coach (at a price) to patong/Jungceylon and you can always ride on the plenty Tuk Tuks there...

We'll definitely love to come back to Phuket and i'm planning it right now :)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Even before making the reservation, communicating with the hotel to fine tune reservation details is smooth. Marriott education for the staff takes care for the constant high level of service we experienced everywhere in this hotel. Khun Parthma simply was everywhere to greet us and made us feel like we are the only guests although the weekend was almost full house. Everybody tried to be helpful and useful. They learned fast our expectations and the next day they anticipated our wishes.
Traditional Thai hospitality welcomed us with cold ice lemon tea. The registration was so fast that we had to finish the drink at the room.
The room is great and we were lucky to get it on the pool level.
Although we did not come with the kids, we noticed the fantastic facilities for kids, the two big slides to the pool, the club house that can make club Med jealous.
The poolside is full with beautiful attractive [--], just that they pay attention to their kids :-).
The food is excellent , much better than restaurants in the city although you pay the price for hotel food. We took the grilled salmon and the Thai steam sea bass for lunch. Absolutely yummy. .
Like most hotels in Phuket, there is no private beach which could make this location perfect, hence there are some compensations.
1. Because it remote and not Patong, much less peddlers and they are much more polite .
2. The hotel host some airline crews and they grace with their amazing mixture of class and beauty the shore.
3. The massage on the beach relaxes you and you can bargain from 300 to 250 bhats.

Bottom line, if you travel with small kids, this hotel should be the first one you check in Phuket.
If you want to run away from the commotion of Patong, Surin beach is also safer Tsunami wise as it is 7 minutes from the beach.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avilir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Having spent 9 nights staying at the Courtyard Marriott at Surin Beach in a pool suite, i can honestly say what a wonderful and fantastic time my family and I had satying at this hotel. Having stayed in Phuket many many times, our time at this hotel was greeted with the warmest of receptions, our 2 year old had so much fun with some of the hotel staff, she still asks about some of them. The Suites are spacious and clean, bathroom with double shower ( no bath) 2 wardrobes, 2 flat screen TV's, DVD players, large refrigerator can stock it up well as there is heaps of space.
There are 3 pools one for toddlers, one with a pool bar and 2 large and very fun water slides, all surrounded by well matained tropical gardens. There is a 3 level kids club with lots of activities to keep the kids occupied as well as a 2 level gymnasium for daily workouts. The breakfast at the hotel was good for what it was, with a large variety to choose from. At the end of the day it was the staffs friendliness and accomodating nature that really made the point of difference for me, having stayed an many many high end hotels and resorts around the world the Courtyard Marriott at Surin is trully a gem of place to stay at, and great value for money. Will definatley be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This is a very high-quality hotel and from the point of view of food, cleanliness, friendliness etc cannot be faulted. Very high standards in all these areas. We also got a quite good room-rate in off-season.

However there were a couple of matters that were off-putting for us.

The first was that when we were arrived at the hotel, we were offered a seat and a cool welcome drink before we checked-in; we thought, great, and sat down to enjoy it - then they proceeded to try to convince us to come to a timeshare promotion (my term, not theirs) at another Marriott in the area. This "hard-sell" concept before we even checked-in was VERY off-putting for reasons that should be obvious.

Secondly, although we had a good room-rate, we found everything at the Marriot very expensive. Now I have to say that prior to this we had been travelling around the country for a month in medium-priced accommodation and were watching our budget. So the Marriott price level just came as a jolt to us. Drinks cost multiples of similar drinks at regular restaurants and cafes in Thailand, laundry is the "western standard" per-item rather than per-kilo, and internet was the most expensive I saw in 3 months in Asia, all of which forced us to watch our budget and find alternatives.

Specific pros and cos:
+ good kids club
+ cleanliness and appearance were perfect
+ good pools, 2 waterslides. Our kids ABSOLUTELY loved the pools here.
+ friendly staff, good english (English in Thailand is often basic)
+ REALLY excellent breakfast buffet
+ very good gym; lots of machines and never busy
+ Large fridge in-room
+ aircon very effective in-room
+ everything very well decorated

- princes for food and drinks high (as much as possible we used happy hour 2-for-1 promotions or went outside the hotel)
- laundry prices (per piece unlike per kilo as elsewhere in Thailand; we found a shop up the road that did laundry for a fraction of the Marriott cost)
- kids club has charges for activities that really should be free given the materials costs are minimal and the staff are there anyway
- Timeshare promotion before we even checked-in was VERY offputting
- high internet prices (a multiple of the standard rates in Thai internet cafes)
- We got better deals on attractions and shows (eg Fantasea) from local agents who were willing to negotiate on their commissions. For example an agent split his commission and said we could bring our 4-year old free to Fantasea if we said she was 3 and therefore didn't need her own seat. The Marriott concierge desk couldn't offer any such "solutions" to us.

A couple of final items:
a) it's not far to walk to the beach, just 5 mins or so across a park, however the beach has very big waves and is not safe for swimming. So you'll probably spend most of your time at the hotel pool.
b) Compared with elsewhere we visited in Thailand, taxis and tuk-tuks are relatively expensive and they won't negotiate on price. I wouldn't really recommend this area to budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Back in Thailand for the 3rd time this year;as we come often we look for value for money,if you read other reviews from me you will notice that I am critical but just,on this hotel I must say I have to search after the problems with a microscopeOK l'ets go.The standard rooms are nice but small so if travelling with a child for your own comfort have the bigger suites as we did,rooms are clean,bedding is top,housekeeping perfect,only minus thereis not one single room with a bath tub even not in the suite,but for two weeks no problem,nice terrace,Flat tv,Dvd player,aircon bit noisy like everywhere ,breakfast is ok,but if you like croissants or bread rolls,go to the local bakery in Surin on the main road otherwise have toast,fruit juice is nice a lot of fruit available and eggs made to order.Food in restaurant is ok,had dinner once this time and in april when i checked out this hotel,not top but honest.Every single memeber of the staff is very friendly and we are used to Thailand,from the managers to the bell boy everybody is super.There is a Kids club,Staff are great our daghter enjoyed it and it was the first time we stayed at a place with one,perfect.Will certainly come back when I want to be in the Surin beach area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,054 reviews
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing