We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo not for the couples ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Colpetty, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sooo not for the couples ..”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Double Tree hotel from Hilton is indeed a nice hotel to stay in your holiday, but if you are a couple I think its better to avoid this place as its overflowing with families and kids.. Specially if you want to have some peace and quite and hoping to have a romantic getaway .. the only place you will be doing that will be in your room. They do advertise it as a family kids oriented hotel, but then again I didn't realized that a Hilton sponsored hotel would be for that. Besides that everything thing else is good, but then again when you keep highlighting the fact that the hotel is from "Hilton", I guess guests do expect it to be luxurious, which is a bit disappointing as to what the hotel has to offer. The hotel desperately needs a view. The current view is a back of another hotel and on one side a village. However we did have a good time so I guess everything is ok..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mahieash,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was please to read that you had a great time at our resort and you found that our resort is a family-friendly resort, the hotel is also popular with couples and groups of friends traveling together.

DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is a 4 stars hotel which is different from Hilton hotels as the brand standard was set differently, in terms of brand concept, style and hotel facilities and amenities. However, we provide an excellent services to all guests which is the same as all Hilton hotels. We hope you enjoyed our services and a friendly environment during your stay.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    411
    219
    43
    46
See reviews for
541
360
60
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel feels rather weathered but service staff were friendly and the amenities are very well-catered for families. We booked a deluxe room which had a separate living area which had a sofa bed which could be converted to 2 additional beds for children or grandparents.

The kids' club is probably the main reason why familities choose this resort - it had all-day activities for children above a certain age. We came with a 7 month old infant and the cot the hotel provided was a chicco cot which my son enjoyed.

All of the hotel amenities could easily be reached even with a stroller.

The breakfast buffet was nothing to shout about but again service was good.

The downside of the resort is that despite being proximate to Surin beach, there is no reserved beachfront for Doubletree guests. That was rather disappointing. The other thing which was not acceptabl;e was having to pay for wifi which is not acceptable in this day and age.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Keiragopi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our warm services, foods, hotel facilities especially our kids club and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday. Your comment about the wifi (chargeable) will be shared with the management team and we will consider this issue.
As for the sun bed on the Surin Beach, Doubletree guests will receive a special price when visit the Catch Beach Club and Bimi Beach Club but subject to availability upon arrive at the beach clubs.
We hope you enjoyed the beauty of Surin beach and look we look forward to welcome you and the family back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit tired but it's perfect for families. It's not flash but it is comfortable. It's easy to get to from the airport. The pool is amazing with two big slides that keeps kids occupied for a lot of the day. There is a good kids club too. Restaurants near the beach are easy to get to, delicious and relaxed. It's a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m5carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had an excellent stay. Unlike my brothers review of the same hotel, we had very large rooms and due to timing of our stay the resort was quiet. A bit too quiet. Surin beach now has another ption to Catch Club, Zazanda which is hidden at the far right end. Excellent food, good cocktails and service even if the Lady boy on the entrance may be a little off putting! It has a nice infinity pool and dinner on the beach setting in the early eve is really beautiful. Highly recommend the whole roast chcicken to share!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank mjh101070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mjh101070,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our services, hotel facilities and the surrounding area during your stay at the resort. Your kind words about the resort will be shared with the team.

We appreciated the good feedback and look forward to welcome you and the family back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thitirat
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a few nights stay in one of the pool side suits. The ambience of the hotel and grounds are excellent and the staff and management are exceptionally warm and friendly.

The breakfast buffet has lots of variety - truly something for everyone. The room amenities were great. Being poolside noise (and early morning light) can be a factor but I found it incredibly peaceful and blackout curtains ensure a wake up time of your own choosing.

The property is a very short walk 2 minute walk across the road to beautiful Surin Beach.

Would wholeheartedly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located on Surin beach, everything is nearby including a beautiful beach. The hotel is nicely decorated, the staff is very friendly and efficient and the restaurant serves great food. The hotel has a great swimming pool with perfect beds. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Phuket.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBiezepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel would be perfect if it was an adults only resort. When we were staying it was mainly a Russian Clientele with the most obnoxious kids that ran a muck, even the adults had no concept or consideration of other guests. We didn't read until too late that it is the number one choice for families with children. The beach and restaurants and massages are just across the road and are fantastic, it reminds me of the Med.

Room Tip: We stayed in delux room on first floor, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maroubragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Maroubragirl,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort and you found the resort is a family - friendly resort which was recognized by Tripadvisor Award. We also have the best kids club and two sliders for kids. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the beautiful Surin Beach and many activities whilst there also. However, please accept my sincere sorry for any inconvenient caused during your stay at the resort.

Thanks for the good feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing