We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be repeated!.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Looked the business but its got no soul.Very expensive to eat and drink in compared to outside the hotel.Laundry service is a rip off would have been cheaper to buy all new clothes!!! They dry cleaned t -shirts ,underwear and shorts!!!!!.Never again I'm afraid and the pool though interesting was minging .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at this DoubleTree hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is no ATM at this hotel, there is one about a 5-minute walk from it. Also, be sure to wear light clothing when in the lobby, as there is no air conditioning in the lobby or restaurant, just ceiling fans!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jrhernandez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We checked into the doubletree last week. We booked 2 rooms connecting. On checking in the staff were very friendly and helpful which was a good start, then it went downhill. We arrived at our room which was rather small and overlooked the bar and restaurant and was filthy. The shower has black spots all over the tiles and with a wipe of my finger it came off but the black bits were all over. The chair by the desk looked like it had been there for 20 years and had stains on it. The curtains also stained and grubby and the balcony not inviting at all. The bedlinen was very nice and clean but then i put my hand on the bed head and it was covered in dust and the floor was also dirty. With 2 small children there was no way we were going to stay. I've stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and some doubletrees but none have been as bad as this. Its like they have given the walls a lick of paint and put new bed linen on and called it doubletree.
After finding another hotel and informing reception they did kindly offer to move us to another room but after the dirt we found in our room we just wanted to leave. Sorry hilton but you really need to overall this hotel.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Lizzie b,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent visit, your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated.

Whilst you unfortunately did not stay with us on this occasion, we would certainly be keen to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

20-30 minutes drive from Phuket airport will take you directly to Surin beach, we booked the Double Tree as we obtained great rates as a friend was getting married (not at this hotel).

I had asked the hotel prior to arrival if they could pick us up, however the cost was way above the going rate. Upon arrival, we where treated amazingly by the reception staff, some guava juice and a nice warm cookie ( please note its 500 calories per cookie) but deffo worth it!

The hotel is pretty big so it is a few minute walk to the acutal room, maybe longer if you are at the other end of the complex. we stayed on the 5th floor which was good, whilst walking past the room on the ground floor there was a small of sewage so we dogged a bullet on that one.

The room was clean, a little dated but for the price we paid we could not complain at all. I actually left a muffin on the work top only to return to my room with it covered in ants, but thats expected, would be the same in my own home in Singapre!

Breakfast in the moring was good, many choices and always kept fresh, so again great addition to the price we paid ( 17,000 bht) for 5 nights.

Not much on the hotel entertainment, they do have a kids zone which was packed one day with everyone playing water polo which looked fun.

The hotel is not packed but does have a lot of mainland chinese and russian guests, and it was nice to see that the hotel has a russian (i think) as part of their staff to help non speaking english guests.

If you wish to drop more money and indulge, twin palms next door is the place for you, however if you looking for a decent place to stay at a decent price, well book up the double tree.

beach is less than 5 minute walk away, with my restaurants and bars to keep you entertained.

Room Tip: * use outside transport ( better rates) * take advantage of the free cookies from reception ( ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Ian L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you experienced a warm welcome from the Team and also enjoyed the Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookie upon arrival, which is a signature of the Doubletree brand.

I am happy you enjoyed the breakfast and one of our many activities whilst here also.

Thanks for the good feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very disappointed with the rooms at Double Tree. Shabby, boring, bare. the bathrooms need upgrading. We asked to be moved as our rooms were not up to the usual Hilton standard. They did accommodate us and moved us to better positioned rooms but the rooms were still quite ordinary. My personal expensive toiletries went missing from my room. Pool was good and restaurant was fine. Location is great ....beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Wendy T,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our pool, restaurant and the beauty of Surin beach and the surrounding area. I am also happy that whist you felt the initial room was below your expectation, we were able to move you swiftly.

As for your alleged missing items which occurred during you move, I understand that the Operations Manager was personally involved with you, and fully reviewed all possibilities. The teams as you know are incredibly gracious and we were equally surprised at not being able resolve this – clearly should anything change in the meanwhile we will contact you on a direct basis as mentioned.

If you have any suggestion, please feel free to email me at Thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com

Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

It is remarkable how different the same hotel brand can be from one country to the next.

The Double Tree Surin Beach is located about 30 mins from Phuket International Airport, and is only one of a handful of hotels in this somewhat unremarkable part of Phuket.

The hotel itself is probably a 3.5 - 4 star hotel with plenty of amenities, but something is lacking and I can't quite pinpoint it. As we enter the hotel lobby at about 10pm, there are a number of guests literally sleeping on the sofas opposite the check-in desk which doesn't present too well. The room, while well appointed, has a mildew-smell throughout, and some of the lights are not working. There is a fruit bowl and welcome letter from the hotel manager which is a nice, yet expected touch. Breakfast is mediocre - the quality is inferior to other Double Trees I have stayed in, the variety less; service is adequate but there are not enough staff to refill the dishes and clear the tables. As an HHonors Diamond member I receive it for free so shouldn't really complain but I definitely wouldn't pay for it.

The pool is probably the highlight - large, with 2 water slides. No spa though.

I wouldn't stay here again - in fact not sure I would want to stay at the Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort either - the last time I was there it was pretty uninspiring as well. They are both more of a family resort with Kids Clubs and other children's activities.

Nonetheless - the staff are fabulous! Especially Fah!!!
I think I will give the Conrad Koh Samui a go next time - that looks like a stunning hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Japanuki,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed our services and hotel amenities. Please do note that our Spa is located opposite the Asia Alive restaurant.
We have noted your arrival experience with respect to sleeping guests, and can inform that this is not the norm. We do note that the lobby furniture is very relaxing, and with free public area wifi, some guests do recline and enjoy the obvious comfort.
We appreciate your general feedback with respect to our breakfast. Please feel free to email me your suggestions at Thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com so we can review the possibility of adding them to our extensive range currently on offer.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you reconsider your decision to look elsewhere next time.

Best Regards,
Thitirat T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for only one night after our arrival into Phuket before moving to another hotel on Koh Yao Noi. The hotel was really great and we will return. The greeting we received when we arrived was unlike any other Doubletree - shown to a nice couch in the lobby, offered fresh fruit juice and the signature cookies, and checked in there instead of having to stand in front of the check-in desk.

Our two kids (6 and 2) were very happy in the kids pool and with the slide (and we never even made it into the kids club area!). There is an adult pool, a kids pool with water slides, and a toddler pool with some overhead shade. The setup was great for my kids; I think had we stayed at somewhere with a water park it would have been overwhelming, but this was just the right amount of pool for us. The pool staff were really attentive and provided balls for the kids to play with.

The breakfast was actually the best breakfast we had anywhere during our entire vacation (and we stayed in much fancier places). The little snack place in the lobby had lots of good choices for food to take-away. We ordered room service pizza and were happy with the result.

The giant shower was great for post-pool cleanup. The room and hotel in general suffers from the continuous fight of 'western' structures and facilities dropped in the tropics against the heat and humidity - as do most structures in Thailand - but we were still really happy here.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can get it! Your patio doors will open right onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espritnumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Espritnumber 5,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your kind words about the team which of course we have shared with them.

We look forward to welcome you and the family back to our resort in the future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Address: 106/27, Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $67 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing