We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with superb food”
Review of Logis La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis La Residence
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Val-d'Ajol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stayed at La Residence three times and highly recommend it to friends. The rooms in the main building are comfortable and well appointed. The rooms in the annexe aren't quite as nice, but still pretty good. The food in the restaurant is outstanding with a good choice of menus and prices. Every time I have had an amazing meal. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 269 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Region is interesting.

Hotel is more or less as other reviewers say. Restaurant is not bad, although not great either.

Room decoration, although fairly new, is not really up to date. Quite wishy washy and cheap. Noise from some fan outside.

Still probably the best address in that area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

As a holiday hotel in the Vosges, for a get away from it all break it is ideal. We went half board with a room in the Orangerie. The set dinner was excellent - no choice on starter and main course but it suited us and was well presented and very tasted. Big cheese and dessert choice.
Rooms were not large but everything you need (unless you want an English tv channel)
The staff were friendly and delightful

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I have written reviews of my previous visits, the most recent being June 2008. This remains our favourite hotel where we once again were welcomed for our 5 night stay as friends rather than guests.

This time (because of the Euro strength) we opted for the slightly cheaper Relais Fleurie annexe which is about 100m from the main building, set well back from the road and with parking in front.

We had been recommended a ground floor room at the front by guests who we had met last year, so knew that this family room was fairly spacious with separate bathroom (shower over bath) and toilet. There was plenty of space to put things down and the second single bed made a handy extra space for clothes etc. The room was showing signs of age when we visited but was clean and decorated in a simple French style of perhaps 15 years ago, but with fitted carpet. In fact the owners have started to refurbish the rooms in the 'Relais' and were surprised we had not picked one of the new ones. We saw one of these and they are quite nice French style chic.

The 'Relais' has 2 wheelchair accessible newly refurbished rooms with their own mini-terrace.

The 1/2 board food was as good as usual, but on Sunday night the restaurant was closed because there were so few guests. However, we were sent to Restaurant du So (owned by one of the Hotel's family) in the village less than 10 minutes walk away and were treated to an excellent 3 course meal without restriction from the menu and included in our 1/2 board rate at the hotel. They are well know locally for their pizzas cooked in a wood fired pizza oven in sight of the dining room.

For lunch, when we were in the village we bought savouries and cakes from a boulangerie and ate them in the lovely garden behind the hotel.

This hotel suits our taste. We have not always had the best rooms to suit us, but we have always been comfortable. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Nice quiet hotel, very clean set in beautiful grounds. We stayed in the annexe which was modernised but with some final touches needed. Rooms were spacious. Award winning restaurant is worth a try. Retractable roof over the pool so ideal for all weathers. Small sauna but nice and relaxing.
Val D'ajol village is small and only a short walk from the hotel. It has a supermarket for any essentials. The sports bar has friendly staff and the Italian restaurant has good food.
Having a car is essential.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

There are 3 buildings which make up the accomodation at La Residence, the main house being the most expensive and you would think therefore the nicest rooms. We booked for 3 days and had it not been for the superb restaurant would have left after one night. The room we were put in for our romantic get away was a family room in the attic! It could quite literally been in a travelodge. It was clean with a decent bathroom, but had no dressing table and when we asked about changing rooms were met with an insulent gaelic shrug to say they were full, which quite evidently they were not.

Consequently we did not use the lovley looking pool or enjoy the expansive gardens as we spent all day out and about until dinner. We ate at the restaurant all 3 nights which you would have thought would count for something, but there was no apology forthcoming for our room, which when we saw the regular rooms in the house only made us wish we had seen them before we settled the bill. The other rooms were spaceous, idillic french bedrooms and worth every euro and I would have refused to pay the bill and negotiated a reduction.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frostymij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank savi0la123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Val-d'Ajol
17.2 mi away
Hotel les Buttes
Hotel les Buttes
#1 of 3 in Ventron
333 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Vigotte
La Vigotte
#1 of 1 in Girmont Val d'Ajol
196 reviews
17.4 mi away
Domaine du haut jardin
Domaine du haut jardin
#1 of 1 in Rehaupal
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel La Jamagne
Hotel La Jamagne
#3 of 18 in Gerardmer
283 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Les Vallees
Hotel Les Vallees
#3 of 9 in La Bresse
344 reviews
24.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Sophie
Les Jardins de Sophie
#2 of 6 in Xonrupt-Longemer
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Residence

Address: 5 rue des Mousses, 88340 Le Val-d'Ajol, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Vosges > Le Val-d'Ajol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Val-d'Ajol
Price Range: $88 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Logis La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Residence France/Vosges - Lorraine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing