We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Lartigolle
Nearby Hotels
Campanile Auch(Auch)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robinson(Auch)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Auch(Auch)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samaran(Seissan)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
125
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venueattention to detailwhole experienceevery aspectfrom start to finishrolling hillscrepesnothing is too much troublewedding guestslaid backevery mealdelicious foodwithout a doubtspecial thankscould not have been morefabulous experiencefour nights
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 125 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a wedding service at Lartigolle in June this year and we couldn’t have hoped for a more perfect day.

Lartigolle came to us through Susannah’s (the bride) sister. We were initially looking at venues in the UK, but once we had seen some photos of the Chateau we were almost convinced on these alone to book it as our wedding venue. We live in Australia so organising a wedding from the other end of the world was no easy task but Emma and Nick were just brilliant in getting things organised at their end and keeping us informed and up to date throughout the whole process. When we flew over to meet them and see the Chateau last September our minds were made up. They made us feel so welcome and really made the planning process stress free. A day of trying the local wines certainly helped too!

The venue itself is such a unique and memorable one, but for us, it was the warmth, generosity and attentiveness of Nick, Emma, Chris and Helen that made our wedding day and our stay at the Chateau so special. Nothing was too much for them and even when a spot of rain hit us on the wedding day they were kind enough to move the tables and chairs from the front courtyard down to the cellar, and then when the weather improved later in the afternoon they indulged us by moving them all back upstairs and out to the front again!

We couldn’t go without mentioning the food that we had both on the wedding day, the following day as a barbeque for our guests and also during our stay. Nick and Emma have a particular flair with food and the menu they produced really suited the location and style of our wedding. Seasonal, local ingredients really helped give the French feel and we were lucky to have our own seafood stand followed by a spit roasted pig for main course, what a treat!

Having the wedding ceremony overseas and asking everyone to travel to be with us is a big ask, but our guest all felt so appreciative to be there in such a unique location and everyone was in a great mood as they had all taken time out and made the trip into a holiday which we were thrilled about. We even had family members who traveled from Australia to be with us.

We decided to extend our stay around the wedding and had the Chateau for a week, a couple of days before and after the wedding. We cannot recommend doing this enough. You feel much more relaxed on the big day as you have had the days before to prepare and we would have been heartbroken if we had to leave on the Sunday after our celebrations so having a few extra days to enjoy the Chateau with friends and family was very special. The rooms are beautifully appointed, stylish, generous in size and very luxurious. Most of all, you just feel as if you are home, totally relaxed and chilled out!

The surrounding countryside and nearby Auch are delightful and we had the most amazing barbequed duck in the nearby restaurant Auberge de Rantaures, unforgettable! Toulouse airport being so close means that is really is doable for people traveling from the UK.

We hoped that our wedding day would always be special no matter where it was, but what we ended up with is a day that exceeded every expectation we had. This really is the perfect place to get married. Thank you so much for giving us this life long memory.

Rowan and Susannah Attenborough

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusannahAttenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We’ve just come back from a busy weekend in the South of France searching for a venue for our wedding next year. We met lots of people and saw many beautiful places, but without a doubt the experience that stood out the most was our meeting at Chateau Lartigolle.

We already knew from the excellent website and social media management that we were going to be dealing with a very professional enterprise, but Nick, Emma and Chris (the owners) were far more than just consummate professionals – they are excellent hosts and a formidable wedding planning team who are genuinely passionate about their business and their beautiful Chateau.

Over nine years, they’ve carefully crafted a strong reputation as a highly sought-after wedding venue in the Gers region. The Chateau has been renovated with a gentle and loving hand, eschewing pastiche for a traditional southern French style, leaving the simple beauty of the architecture and countryside to speak for itself. Carefully combining original features with stunning interior design, each highly unique room reveals a little more of the character and history of the 18th century building. Warmth and hospitality courses through the Chateau, which feels far more like an extraordinarily beautiful home than a commercial hotel. This is helped in part because it is just that – a home, not a hotel, as they only cater for groups, events and receptions and manage every detail themselves. Striking a delicate balance between a highly professional business and a homely relaxed environment is no easy task, but the hard-working proprietors manage this with ease.

We spent an extraordinary three hours at the Chateau, wandering through the rooms and grounds and savouring the delicious coffee and home-baked cake, before all of us sitting down and cracking open a bottle (or two) of their fabulous wines and going through the wedding proposal.

It is with much regret that we can’t have our wedding here due to reduced flights from the west of Ireland (Mr O’Leary has been cursed once or twice!), but if it was somehow possible to physically move the Chateau, we would certainly be scheduling a return trip with deposit in hand.

In short, if you’re thinking of having your wedding in the South of France, your research isn’t complete until you’ve made an appointment with Chateau de Lartigolle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our wedding experience this August is almost impossible to put into words. We will do our best though.

The beauty of Chateau Lartigolle has to be seen to be believed. The same level of exceptional care, expertise and creativity that Emma, Chris and Nick have put into this magical venue was transferred into every aspect of our wedding and the entire stay.

Every component was personalised to us and our particular needs in finite detail.

Our family have been brought closer together by the whole experience. All of our friends are still raving about both the wedding day and the following day informal BBQ party.

The food was simply out of this world. Chris, Emma and Nick's culinary expertise and passion combined with the regions finest produce was a perfect formula. The whole chateau team were immaculate, professional and bubbly. Helen the housekeeper (and worlds most glamourous grandmother) turned up with the finest fresh bread, croissants and pastries every morning. Just one of the many magical touches!

The memories we have could not have been created in the finest hotel in the world! The comedy tennis matches, impromptu guest piano playing and singing and family come dine with me contest, to name just a few.

There are hundreds of amazing things about the chateau lartigolle but the top three are without doubt Nick, Chris and Emma.

We cannot thank you enough for creating the most special week of our lives.

Jason and Nicole

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from our wedding at Chateau Lartigolle and we are still on a high, it really was the best weekend of our lives!

We we engaged at the end of January and then we had the task of looking for a wedding venue when I stumbled across some pictures of Chateau Lartigolle. Immediately, I knew that was it, I didn't even look at another venue, I just knew it was the place for us, we had found a hidden gem.

We had 2 trips out to the Chateau, one in February and one in May for our tasting. Every time we visited the Chateau, it was even more beautiful than before. Emma, Nick and Chris, our wonderful hosts, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. They own the Chateau together and you can see that they have poured their hearts and souls into it as it is truly stunning!

We arrived on the Thursday before our wedding which gave us time to settle in before the troops arrived Friday. When they did arrive, Emma and her wonderful staff laid a long table under the trees in the courtyard with traditional french cloths, potted herbs and plenty of rose, it was the most delicious lunch and the perfect start to the weekend.

That evening, we took all of our friends and family to Cafe le France in the nearby town of Auch where we all met up for dinner and drinks. This was all pre booked by Lartigolle. We had told them that we were going to be 40 but when our guests arrived and realised that they could all get involved it turned into a dinner for 80! Cafe le France were brilliant and didn't even bat an eyelid, they just carried on and we were all fed and watered for a mere 25 Euros.

On the day of the wedding the atmosphere was very relaxed. The incredible staff that the Chateau hire were incredible. They busied around us in their very smart breton tops, preparing the courtyard for our ceremony and dinner and still had time to put together another lovely lunch for me and my mates of honour. After much relaxing and champagne it was time to get ready.

As all of us girls came downstairs ready for the ceremony, we caught a glimpse of the courtyard. All of our guests we seated under the big tree bathed in dappled sunlight,the setting was magical.

There rather unconventional ceremony went brilliantly, that I think was down to the fact that our self ordained minister and our congregation were so enthusiastic. They all brought the house down with, Islands in the Stream ( boys singing Kenny and Girls singing Dolly) and Bonnie Tyler's total eclipse of the heart. Who says a non religious ceremony has to be dull?

All of our guests were then ushered through to the back terrace of the Chateau where everyone enjoyed, Nick's very refreshing champagne with ginger and lime and the guests loved the incredible canapes, made by Nick and Emma. Duck blinis ,foie gras and boudon noir to name a few and all of this against the breathtaking view of the rolling hills of Pessan.

When it finally came to sitting down to dinner, our guests were greeted with tables laden with the most delicious food. Social starters of pork, salmon and hummous followed by mouth watering lamb cooked by one of the locals. The meal continued with home made cake, berries and macaroons, that Emma had the local patisserie make especially for us, she even had the colour of them matched to our flowers! We had non stop wine flowing all evening, there wasn't an empty glass all night!

The night then escalated into the best party I have ever been to. Yes is was our wedding and yes I am probably biased but we literally had to drag people off the dance floor to the buses at 2.30am, no one wanted to go home!!!

I could go on and on and recount more of the many tales from the weekend as we all carried on our celebrations right through until the early hours of Monday morning but my review would read more like a very long essay.

Just to sum things up, this really was the most incredible and special place to get married. We could not have found anywhere better to celebrate our bid day. If anyone is looking for a venue to get married at then Chateau de Lartigolle is it. Emma, Chris and Nick are experts in their jobs being the bests hosts/ cooks and interior designers. Don't even think twice, book it, you'll have the best weekend of your life!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning an unique but I loved the woodcutters room at the front of the Chateau for its beautiful decor and the beautiful sunshine that shone in all day.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The most beautiful wedding setting for our Brother and Sister in law, peaceful and relaxing. Every meal was delicious and plentiful, service was excellent, always with a smile, we felt right at home after only a short time of arriving. Would absolutely recommend to anyone wanting to be married there. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews