We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at the Doubletree by Hilton Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Was very happy with the service of the staff from the chincheolham Check-out time to. Staff was always impressed with the look of the first approaching constant laughing. We take a very relaxing for 4 days and 3 nights in the end look my best. To take over the hotel because of the continued maintenance was not clean and the facilities were being managed well overall very good condition. So I hope you repair the aging nangandae stairs and the wall of the slide. I was thinking back then was to go back to Phuket the next hotel you want to go and just resting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jin Hyun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Jin Hyun P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday while staying with us and you appreciated a friendliness of our staff and all others hotel facilities. Your kind words about the resort and staffs will be shared with the team.

I also would like to thank you for your kind suggestion on the area improvement and we will keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcome you back at the resort in the future.
Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife daughter and I really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were really nice from the moment we arrived. I had visited Phuket 4 times before and really only planned to stay here 4 days before continuing on in our travels. But enjoyed it so much we extended our stay.
I had intended to make a note  to recommend a few people at the kiosk near the front desk. But that was removed prior to Mother's Day.
All the staff we interacted with were really nice, but especially enjoyed the friendly help of Kan who helped my wife and daughter with their painting projects, and both Sarah and Oat were great help at the front desk. The rest of the staff were really nice too, but I only caught a few.
Surin beach was really nice. Really Peaceful and quite compared to places like Patong. Since the coup the military has made the beaches a pleasure again. In Thailand all beaches are public, and the recently cleared out all the thousands of beach chair / umbrella vendors. So now you can actually walk down a relatively pristine beach which was a pleasure. The waves were pretty large, from recent storms, and quite a few rip tides were visible. We only swam at the beach one day, but spent hours at the hotel pool.
We preferred meals at the local Thai eateries rather than the resort, and had some great food along the streets of Surin, as well as the restaurants along the beach. At Salt (on Surin beach), try the fish steamed with Chili and lime. It was stellar!

I hope to visit again someday soon.

Kha phun krup,

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Lane R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday while staying with us and you appreciated a friendliness of our staff and all others hotel facilities. It was great that you experienced the beauty of Surin beach where is a popular destination in Phuket. Your kind words about the resort and staffs will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back at the resort in the future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The resort has two huge pool slides for kids to play, my kids love it very much. The welcome cookie at the front desk is very delicious and we all love it. The staff is friendly and helpful. You may ask front desk staff to get a list of restaurants nearby the beach so there can be more choices for dinner. The buffet breakfast is good and has various selection. The pool looks like a round river but the material at the edge of the pool made by tiny stone is really sharp in which two of us got little injure when getting up from the pool. The room is ok but it should have some decoration on the doors and furniture. The resort should perform insect repelling because I found and killed two cockroach (one is big) in my room. Free wifi only can be found in public area but lucky that we got wifi signal in my room. Overall the resort environment is beautiful and . You can find few restaurants and bars at the beach. There is also a family mart and 7-11 nearby. It is a quiet place to stay and it is not far from Patong.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is better to access to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Victor C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you experienced a warm welcome with our signature DoubleTree cookie and you enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and found that our resort is a friendly family resort. Your constructive feedback will be shared with the team and we truly appreciated your kind suggestions on the area that we need to improve.

We look forward to welcome you back at the resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

all staff was very friendly n helpfull. environment is good for relaxing. will stay here again if come to Phuket. thanks to all of DT staff (Nana, Ball ,Semon , CC) for the hospitality. they just make all the travellers feel human again!!

for coffee lover. try coffee at the Food Store near lobby. it was really good

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hafizzal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Hafizzal j,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday while staying with us and you appreciated a friendliness of our staff and all others hotel facilities. Your kind words about the resort and staffs will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is well located close to the beach. In Thailand they are trying to keep a road, trees and dunes between hotels and the beaches, so the Doubletree is as close as you can get. Surin Beach is a relatively quiet location, which suited me very well. The hotel has all the amenities expected and easily arranged a motor cycle for me for 2 days, so that I could tour the island. Altogether a great long weekend to celebrate the Queen's birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Nicholas M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday and you experienced the beauty of Surin Beach where is one of the most popular tourist destination. I was also happy to read that you had a chance to celebrate the Queen's birthday with us and hopefully you had a memorable holiday in Phuket.

We look forward to welcome you back at the resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went here for a golf trip in July / August which is off season. The hotel has everything you need, close to the beach clubs, great pool and friendly staff. The breakfast was pretty good and plenty of facilities, ie pool, table tennis tables etc.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open up to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Chris G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday while staying with us and I was happy to see that you appreciated a friendliness of our staff, hotel facilities and breakfast. Your kind words about the resort and staffs will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back at the resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We chose the hotel because we wanted to try staying in Surin this time, and to use up our HHonors points. Turns out that Surin wasn't the best choice for us, because it's pretty small and quiet in the area so it's less convenient to get good choices of cheap restaurants, tour travels, shops and supermarkets (which was best accommodated by Patong and even Karon). Having said that, the beach was very pretty and just across the hotel. The promenade contained a long string of trendy cafes and restaurants (pricey). Cheaper restaurants were in the main road, some 15-20 mins walk from hotel. We tried Paitung, which was good - the other two nearby seemed to serve BBQ meat which looked neither fresh nor clean. A small minimarket is some 5 mins walk to the left of the hotel entrance (also a tour shop and restaurant). Surin probably fits travellers who prefer trendy cafe scene and less city-like crowd and don't need to hunt for tour deals or cheap eateries.

The hotel itself was beautifully decorated, and the reception area was especially pleasant and comfy with the sofa and relaxed ambience. The swimming pool was resort-like and ideal for family with kids - there's even a slide there. Mom and dad can sip drinks in the adjacent cafe while watching the kids play. There's also ping pong (free) and snooker (not free) tables for use. Pity that the room layout is confusing initially, and annoying once you get to know your way around. There were 3 buildings with multiple lifts and entrances, and not all points were well connected with each other. At first it took all the hard thinking and double backing to go from the reception to your room. Then, when you get used to it, you realise that you need to maneuver around the edges of the curvy pool and pool chairs to get to your room. And it's doubly annoying if like us, your group are separated in rooms in different buildings that are diagonal across the pool from your location (with a bonus that the room-to-room phone didn't work). It seemed that no rooms have direct sea view because that side was taken up by reception area - which seemed wasted because you can't really see the sea from the ground level reception area. The layout didn't seem to be disabled friendly as well, because there's no ramp from reception to swimming pool and the walk around pool was blocked partially by pool chairs and there's different pavement levels. Since it wasn't easiest to move around with my suitcase, I'd imagine that it's not so convenient for disabled people to negotiate their way around as well.

The room itself was okay, but some of the finish felt cheap and low quality. Like, you see plastic when it's supposed to be ceramic or more sturdy material. The toilet seat slowly moved to one side when you sit on it. Shower jet wasn't strong enough and the instrument was pretty lightweight. I could feel the mattress coils bouncing with a jerk with every move and at night I woke up a few times with itches (though no bed bugs seen and my partner seemed ok). So shower and sleep experience hasn't been up to expectation. At least there's balcony facing the pool (though view somewhat blocked by trees). Another minus for us is the absence of wifi in the room (only in reception area), not even paid one.

Service was both good and not so good - good when they brought us cool towels, cold drinks and freshly baked cookies during check in, and not so good when they separated our group to rooms in different buildings (which must be one of the longest possible distances between rooms). We didn't realise it then that the rooms were so far apart and phone didn't work. Caused us some inconvenience when coordinating meeting time. They did ask one lady to accompany us to our rooms after checking in, but I don't quite understand the logic of asking one person to show people with suitcases the way to two rooms that are some 5 mins walk apart? Were we supposed to follow the other group to their room with our suitcases before heading to ours? Anyway, with some difficulty, we found our room but needed a couple additional walks before we could head directly to where we needed to go.

Overall, I may not be back to this hotel for some time yet. It's because next time I'd probably want to be in Karon, which is less hectic than Patong but more convenient than Surin. Not that this hotel was bad, but some aspects like layout and wifi could be better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear HahaBoy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you experienced a warm welcome with our signature DoubleTree cookie. I also was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and found that our resort is a friendly family resort. Your constructive feedback will be shared with the team and we truly appreciated your kind suggestions on the area that we need to improve.

We hope you enjoyed the Surin beach area and you will reconsider to look elsewhere next time.

Thank you very much

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $56 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing