We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Nearby Hotels
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$106
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa Surin Beach(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$145
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
$191
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chava Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$350
$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$200
$142
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
$1,000
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$113
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveler rating
551
466
243
57
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
466
243
57
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewater slideskids worldkids clubchampions barcourtyard marriottupgraded to a suitepool areafamily hotellarge fridgefamily martbreakfast buffetsofa bedkids activitieswelcome drinkmini martan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

FOOD -Set menu for the Evening Dinner was a little repetitive and boring. The Kids Menu was more interesting! As instructed, we pre-booked our meals every evening (4.30-5pm) before our intended sit-down (6pm- 2 Young kids needing feeding), still had to wait 20 mins for starters. POOL- Only issue was a large dead worm and little live worms in the Kids Pool on the last day of a 6 day stay (Sat-10th Aug.) Cleaned out after Attendant notified. To be expected with all the vegetation around the pools. KIDS CLUB- Excellent for kids over 5 yrs. We did not get the full benefit as our kids are 1 & 2, there should be more play activities for infants, rather than just a soft play area. WI-FI- We were Lucky enough that Lobby Wi-FI extended to Room. Only bummer is that the Wi-Fi password only lasts an hour. Be sure to grab a few passwords from reception. BABYSITTER- Wonderful with the kids- Booking issue was a small problem. Staff did not understand my original request, so they had to arrange for a sitter pretty fast. STAFF- Some Restaurant Staff need some additional English Lessons. Other Staff excellent and extremely helpful. If in doubt, ask staff to confirm requests. TRANSPORT TO PATONG- Taxi’s are expensive for such a short ride, would recommend Phuketshuttle.com, they offer good rates for Car & Driver hire. BEACH- Charge 300Bht for a Sunlounger. DoubleTree should look at getting a discount off the beach vendors. CHECK OUT- Professional – We received breakfast boxes- Excellent idea and a good send off. OVERALL- Well run Resort -VERY SAFE and CLEAN- Senior Management made themselves visible and approachable - would recommend it to friends and family. Not 9/10, more 95/100!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Colin S

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your most recent stay with us. It was great to have you back and we very much value your feedback given you have stayed with us before.

I was glad to see you had a great holiday and would recommend others to stay with us. I have also taken your feedback on board and hope that your input can make for a more complete stay for future guests.

We are just about to launch a new style of rotational menu for those choosing to purchase meals included. This along with re-opening the free wifi in the common spaces of the Resort should provide guests with more freedom and choice generally.

I am sorry a few worms had crept into the pool after the recent heavy rains, but I glad we came to the rescue and placed them back in our lush gardens where they belong. I am also disappointed that the sun lounge tariffs and transport options perturbed you, but many of these vendors have been here much longer than the resort and deals are hard to come by.

We are currently undertaking English training with the newer members of the Team and I am confident they will be more confident in the coming months. That said, the majority of the management team who are visible as you note all have a strong command of the English language (far better than my Thai!)

Thank you again for your pertinent and well meant feedback. Tangible reviews such as these are the ones we enjoy the most.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was smooth and scenic. Second time along the coastal road.
Took about 20 minutes. Was early but managed to get a room upgrade as a result.
Friendly staff. Special mention to duty manager Geoff and his team of Nun and Tu.
Made me feel welcome.
Suite was spacious and clean.
Good view of the pool. In fact all rooms are pool facing.
Beach is across the road with many small shops and eateries. Reminded me of nai yang but better contained.
Good sleep quality but shower pressure was poor.
In all, a credible stay considering its next door neighbour.

Room Tip: Choose block 4, if possible. Fewer rooms and less noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mei

thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Resort after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, your pool view and most importantly the attentive service of our team.

With all these positives in mind and the email to myself thanking a number of Team Members for the personalised attention, I was a little perplexed as to the rating extended to your stay?

Regardless, we certainly respect your opinion and value your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future, at which time we will strive for five stars!

Warm regards
Simon McGrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can honestly say I can't find a single fault with this hotel. We are always a bit worried when we check in as we have well travelled yet fussy young children but both our girls absolutely loved this hotel. The staff are the nicest staff I've ever met, nothing is too much trouble. The facilities are great - a large very clean swimming pool, shaped so that its never overcrowded with the piece de resistance for kids and adults alike, the 2 water slides - hours of fun guaranteed, a kids club ( we didn't use it), spa facilities ( again we didn't use), free wifi in public areas ( although we managed to get it in our room which overlooked the pool) by means of passwords which lasted an hour at a time, free use of co punters with printer in reception. We had a King size suite, consisted of 2 separate rooms with the comfiest beds ever and the best shower ever - we are going to miss that shower. The rooms we well supplies, a TV and DVD player in each room, big fridge, free water daily, the rooms were cleaned really well and the hotel toiletries were actually worth taking home - Crabtree and Evelyn- the hair conditioner actually worked on my daughters rapunzel hair!
The food in the restaurant is of the highest quality but a bit pricey so best to eat out but the breakfast buffet should have stars attached - massive choice and always busy!

Recommendation - We hired mopeds on 3 separate days - at 350 THB a day it's loads cheaper than the hotel shuttle to Patong. We felt really safe on the quite busy roads and had loads of fun doing our own sightseeing. We booked the tour to James Bond Island through the hotel and loved it - £180 for family of 4.

Surin beach is lovely and clean and has lifeguards. It's a 5 min walk from the hotel but if you want sun beds with shade it's 300 THB each for a day which is way too expensive. It's a shame the hotel can't negotiate a deal. Otherwise sign out 4 beach towels from reception at about 4 pm and you'll have 3 fab hrs on the beach.

We have had a lovely week in Phuket and have loved the hotel - the Manager Simon was very pleasant and obviously runs the hotel well with excellent staff. If we were to return to Phuket again ( currently are ex pats living in India) we would def return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend the King Suite - loads of room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolineg607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided last minute to book a long weekend in Phuket and since we are both Hilton Diamond the natural choice for us was the Doubletree. We were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We have stayed at many different hotels all over the world and this was one of the nicest properties we have been to. The room was really big and nicely appointed. The staff was just amazing and could not do enough for us. They suggested a few tours for us to do over the weekend and we enjoyed every one of them. The spa was great! We had amazing massages there. The food was fantastic as well - best Pad Thai we have had! The breakfast was plentiful with tons of different food choices. The beach is just a short walk across the street and it is just beautiful and peaceful there. We will definitely be back and for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tris214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Tris214

Thank you for completing a review on the Resort after your recent visit. As a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, your opinion is particularly valuable to us.

I as very happy to read that you enjoyed the Resort. From the room to the food and most importantly the service, I am glad we delivered to make your weekend special.

We look foward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time and showing you more of what Phuket has to offer.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second trip here with my family and they all love it, rooms are clean and cosy. You can eat at the resort or go out the front and turn left to eat at several of the cafes down the road. It has twin waterslides and a kids club run by the amazing Pare!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin5570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Justin 5570

thank you so much for completing a review of the Resort after your recent visit. It was nice to read that you enjoyed yourselves!

As you note, the "village appeal" of Surin and its many beachfront restaurants make for a very pleasant environment and also make it very family friendly.

I was thrilled to read your comments on our Team generally and the person mentioned will certainly get the recognition they deserve (see of Facebook!).

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews