We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very knowledgeable guide and friendly horses”

Cieneguilla Stables
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable guide and friendly horses”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The guide, Melissa, obviously has tremendous care for her horses and has rescued many abandoned horses from near death. That may be the skinny horse the other reviewer saw - she was probably rescuing it (she also has retired horses that are out to pasture). My mom knows horses and says they all looked very healthy and she had obvious love for them. The horses were very gentle and friendly and she has sweet dogs (they bark at first but are very friendly) that run along side you. The views were beautiful and Melissa has a lot of knowledge about the geology and the history of the area. She was kind enough to line the horses up and take photos in the most scenic points of the trail. We had a really fun time and would definitely go back! One word of caution - if you don't have a four-wheel drive, park by the road and walk into the stables. Bring sunscreen, a hat, water and a small camera. On your way home she'll fill your water up for you. Great place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific for First Time & Inexperienced Riders”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had never been on a horse in my life, and my wife had several frightening experiences riding in the past. Riding with Melissa was great! She gave us what seemed like just the right amount of instruction on how to guide the horses and helped us out during the ride when we needed it. As someone else wrote, the horses know the trail, so we could concentrate on guiding the horses just a bit while we enjoyed the ride & the scenery. Melissa rescues many of the horses (along with her dogs that followed along while we rode) and after talking with her for quite a while (I like to actually talk to someone before making judgments), I'm convinced she is doing good work. Due to her location, she may not have her website working, and your GPS might not bring you there, but pack some water and your camera and give her a call!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I don't know if the previous reviewer actually rode the horses at Cieneguilla Stables but our family had an excellent ride there. Her love of her animals and New Mexico was apparent to us.The horses were responsive to her and her dogs followed along with us on the trail. She discouraged us from booking a riding time after lunch because of the heat and kept us entertained with facts about the flora,fauna, and history of the area. The horses are familiar with the route so you are more being carried along but since I am not a horsewoman that was fine - it gave me a chance to take in the sights. The trail is rocky but the views are outstanding. Her bridge has been washed out so we did have to park up at the top and walk down to her place.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank OklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No way”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We drove up to this place. I could see the horses' ribs from the road. FYI to people who don't know horsemanship, but if you can see a horse's ribs from 20 feet away, that horse scores an automatic 4 on the body condition index (Henke) and should not be worked AT ALL. He should put on about 50 lbs before being worked. We drove by this place three times that day. The horses had no hay in their dry lot at any time and they had their heads down looking for something to eat. Horses are grazing animals and they are not supposed to stand starving all day. It looked like two horses were drinking from a "stream" of ground water. Hate to think what that looked like. Alfalfa costs about $11 a bale so there is just no excuse for starving a horse, although it happens all the time. People who feed their own fat faces, starve their animals. It's just greed and exploitation and you don't have to support it. No need to support animal abuse. There ARE reputable stables in the Santa Fe general area. You can tell the reputable ones because they don't take their animals out in the heat of the day; and their animals are not rake thin. I'd love to see the area by horseback, but I do have some integrity. Unfortunately, the owners here do not.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank WeLuvHaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a lot of fun and very interesting”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Located just outside of Taos, Melissa is a great guide, very interesting. We had a great time and learned a lot about the region.

Helpful?
Thank travelintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cieneguilla Stables also viewed

Arroyo Seco, Taos County
San Cristobal, Taos County
 

Been to Cieneguilla Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing