We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortnight in Surin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fortnight in Surin”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed 14 nights in this hotel Feb-March, 2012 and found the experience very good, in deed.

HOTEL
There's a very international feel to the hotel, with guests from various Scandinavian and Western European countries, Australia, Russia and Asia. Also, some airlines seem to have chosen Courtyard Surin as a layover hotel for their staff which, I think, is a vote of confidence.
The pool was nice enough and there was always enough room, even though we witnessed the usual sunbed hogging in the mornings.
We used the gym almost on a daily basis. It's a smallish affair but with enough equipment to keep a casual exerciser busy and provides an alternative way to pass the time when it rains.
There are two internet stations in the lobby. Apply for the free Marriott Membership at the reception for the free use of the stations. There's also a free wifi available on the lobby.

ROOM
We stayed on the top floor of the second building with a balcony facing the pool area. Room was immaculately cleaned every day and we thought that Courtyard has made a very wise decision in opting to provide a large, empty fridge instead of a regular over-priced minibar. We definitely had good use for the fridge as we stocked up inexpensive refreshments from nearby Tesco Lotus.

FOOD
The breakfast buffet had a wide selection of food in ample quantities, making it possible to have enough variation every morning. Besides cold cuts, salads, yoghurts, cereals, soups, hot Thai food, fresh fruit and different breads, they also had omelette, pancake and noodle stations. A lovely breakfast is a thing we always look forward to in holidays in Thailand and Courtyard didn't disappoint.

We only dined once in the hotel, sampling their Italian buffet. The cost was quite reasonable and food was okay, though nothing special. There was a heavy rain that night so they probably had more guests staying in and seemed to struggle to prepare food fast enough and obviously run short of few items as well. However, the waiting stuff never lost their smiles, a testament to the good service offered in the hotel.

SURROUNDINGS
We always consider the immediate surroundings of the hotel quite important when traveling. Courtyard didn't disappoint as the beach was absolutely lovely. We can recommend Red Table Cloth for sunbeds, as they were 50% cheaper than others. Say hello to Dollar, the nice dog on the beach.

There were plenty of good local restaurants nearby. We can recommend Audy for delicious local dishes and Catch Beach Club for a more luxurious night out on the beach. Close to Tesco Lotus, you'll find Blue Lagoon. Again, good inexpensive Thai food and lovely fruit shakes. Just be prepared for long waiting times as they are not the most organized of people. By the way, you may appreciate ”the secret shortcut” to Tesco and Blue Lagoon. Just go past the gym to building number three and you'll find a guarded gateway that the staff uses. Not sure if Marriott appreciates people using it but it definitely saves some steps, a fact you'll appreciate when it rains.

There're also many inexpensive laundry services next to the hotel, making eventual packing much more comfortable at the end of your trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RandomGrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    404
    219
    43
    45
See reviews for
530
358
60
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

courtyard Marriott changed it's name to Destination Spa and Resort Surin Beach on April 1st 2012. Positive at the hotel. Free wifi covers also pool area and some rooms. Rooms are ok, bathrooms a bit outdated. Breakfast is very good, something for everyone. Perhaps best for families travelling with kids.

Room Tip: Higher the better. We had our room at 1st floor, top floor would perhaps offer even seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vesku_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us and was a nice pleasant hotel. Across the road a short stroll to restaurants, and beach. Nice massages by the beach also. Rooms cleaned daily and the food was great too - attentive service and overall enjoyed surin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubells81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have been there for 3 days in December. It's typical Marriott courtyard, the same style as in Kamala beach. A little bit used however nice rooms, huge beds, clean. Swimming pool okay. Gym has a little bit old equipment but still useable. Overall nice place for short stay. Nevertheless Surin has not much to offer. Small and overcrowded beach (don't believe pictures where you see empty beach with white sand). There are sunbeds everywhere and no free space or privacy. Town is small and not much to do. Overall I would chose different beach when I go there again.

Room Tip: Kamala is a better choice if you like to spend time on the beach with family. For party and Shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oktawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I like this hotel, as it is very central in Surin and within easy access to the beach and great restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms are clean and well maintained. If you are traveling as a family or with children its great as there are 2 pools to choose from, with the kiddies pool having 2 different water slides. The Kids club is great and well supervised which means that as a parent you can have some ‘alone time’. Nice restaurant, good food and excellent value for money. Would recommend Courtyard Phuket at Surin hands down weather you are traveling solo, with friends or family. Very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selectscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights during my visit to Thailand. The staff was very helpful and the hotel had a nice modern feel to it. We accidently forgot somthing in the safe, and the hotel was nice enough to notify us and ship it back to the US.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spend there few days in February with 3 young kids.
It could be anywhere.... Thailande, Brazil, UK ,...Ikea looking deco clean and spacious. Nice pool with tobogan very popular with kids. (not enough sundecks...). Average bedrooms. Not atmosphere in the evening and limited actvities. Somptuous breakfast. Short walk to the back and to catch (the trendy bar/resto os Surin). Poor service and not very friendly staff (which is very unusual in Thailand...)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Jubin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
12.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing