We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow....Bliss! A must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow....Bliss! A must!”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

What a fantastic hotel! Only good things to share with you on this property. Mai Khao Beach is a long stretch (17 KM) and surprisingly empty...a sanctuary for breeding turtle, perfect for a nice swim. Located
The hotel has 2 swimming pools (and your private pool in your villa), a fancy restaurant and a lounge bar. The SPA is fantastic. DVD library, Business Center, great Breakfast, try the Sala Breakfast!!
The only bad thing is all around Phuket, beware of the Taxi Mafia...they will charge you 500THB to travel somewhere.
The hotel is located 25 minutes away from the pier of organized trip to Koh Phi Phi...
Really Nice staff & Service!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmauffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    348
    102
    23
    24
See reviews for
214
1,043
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

It was our first trip to thailand and we were searching for the same 5star quality asian hotel as we have experienced it a year before in bali / indonesia.

this hotel is a trendy, luxury hotel with a quite untypical design for thailand - there is not much local influence, the architecture is cool, international and reduced to the minimum. the location is simply perfect, a beach in the middle of nowhere with really no people. sometimes we were completely alone on a 4 km white beach.

we had a pool suite with a really nice private pool and in general the villa was perfect. an outside shower, a pool where you can really swim. the things that werent so nice is that the villa has some signs of age already, although the hotel has open just some years ago. we got the opinion that the hotel doesnt really care for renovating things. just with some small investments and regular taking care of the furniture, etc. the hotel could look way better. this was the first signal for us that the hotel is nice, but the quality of the staff / management poor.

it was our honeymoon and since we had experienced a honeymoon welcome in a hotel in bangkok with an upgrade, a cake, champaign, nicely prepared room, etc. we expected the same here. however, nothing was done and when we asked for it we got a bottle of champaign and thats it. so again, with some small things the atmosphere could be much nicer.

the same things happened regarding service in general. if you have never been to any 5 star asian hotel you will be very happy, however if you have experienced any other hotel you will see that the service in sala is poor. here are some examples

- at the dinner usually the staff wasnt able to understand proper English. we had to repeat every order twice or three times and were then still delivered with the wrong drinks or food
- when using one of the longchairs in other hotels usually the staff is helping with preparing the towels etc. - at sala you have to do it by yourself, only sometimes some guard is helping
- free water is not delivered on a regular basis, once i even had to get one at the bar since the waiters are not coming on a regular basis
- twice we were at the bar, waiting for a waiter to come, however the were busy with preparing drinks for the restaurant so they couldnt serve us

in general the location is nice, however it is very difficult to get to other locations. the hotel is charging enourmous prices to go to e.g. patong. the local taxis are not cheaper and we had the feeling that it is kind of a "cartel" trying to lock you in in expensive restaurants.

we heard from guests in other hotels that the philosophy of their hotel is to help guests to access other locations as well. this was the same for us in bali and we were very angry that sala is abusing their location.

we found a really nice restaurant then right next to our hotel which was much much cheaper than the hotel restaurant and had really good quality as well.

regarding the food in the hotel we can only say that it was really good, however very expensive. the wine list is fine, however the waiter wasnt able to open the bottle properly and we saw other guests that were served the wrong wine twice (even after complaining the first time the waiter brought a wrong bottle again).

we wont come back to this hotel since we are searching for perfect service for this price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_zAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Overall, a fabulous small spa/hotel, away from the crowds of Phuket, with sensational staff, lovely villas and pretty much all you need for a complete de-stress in the sun.
The accommodation was great - a private villa with its own pool, spacious open air bathroom and sitting area. Definitely worth the slightly higher price than the accommodation in the main block. Only slight criticism of the room was the lack of any shelving for clothes storage, and just one ugly (small) set of drawers.
There was superb, smiling service everywhere you went. Really, really impressive.
Food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced (alcohol, especially wine, expensive), and there's a pretty lengthy menu, which is a good thing since the resort is some distance from towns (though not too far from a couple of similar standard hotels where you could go to eat).
The spa itself was excellent - a good variety of treatments, accomplished and skilled masseuses (whose diminutive stature belies some incredible strength to tackle gym-battered muscles) , and good value (better prices than in UK, and much better quality of treatments).
Also impressive was that although they could take advantage of their upmarket status and relatively remote location with high prices in the shop/spa, they don't. In fact after losing my sunglasses I was very pleasantly surprised to be able to get an acceptable replacement pair for an incredibly reasonable price of £15. Everything else in there was also well-priced.
One or two quibbles - despite excellent requests for information ahead of our arrival so everything could be arranged ahead of time, the reception staff were very slow on check-in (asking for full room payment before being given a key was a new experience), and they asked all the questions they'd already covered in the advance questionnaire.
More annoyingly, several elements of the included 7 day package were forgotten (bottle of sparkling wine on arrival), not organised (complimetary spa booking and dinner), or cancelled with no notice (Thai cooking class). That said, once pointed out to the duty manager, the apologies were full and sincere, everything was promptly rectified, and we were given complimentary spa treatments as a gesture of goodwill. So a good recovery by them. But my tip would be to ensure you get all you've paid for, as they might inadvertently overlook some elements.
Only other critique - too many children in the last few days (which coincided with the start of the Easter break). Not really the place for kids, and they definitely changed the atmosphere.
But those small points aside - book it and go enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Sala resort is magical! Having never been to Phuket, we decided to get married at the Sala and we were not disappointed by our choice. It was perfect in every way, the location was remote and romantic, the staff were so friendly and the food was phenomenal. Our wedding day was everything we hoped for and more. The ceremony set up on the beach was beautiful, the staff were so attentive and our guests commented that their glasses were never empty of wine and water during the reception. The food was absolutely superb and the coconut soup should not be missed on your visit-a big thank you to Juan and all of his staff for the amazing food served.
The most impressive part of this resort is how remote it is. It really is a place to get away from it all and relax. The Sala Spa was beautiful and I had the best massage I’ve ever had here. I only wish we had more time to indulge in other treatments.
The sunset should not be missed and the beach is beautiful and picturesque. Anyone thinking of getting married here and staying here, you will not be disappointed!
The rooms were big and the bed is comfortable. The Sala kindly upgraded us to a one bedroom villa and having your own private pool is such a treat. The outdoor bathroom is gorgeous.
A very big thank you to all of the staff at the Sala for their friendliness, their constant smiles and their kindness. Thank you especially to Khun Pla for organising our beautiful wedding and to Stuart, Juan, Tibor and Jon, thank you for making our stay and our wedding so special. We hope to see you for our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoore08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We spent a week (7 nights) at Sala Phuket and really didn't want to leave. I mean really. We even considered changing our flights and staying an extra week.

One of the joys of staying a whole week was that we actually got to really enjoy the place. Over the weekend, the place seemed to get a little busier and there were slightly more of the beautiful people around the pool, but it never seemed crowded. It also meant we sampled many of the theme nights, all of which were very good. On our last night we decided at the last minute to stay for the Thai night. We were concerned that it might be a bit clichéd, but were pleasantly surprised... and the food - there was SO much.

We had a Sala Pool Villa, so we never actually managed to get into the main pool. The villa was well worth it. Very private high walls, your own pool and outdoor shower and bathroom. The privacy was glorious, although the villas are close together, so you can hear your neighbours occasionally. One small frustration was that all the doorbells sound the same, so sometimes when the neighbour's bell went, you had to get up and put on a robe/clothes (well it IS a private villa) and answer the door to find no-one there. The freshly made herbal tea and lit lemongrass oil burner with the turndown service was a daily highlight. Very large and comfortable bed and lovely linen. One of those plug-in insect repellent strips was provided.

There are quite a few small steps up and down scattered irregularly around the villa, so for the first few days we had a couple of small trips (even when we hadn't been indulging in sunset cocktails). Word of warning though - the tiles around the pool are VERY slippery when wet. It's mentioned in another review, but the cheap and flimsy matting that has been put down is more of a hindrance than a help.

Food was very, very good. We ate most days at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner and were never disappointed. Service was good (not excellent - a little slow at times on spotting guests wanting another drink), the food a good mix of Thai and western and always delicious, well prepared and presented.

The spa is excellent, and we had a number of treatments, including the couples massage. I had the Thai/shiatsu combination and my girlfriend had the Swedish. Both were very good, undertaken by experienced and well trained masseuses. The spa itself is very well appointed, and a good range of treatments. A very relaxing and luxurious environment.

Would I return? We've already booked for later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon - and it was amazing. From the moment we made the booking we were sent an email asking us to complete a few questions in order to make our trip extra special. We were asked how we liked our pillows, to the type of scents we wanted our towels to smell like! It was brilliant!!

Once we arrived, the hotel itself is very unique and luxurious. It has a very tranquil feeling to it with it so you instantly feel relaxed and calm the moment you step foot inside.

The staff are very friendly and speak fluent English. This came in handy when we asked them about local attractions and touristy stuff.

We stayed in a deluxe villa which was stunning. The pool was a good size and everything was very clean on inspection. The room itself if spacious but cosy at the same time. There were two flat screen TV's (one infront of the bed and another in the lounge) and we were told we could hire DVD's for free from the front desk.

The restaurant itself is outside in view point of the beach (*sigh: very romantic*) and the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package) was VERY delicious!! We'd have an array to pick from. For lunch and dinner, they'd have a range of international cuisines (from Mexican/Italian etc) to Thai dishes. These were pricey but very tasty. If you require Halal food - let them know as they cater for Muslims too.

The spa was wonderful- although I can't tell you much about this as my massage was so relaxing I feel asleep within five minutes of starting it! That's a sure sign it was good! There's also a little massage hut outside (near the restaurant) that charges a fraction of the price (like £5 I think) so you can afford to get one done everyday if you wanted.

We hired bikes for free while we stayed here and cycled to the local shops (a small complex with a dessert bar, a mini-supermarket and a few others). This was great to do as the weather was perfect.

The only "issue" if I had to say is the location of the hotel - it's very far from Pa Tong Beach and Phuket town so we'd take a shuttle bus there which would take roughly an hour. This also worked out to be around £10p/p. There isn't much to do around the hotel too but we didn't mind too much to take the shuttle bus (a mini van) as it's well equipt and comfortable.

Other than that, this hotel is gorgeous. We'd def recommend it and we'd def come back! Mai Khao beach is a beautiful sight too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had great expectations for our long Week-end at Sala Phuket - website research showed a design hotel in a great location. So we booked and went.......
the place is difficult to rate - it is difficult to be fair as one would have high expectations for a published rate of close to 19,000 BHT for a Sala Pool Villa.
It took 45 minutes to check in - not because the hotel was busy but everything simply seemed to move in a hap hazard way - all staff was friendly. The girl that showed us to our villa could not find the way......not a big deal but a little strange. But once we arrived at the villa we saw the "fun" that was going to require us to have a sense of humour for the next 3 days : the nice girl was unable to open the villa doors onto the garden as the hatch to open them was set at a hight that most thais could not reach....aha we laughed - and they have won the Siamese Architectural awards ....
the room was nice enough but the quality of the materials in general below standards. wooden doors that we very difficult to open and close as the wood had absorbed moisture. Dangerously slippery tiles next to the pool covered with a cheap sheet on non slip material that was constantly blowing in the wind. Fans that were hard to control for speed as the symbols were no longer according to the settings........what made us laugh the most was the cheap chinese thermos - oops that certainly was not out of "Wallpaper Magazine". Anyway all in all a nice room but 19,000 bht ??
We went down to the resorts only restaurant to get some lunch - good setting overlooking the pool and ocean. A friendly F&B person greeted us and asked if we were aware of the promotion they were running ? BBQ with wine included....sounded good so we went for that - good salads - great Aussie beef - good value. As we later found out the restaurant staff is not always aware of all the different promotions that are running - on Sunday evening we went for "Fishermans Catch" in a room flyer it said BHT 1900 for 2 - the menu were were given in the restaurant said BHT 2800 for 2 - a trip back to the villa to get the flyer and a puzzled restaurant supervisor promptly changed the price for us - I wonder what all the other guests ended up paying for this meal - again good quality but very un-thai taste.
A walk around the resort took us to the location of the Garden Pool Villa and Balcony Room area. The Garden Pool Villa is the lower unit in a two story hotel like building - very different from the Sala Pool Villa we had that was in a freestanding villa.
The Balcony rooms are fine BUT mind you the steed staircase you have to up and down on to reach each room would be a challenge to many and certainly encourage you to hold back on the Happy Hour bars offering.

All in all " good try " but knowing some of the thoughts that went into this resort we would think that total execution needs to be upgraded substantially. Maybe that is why the resort is currently running a series of deeply discounted promotions for local residents.

Discounts are nice but for a luxury boutique resort quality of execution should be the first priority in our humbe view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mascotbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
893 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing