We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$386
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$446
$206
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$346
$100
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coriacea Boutique Resort(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$184
$65
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$354
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveler rating
1,226
379
120
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
379
120
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomgarden pool villabalcony roomour honeymooniced tearibsturn down serviceday bedhead chefsun loungersevery eveningbeach bagmai khao beachturtle villagethai dishesheaven on earthbeach front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,310 - 1,315 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Stayed at the Sala for five nights in a Deluxe Balcony room. The resort is on a beautiful undeveloped beach - due to it being a turtle nesting site it has protected status so no jet skis wizzing up and down. Set back from the beach are two excellent pools. The resort never felt crowded. The food was excellent with the breakfast being one of the best I have experienced at any 5* hotel anywhere in the world. The rooms were well fitted out with excellent bathrooms. The service from the staff was spot on and had no difficulty getting reservations in the spa. Went for dinner at the nearby JW Marriot resort (the Sala drove us there and back in a complimentary car). While the food at the Marriot was good there was no doubt in my mind that we had made the right choice staying at the quieter, more elegant and smaller Sala. Top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night (yeap! one night only because I only had Sat/Sun off) and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel/resort. Why? Here are the reasons

Pros
- I stayed at the Villa and it was absolutely amazing... large pool, large outdoor tub, extremely comfortable beds, private and secluded, large sofa/siting area
- Friendly service by all the staff
- The best infinity pool I have ever seen - with very cool little steps leading down to the pool, and you are basically on the same level as the grass, which makes the experience very serene and enjoyable
- Free breakfast (delivered to room) was more than adequate and very delicious
- Dinner at the hotel restaurant was of very high quality, and there was live jazz music
- Spa/massage was top-notch and prices are quite cheap based on the experience
- The rooftop sitting area was the best with sweeping views of the beach and the resort area
- Most importantly - the environment: Shower is located at a platform above the interior courtyard/garden, and the water that was disposed of goes straight to the soil of the garden that helps grow plants/flowers
- Lots of bottled water in room
- Mini little floating beds in pool
- Fast internet service ($)
- Close proximity to the airport

Cons
- Since most of the bathroom facilities are outdoors, there are lizzards and spiders and flies. So don't be surprised when you are using the bathroom/toilet/shower and there is a lizzard right above you!

Honestly, I highly recommend this resort. Even thought it is more expensive, DO stay at a villa rather than the regular resort rooms as it is a much great and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed four nights at the Sala Phuket after two weeks of frenetic touring in Thailand and Cambodia. Couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot to just chill. Pool villa was elegant and luxurious and it is so nice to jump into your private pool for a few strokes after waking, before bed, or whenever the mood strikes you. If you stay here it really pays to splurge for the pool villa, otherwise you will feel you are missing out. Outdoor bathroom was a lot of fun, the privacy is more than adequate and don't worry about the little lizards, they are totally harmless, I for one think they are cute. Bugs were not a problem. If you are too shy to use outdoors facilities you probably should stay home. Ocean and beach are beautiful, but even in December (when the water is supposed to be at its calmest) there are waves and a steep drop-off: you need to be a reasonably good swimmer. NOT for little children. Staff was solicitous and discrete. Everyone hangs poolside on the comfy lounges, the beach has no chairs and is kind of hot to hang out at , but a dip in the ocean is just steps away from your poolside hang-out. The pools (two of them!) are fantastic: huge and beautifully designed. We swam a few laps every day and pretended that we burned off more than a tiny fraction of the calories we consumed at breakfast alone. Just when we convinced ourselves of this, a staffer would come around with some complimentary treat to whet your appetite for lunch.
Try a massage at the hut just outside the property line, those ladies have strong hands and the price is a fraction of what you are charged in the hotel spa.
The restaurant is good, but after two dinners there we were tired of it. (Breakfast is huge and delicious.)
You can head up to the nearby Marriot or Anantara to eat, but expect similar high prices and lots of fellow tourists. Never tried the local beach huts, not brave enough. If I went back would find the motivation to take a cab down to Surin beach and check out the multitude of restaurants there.
The ownership really tries hard here to make your experience unique and memorable, and to a large extent they succeed. I would strongly suggest this hotel for a special trip.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank jamiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

from check-in to check-out, Sala was great!! the design of the hotel is great... a grey and purple modernist/minimalist theme... the resort is just the right size... i hate when you stay somewhere and it's always a challenge to get back to your room! the rooms were great. we had a one bedroom villa which had a private pool and outdoor bathtub. AH-MAY-ZING. the service was quite good. all the staff were very nice, friendly and responsive. the breakfast is awesome, having different set options for guests to choose from. the thai food was not too great, because we were interested in local flavour and luckily there was a little shack just outside the hotel by the beach where we got traditional southern thai food. the hotel had bikes for us to borrow for free, tons of other sports equiptment including volleyball, football, batminton, etc. but they did not have any water sports things.. maybe just one kayak and some boogie boards. which was a pity. would have been nice if they had windsurfs or something.
the spa is fantastic. great staff there as well.
overall, an awesome place for a holiday with friends, a lover or your family even... pretty quiet, and although my friends and i were a bit of a ruckus, no one really minded and we really enjoyed playing in the main pool with children who were there with their families.
the beach here is also pretty decent and quiet, which is great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrontDeskFSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

After reading the reviews and seeing the photos felt sure this place would be amazing! How wrong we were. Its so not a luxury hotel by any means. We checked in on New Years Eve in the afternoon and when we arrived all we could here was VERY loud music coming from right outside the resort. I was very tired and wanted a nap before dinner but when we checked into our room that was impossible! Too light (even with all curtains closed the sun came in a lot, also with the loud music going on outside. We asked the staff where it was coming from and basically it was the locals having a street NYE party with a stage set up, and band playing all through the day and night?! Becuase the resort is not on its own private land there was nothing they could do!

The rooms look good but are very small and impractical concrete blocks! The bathroom was outside so it meant I or my husband would wake up if either of us went to the toilet in the night as the doors were not easy to open, plus then even more light would come in if it was say after 6am! We complained about the light and the manager upgraded us to a pool villa which was not much better! The aircon machine was VERY loud, so even though it was a darker room still could not sleep well?! Also the room was small and crap layout, not much space for luggage at all and we have two Large suitcases and two small ones. The lighting too was terrilble sooooo dark no where to sit and apply make up and dry hair with good light! The outside bathroom was useless, I wanted a bath and it took FOREVER to run and the sinks blocked as soon as you turned the taps on which was a nightmare when brushing your teeth! The shower was a rain head shower also not what we like especially when washing my long thick hair! This hotel was NOT worth anywhere near the £400 +++ a night they were charging, have slept better in far cheaper places where everything worked properly etc. The pool looked ok (didnt use it), we checked out after one night!

We also stayed at The Six Senses Destination Spa Phuket which was HEAVEN on earth and a true luxury escape. There we had an amazing BIG pool villa, the food was fantastic and included in the rate, as was two hours massage treatments each each day in the spa. Very peaceful and we slept like babies there, we will go back there again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SharonlondonU.K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews