We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! Stay here!! So Chilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Came here with my husband for our first year anniversary. We absolutely loved it.

- We will miss the pool first of all.. such a chilled environment and pool DJ plays great music
- The hotel restaurant does amazing breakfasts which are included in the price
- Service is excellent and the check- in was a wonderful experience
- We got upgraded from the deluxe balcony room to the sala pool villas was was awesome!
- The rooms are amazing and they've thought of everything
- The spa treatments are awesome and expensive like all other resorts
- The beach is lovely and clean and free from hawkers trying to sell you stuff.
( if you like patong beach and the crowded feeling with many people on the beach this place is not for you)
- there are massage places you can go to that are on the beach where it is 400 bhat so that you are not having to pay top dollar at the spa
- Did I mention we will really miss the pool :-) so lush
- Staff are super friendly and have been trained really well
- We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalitaStables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
There are newer reviews for SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

How to start, well put it like this: My girlfriend and me we normally like to travel around and actually see the places where we go to, culture, local attractions, nature, all those things. We did book 7 nights in one pool villa (the bigger ones, 72) to have a basis to explore Phuket and we ended up staying 6 of those 7 days completely in the hotel.

The design is quite minimalistic and modern (especially compared with Thai standards) but does a great job in slowing down and relaxing. That was the most describing word here. Nothing was in a hurry, it was very quiet all the time and the service was very friendly and attentive.
The private pool was big enough for two people to do lanes at the same time and the privacy you enjoy is wonderful. There is enough space inside as well but we really liked the huge mirror in the outside bath, giving you a feeling of even more room. Two TV sets (they have a good choice of programs but we only watched 30 minutes)a good minibar and very nice amenities (you get your personal choice which ones you prefer)....

Actually we both could not find anything that we would improve upon (and we are picky, see other reviews) but the permanently running pool pump.

The food was great and as we had half board it was actually full worth the value even though food and drinks are on european standards generally. Be careful, if you ask for spicy you get it spicy. A great breakfast in the morning with fresh fruits and cereals from the buffet and some hot menus as well and the dinner was always three course and they did not save on the ingredients. Being a good eater it was a lot but I could not stop since it tasted all so well. You have to taste the chocolate tarte. The menu they set up for you at request at a special place, simply make sure you are hungry.

The pool area is very big so many people never came down to the sea which is a pity since the beach is wonderful, nice clean sand and easy to get into the water.

Turtle village is nothing special but has a good supermarket for food and drinks and you get there for free.

All in all a perfect place to relax and do nothing but to enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We returned to Sala Phuket for 3 nights and had the same delightful experience. For me Sala Phuket is one of the best resorts in Phuket.

This time we stayed in the pool villa which is actually huge with a bathtub nestled at the end of your lap pool (and you can actually do laps in the pool) With the entire open air bathroom including a day bed, you feel so much in holiday mood.
During the day/happy hour they had a DJ with great beach music or a jazz band. Food again was really nice, staff was attentive, breakfast was delicious with a small buffet with fruits and cereals and a menu of which you could choose your main dish.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay and next time in Phuket we will be staying here again!!

PS Try the 'Head Above' spa treatment at the beach sala - heavenly

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I went with my wife after we got married in 3 days, we spent there 4 days and it was amazing stay, we were sad leaving it.

everything was outstanding and we will visit Sala again...

really its my best stay ever.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlAAZAGHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The place is of a very modern design - we had a pool villa, which was quite nice, but in the end felt like a prison as the villa was surrounded by high walls. This was done for privacy, but the effect was stifling, so we hardly stayed in our own pool area, preferring the common areas.
Sleep quality was not too good. All the machinery was noisy, including the minibar. There was a constant hum form the outside, presumably from AC machinery. The AC was too powerful and aimed straight at the bed, with the result of rendering one sick. The fans in the room were also too fast - even at lowest speed, they felt as if they were about to take off. OUr room was located close to a service access door, and this frequently opened and closed with loud clanging noises.
The biggest letdown, was the service in the restaurant/bar and the variety of food/produce offered. Staff needed more training, service was generally very slow or with mistakes. Food quality was excellent, but there was not much variation, nor was there any extra touches that would elevate this beyond the mundane (eg no biscotti or cookie with expresso, no canapes with drinks etc..). We went for dinner once to the close by Anantara, and that was in a totally different league.
There was annoying chill-out music going on most of the time, which spoilt the beautiful scenery and nice mood at sunset.
My partner tried the spa and said that it was really excellent. She thought it was in a different category than the rest and wondered if it was under separate management.
This might sound totally negative, but most of the issues can be easily fixed with a bit of attention from management and some touches that one expects in a 5 star place. The noise issues in the rooms are possibly more difficult to solve.
Finally, there were some rude and annoying kids to guests and staff running around. This place is not suitable for kids and perhaps the resort should discourage children under a certain age,

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I loved the villa, especially the jacuzzi in the balcony. The pool was beautiful, only some steps to the beach, white sand, quite...perfect for couples. The food and cocktails were great and prices were not exagerated. The breakfast a la carte offered a great variety. Spent only one night in my way to Phi Phi Island and definitely will come back for at least a week so we have more time to enjoy and relax in this beautiful place.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank AnaLuciaLoaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

we stayed at sala phuket for 5 nights, expecting a relaxing beach holiday before we went to singapure & hong kong on business. mai khao beach was the right choice; quiet beach, beautiful sea and spectacular sunsets...sala resort was far from being the right choice however! the botique resort had families with children (we were expecting a serene, romantic atmosphere), all running around & screaming by the pool, at the restaurant, ... at one point it got so bad that we spent more than half of the day in our room & ended up leaving dinner early. the rooms were poorly planned with the ac hitting you directly on the bed, and making too much noise; the choice was either to boil & sweat at night or to freeze to loud humming. also, the privacy of the pool villas are achieved via high grey wood walls, making you feel claustrophobic. the service by the pool & at the restaurant was terrible- slow & confused, every day! the music choice was completely off; a very loud chill out, fitting a party beach at ibiza, rather than a beautiful exotic sunset at phuket. the only good things that made our stay bearable were 1) the taste of the tai dishes (bravo chef), and 2) the massage at the spa. i would strongly urge you to consider another resort in the same area if you are looking for a pampering holiday alone or as a couple.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank april68istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
704 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $134 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing