We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de L'Ile
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
La Terrasse(Meyronne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Grangier Hotel(Saint-Sozy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
16
46
31
16
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
46
31
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdordogne riverbubblinginternetterracevillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at this pleasant hotel after a walk over from Carennac on a walking holiday in May. The room was adequate with a very nice view and the evening meal was very good with excellent service from a young lady who probably was from this pretty village. Sadly it lost points because of a rather uncommunicative, unhelpful bar/reception/whatever man we encountered as soon as we arrived (my wife does speak French very well by the way!) Whilst we enjoyed a couple of beers outside after a hot day's walk, we asked him had our cases arrived - "that has nothing to do with me - I look after the bar" but then popped up at reception to book us in! We encountered him again at breakfast when he unlocked the breakfast room door, then promptly disappeared without as much as a "Bonjour", leaving guests to discover what was available and where it could be found. It's a shame that one person can spoil what could be a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the begining of a walking holidai in the Dordogne.Lovely Auberge with a beatuiful outside terrace set in a stunning village.Bedrooms a bit tired but were clean .Had a very nice dinner in the resaurant where the food and service were of a good standard.Breakfast was poor ,buffet style with limited choice and coffee out of a machine.At times the general ambiance from the owners left a lot to be desired it felt like you were a bother for being there rather than you are a guest and they are there to offer you a service.Its a small point but it has to be made.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at the Auberge de L'ile while hiking in the Dordogne region. It is a refuge from noise and traffic, with a little stream bubbling nearby. The rooms are clean, comfortable and simple. I had a drink in the treed and sunny courtyard. The dining room is excellent, specialising in duck and goose flesh, the speciality of the region. One has a strong sense of tranquillity there. The hosts are welcoming and the hotel itself exudes warmth. Well worth some time there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feodor_Dostoevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel offers a quiet place to stay. the hotel is adjacent to a wonderful old village with a church perched atop a hill with views across the Dordogne River. The rooms are perhaps a little old fashioned but like the whole hotel are spotlessly clean. Food was good with quite generous portions for France.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Excellent and peacefull place. A simple, clean and calm Logis de France over looking a gorgeous romantic little village in the shadows of old church towers. The Dordogne river is 200 yards away with a lovely rocky beach but if you prefer the hotel pool is also available. Food is traditional - with duck everywhere - but really good.

A great place on the way to Rocamadour or Padirac Cave, far from crowded turist places. Note that Creysse is very small. There is a local market once a week wich is really nice but don't expect to have a drink after 10 pm ! Including the hotel where they switch the terrasse lights off at 9:45 pm !

An invitation to wake up early and enjoy the lovely footpathes all around.

We stayed there on our way to the south of France and decided to stop a few more days on our way back. And we still loved it.

9  Thank Frenchie-Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews