We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kucera Ladies Rocked the Rio Grande with NM River Adventures”
Review of Rio Grande Gorge

Rio Grande Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$235.00*
and up
Rio Grande Gorge Balloon Ride
Ranked #35 of 140 things to do in Taos County
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 800-foot-deep gorge in northern New Mexico offers exciting whitewater rafting, hiking trails around the rim and observation platforms with spectacular views of the winding river below.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kucera Ladies Rocked the Rio Grande with NM River Adventures”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our corporate ladiies' trip to Santa Fe started with an afternoon float down the Rio Grande. Sean was our guide and he was excellent and keeping up upright and moving through the gorge. We had a blast and appreciated the water and snacks at the end. It was also nice to rest our paddling arms with a cool swim towards the end. The river may have been down but our spirits were up and we appreciate the people, equipment and friendliness of New Mexico River Adventures. A must do adventure for anyone of all ages when visiting the area!
G. Ruggiano

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanRuggiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“wonder”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to the Rio Grande Gorge to watch the release of turkey vultures and a golden eagle.
This was on the end of road 110 right before you get into Taos. It is beautiful there. Rough and rugged beauty. The thing I wondered about it is littered with gun shells and someone put trash over the edge of the gorge...Why??? The rangers said that sometimes it sounds like war out there with people shooting guns. This place could be beautiful without the trash and the gun shells.
I wonder without all the people who were out there for this event if it would be safe to be out there???

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NMHiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
272 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Excellent side trip from Taos”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were heading north on highway 68 from Santa Fe to ski in Taos when, on our right, a huge gash opened up in the desert plateau. It turned out that this was the famous Rio Grande running in a gorge into the mesa or Taos plateau. We made a point of visiting it on the way back after skiing in stead of passing through Taos. First we viewed the gorge from the bridge. It was late afternoon so most of the gorge was cast in shadow, though the river did glow below us, reflecting the bright afternoon sky. The river flowed 565 feet below the bridge. The bridge is almost 1300 feet in length. Sharp-eyed visitors spotted bighorn sheep grazing on the steep sides of the gorge. The view of the snow-capped Taos Mountains across the mesa is magnificent; there are no foothills of note and the mountains rise almost straight up from the plateau.

We then drove parallel to the gorge following the river downstream on route 567 and down some switchbacks into the gorge itself where it becomes route 570. We crossed a bridge at the bottom of the gorge where we saw the ramps the rafting companies would presumably use to launch their clients into the river. We drove along the river until the road rejoined highway 68 and we were back on our way to Santa Fe. Warning: this route becomes a dirt road starting at the switchback and can get very dusty especially with a vehicle in front of you. Do NOT take a low-clearance vehicle down here.

The obvious thought is that the Rio Grande eroded through the Taos plateau to create the gorge, but it turns out that this is actually a rift valley, a split created by movements of the continental plates in the earth's crust. The river essentially flowed into this rift and is undoubtedly cutting deeper into the plateau.

If you have the time when in Taos be sure to check out.the Rio Grande Gorge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, must see!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a must when traveling to the Taos area. Once out of town all you see is open land until all of a sudden this gorge opens up before you. Near Taos the Rio Grande River is just a flat lazy, drifting waterway. But then there is the gorge, beautiful, rugged and deep. Go across the bridge to the parking area and walk back. Locals set up tables here with their wares. There is also a rest stop just past the bridge. There is a trail from the rest stop that allows you to hike up the gorge. Don't miss this amazing work of nature.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank goldrushgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Wave Rafting Company - Great Time!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Did the Double Racecourse and had a blast!!!! First round was in the raft with the whole family (2 adults and three kids). Joe was our guide and absolutely terrific. For the afternoon, we went on the Funyaks and EVERYONE had a blast - including my wife who really isn't the outdoor type. It had started to rain on us and Joe was prepared with rain jackets. Safety is a big deal with this company - to include helmets for everyone (we appreciated this). Saw a couple other companies go down without them. We'll definitely be doing this again with New Wave.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Gorge also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Rio Grande Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing