We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Villas, very modern design, great ambient around the pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Villas, very modern design, great ambient around the pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

I loved the villa, especially the jacuzzi in the balcony. The pool was beautiful, only some steps to the beach, white sand, quite...perfect for couples. The food and cocktails were great and prices were not exagerated. The breakfast a la carte offered a great variety. Spent only one night in my way to Phi Phi Island and definitely will come back for at least a week so we have more time to enjoy and relax in this beautiful place.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnaLuciaLoaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    328
    98
    21
    23
See reviews for
196
992
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

we stayed at sala phuket for 5 nights, expecting a relaxing beach holiday before we went to singapure & hong kong on business. mai khao beach was the right choice; quiet beach, beautiful sea and spectacular sunsets...sala resort was far from being the right choice however! the botique resort had families with children (we were expecting a serene, romantic atmosphere), all running around & screaming by the pool, at the restaurant, ... at one point it got so bad that we spent more than half of the day in our room & ended up leaving dinner early. the rooms were poorly planned with the ac hitting you directly on the bed, and making too much noise; the choice was either to boil & sweat at night or to freeze to loud humming. also, the privacy of the pool villas are achieved via high grey wood walls, making you feel claustrophobic. the service by the pool & at the restaurant was terrible- slow & confused, every day! the music choice was completely off; a very loud chill out, fitting a party beach at ibiza, rather than a beautiful exotic sunset at phuket. the only good things that made our stay bearable were 1) the taste of the tai dishes (bravo chef), and 2) the massage at the spa. i would strongly urge you to consider another resort in the same area if you are looking for a pampering holiday alone or as a couple.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april68istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Although it is the start to the High Tourist Season, it has been raining every single day in Phuket.We stayed at Patong before moving over to the Sala.
Its about an hour taxi ride away and cost about 700bht.
Sala is located at a really secluded area which is great to chill & get away from the crowd.
Other wise, there really isnt much to do!

In short heres what I love & dlikes
Love:
- Great for chilling & getting away from the mass crowd
- No outside vendors
- Fast check in with choice of pillows & shower amentities
- Private Sala Pool Villa ( the outdoor bath area was awesome)
- Two infinity pool ( which I used more than my in villa pool)
- There was only 1 pool staff but he was great!! He literally had to attend to every guests who
were sprawled out all over the pool grounds. Arranging deck chairs, towels, opening up the
salas,ordering/serving food etc. He was pretty efficient.
( think his name was jung or something)
- Great food at the restaurant. Breakfast selection was heavenly.

Dislikes:
- Too many mosquitoes, flies & insects.
- The villa grounds are not well maintained
- My "new" bedsheets/ towels were mostly all stained. ( big dark brownish stains)
- The pillows or maybe the blanket had an annoying moist mushy smell
- The in room lightings are pretty dimmed which gave an extremely "strange" and
uncomfortable vibe. ( i had nightmare of the room one night. it was simply strange ! )
- Staffs aint very well versed in English which posed a problem especially when you had to
keep repeating what you want to the them. ( I requested for them to remove the stained sheets
& blankets but nothing was done)

Ok, this final feedback is a total letdown.
For the kind of money I spent, I should be treated equally just like other guests of various nationalities.
- I was at the Sala Restaurant for dinner.
The service staff that came to take our orders was not only rude but impatient.
After ordering our mains, I told her give me 1 sec as I want to make sure I had ordered the
minced pork dish. She shot me an impatient look & apologise with a sour face & simply
walked off !!! ( all whilst I was still talking to her)
After the mains, she came over and started to clear the table.
By this time, we had finished our drinks. So we politely asked her for the drinks menu, she
nodded with her impatient "smile" again & walked off.
After walking away, she promptly attended to another table who had also requested for the
menu. She gave them theirs.
Ours never arrived !!
In no way, the restaurant was under staffed. They seems to pay more attention to the rest
of the guests other than us.
We were there for a good hour & a half, so we definitely spent time observing how their
service was!
It was all smiles to the other guests but not to us.
Overall, the food was great.
But this particular staff & lack of service marred the entire evening for us.
This is not what we paid for!
And a 5 star resort should know better.


( This review may sound pretty critical but it was really what happened. I have stayed in many beach resorts in Thailand & this is the first time I had experinced this kind of service in a 5 star resort. If a hotel werent that fancy & beautiful, great service can make it all up for a traveler. However, if the services were horrid, no amount of beautiful pools, rooms etc can make up to it!! We take home great memories & that includes Great Service! )

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roarsohard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

This was our first hotel on our honeymoon and we had a great stay. The welcome after our extremely long trip was wonderful and during the rest of our stay we kept seeing other couples with that "we've arrived" look on their faces when they got there. Within twenty minutes we had almost forgot we had been awake for nearly 36 hours.

We found the whole experience to be very relaxed and we loved going for short walks around the grounds and down to the beach. The food in the restaurant was wonderful and we never thought about trying anywhere else - the breakfasts especially were superb!

we were upgraded on our arrival to a pool villa and this was amazing. The room itself was extremely spacious and we loved the novelty of the outside toilet - we're from Scotland - it's cold here! Having your own pool was such a lovely thing too and we both became quite aquatic!

The staff were great and we went for a cooking lesson which we both loved even though they couldn't understand why we didn't want extra spicy. The spa was also pretty amazing and we loved being pampered.

The weather was a bit changeable but we were there during the rainy season so it was to be expected - in fact sitting in the restaurant watching the lightening far out to sea was pretty cool.

The only small thing was our laptop was hacked into while using the free wi-fi - partly this was our fault but a big tip would be to make sure you don't do any internet banking or other such stuff while using the wi-fi. Big learning curve for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I'll try to keep this brief!

Spent 9 days at Sala. Enjoyed it very much....

Hotel design is new and different. Some people thought it was a bit enclosed - I really liked it. Stayed in Deluxe room, which was quite small inside but had a large outside area. This worked better than we thought, although it was pain having to draw the curtains every time you wanted a shower or to go to the loo. Not a major snag, but mildly annoying! The bed was very comfortable and we slept well every night. Room service was good, too. They come in twice a day and in the evening provide a little health drink and light your mossie coil outside for you -= nice little touches.

Service - throughout the hotel was excellent. From the front desk staff, through to the pool staff and the waiting staff was superb.

Pool area - excellent also. Two really nice pools in a nice grassy area. Various bats and balls are provided for entertainment as well. It is very close to the beach - just a 20 metre walk. The beach itself is very pretty but it is quite steep and not really good for walking along. The sea is pretty rough, too, and I personally did no more than paddle. There's quite a lot of ants in the grassy area, some of which bite your feet. So keep your sandals on!!

Food - a la carte breakfast was included and it was superb. Only downside at breakfast was all the flies outside, but you can sit inside if they bother you in order to avoid them. Or try to sit under a fan outside where they don t seem to go so much. Anyway, they don t seem to bother most people at all.Must be me!!

Ate dinner there twice and it was fantastic both times. Its pretty expensive, I suppose, so we often took the free tuk tuk to turtle village to eat there. Theres a pub and a coffee club, both of which sereve good food. There are also a few shacks right next to the hotel. Ate there once and enjoyed it. But they're more expensive than the Coffe CLub Thai food, and there's obviously a difference in cleanliness between the two,meaning I opted for the coffe club more.

Overall, I ithink we actually found the sala a little too isolated. Of course, this is not the fault of the hotel!! If you want an incredibly quiet and chilled holiday then this is the place. If you want somewhere where you can have a short walk to some bars and restaurants then I'd suggest somewhere like Twin Palms in Surin.
The rooms at Sala really are lovely, and the staff superb. The bar/pool/restaurant area is beatifully equipped and totally relaxing. It won't really matter if you go for one of the 'cheaper' deluxe rooms as we never had any issues with overcrowding in the pool or around the sunbeds. Oh, finally, we had a one hour couples massage in the spa. It was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratnumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Pros:
Great location - secluded on a long quiet stretch of Mai Khao beach.
Booked the Spa package for 3 nights - amazing deal.
Beautifully appointed rooms and villas. Spectacular resort design and landscaping.
There is only 1 hotel restaurant/bar serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great food! Breakfast was included.
2 pool areas and plenty of room for sunbathing and swimming.
Stunning spa and spa services. I had therapist Noi 3 days in a row for massages!
Free wifi.

Cons:
Flies everywhere.
Upon check-out, we had several misplaced charges to our bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom pool villa and came away with mixed feelings on the Sala.
First of all the villas are gorgeous! The outdoor bathroom and private pools are wonderfully exotic and make a fantastic romantic getaway, truly relaxing!
We used the hotel transfer to/from the resort which was very good. Drivers were extremely polite and offered water, cold towels and made sure you were comfortable.
Check-in went smoothly. Porters were very good and at the end of our stay came and weighed our bags for us before we left as we were concerned we'd gone overweight due to the amount of shopping we'd done. Our accommodation package we got included a couples massage at the spa which was lovely except the spa itself lacked alot of the pre and post treatment services offered by other hotel spas ie pre-treatment spa baths, showers etc and post treatment relaxation rooms. Housekeeping was generally excellent with the pools and grounds being cleaned everyday aswell as the rooms. Had only one problem with housekeeping, but it took talking to 2 different staff members at guest services for them to understand that I needed our sheets changed as the ones that were put on had holes and stains on them. The free tuk-tuk service to turtle village is good and the pub and supermarket are good value aswell as a nice change from the hotel restaurant.
However what let down our stay was the service at the resort (mainly the restaurant and bar) which was not up to the standard of high class hotels. While the staff were extremely friendly they lacked consistency and we unfortunately had problems with almost every meal we had there. Part was due to the language barrier, if you wanted to vary from the menu there was difficulty understanding what we wanted and would either end up with not what we'd ordered or being told it could not be done ie bar menu had tapas but we just wanted a bowl of fries but were told they could only do tapas. An hour later and another staff member and it was no problem. Other problems were lack of drink service to the day beds in the bar despite excess staff being available behind the bar, having to wait 20min for the bill at the end of the meal etc which are all pretty minor but when you're paying what you are to stay there you expect things to go a little more smoothly.
All in all we had a very relaxing stay but if your expecting 5 star service then improvement is still needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seethenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing