We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon at SALA and the 4 nights we were there it was just amazing. The private pool villa we had was top class, combine this with great service from all staff and our stay was something to remember. The property is pretty secluded from shopping, bars and the hustle and bustle so its definately a place to come and relax but everything you need is within the resort. The rooms are designed for privacy with clever layout and the use of high walls throughout. The breakfast overlooking the pool and ocean is definitely a great way to start your day, follow that with a complimentary cocktail at the pool at lunchtime and end your day on one of the daybeds at the pool bar to watch the sunset and SALA ticked all our boxes. Weather was 34 celsius everyday and not a cloud in the sky, definitely the best time to visit SALA and phuket in general. Only 15 mins from the airport so a perfect place to relax and indulge before you get on a plane and head home. We will be heading back to SALA in a few years to do it all over again if we get the chance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Signature Brendan H, thank you ever so much for choosing to spend 4 nights of your honeymoon at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It’s so lovely to read that you both had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we have shared your review with our team. Let us congratulate you once again and wish you both a lifetime of happiness and we hope you’ll return to spend your anniversary with us. All the best the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    328
    98
    21
    23
See reviews for
196
991
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently stayed at Sala Resort.
I was on holiday for my friends wedding. Sala resort was stunning.
The rooms were immaculate and the outside bathroom on the balcony was amazing.
The spa area was tranquil and relaxing.
The food and restaurant area was set near the pool and overlooking the beach. The food was well presented and very tasty.
I particularly thought the breakfast was excellant value, big spread buffet selection and also a la carte hot breakfast included.
I will definitley return to Sala in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Signature Michelle H, WOW - what a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for sharing your experience here and scoring us so perfectly in every category. Your friend’s wedding was quite stunning and we are sure you’ve left us with some very sweet memories. Thank you again and we have shared your wondrous comments with our SALA team. Take care and we hope you’ll return in the future, all the best the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this resort with my boyfriend in March 2014 enjoyed every moment, was so relaxing just what we needed, the whole resort was beautiful and the staff were wonderful exceeded my expectations, will definitely return.
Ms Burton

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Ms. Danielle Burton, how do we top that? We exceeded your expectations – WOW! That is so amazing to hear; our entire team strive to ensure every guest has an amazing time and then when we hear that they did it is so fulfilling. Thank you so much to you and your boyfriend for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and we look forward greatly to you hopefully returning in the near future. Please let us know when you do wish to return. Our very best wishes the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My previous stay was 3 years ago and am sorry to say that the quality of the service and the state of the property has dropped dramatically. A group of friends and I stayed in a variety of rooms and we found them all to be poorly maintained.

We also found the staff to be very unhappy and sometimes surly, there was a complete lack of anticipation to their service and few offered a smile or went out of their way to help. Very sad and unusual to see in Thailand - in over 20 trips I have never seen a group that seems so demoralised. I did not once see the presence of any senior management at the resort or even a restaurant manager at the outlets.

On the positive side - the lunch and dinner offerings were relatively good and standard for most 4 star hotels in Thailand. Infinity pool is well designed and Mao Khao beach is quiet and swimmable, though there is only 2 kayaks on offer at the beach club so not the best place if you're seeking water sport action.

I wish I could say better things but unfortunately the management team need to really work on improving standards overall at the property. As an example, on the final day - they were hosting an employee sports carnival right next to the main bar/pool area, with a loudspeaker and commentary blasting all afternoon, hardly a relaxing beach getaway environment. None of the staff seemed to comprehend that this may disrupt guests' ability to relax. Super frustrating considering the overall resort is well designed and marketed as a haven to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsiaNomad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Signature Asia Nomad 2014 Singapore. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we apologize that we did not meet your expectations and the standard has dropped since your last visit (3yrs) ago considering we have an extensive (PMP) Preventative Maintenance Program in place that we introduced over the last 4yrs, where we accomplish the maintenance of 40 villas per year and surrounding guest public areas. However this program is operated through our low season period which is between May-Sept so we do not disrupt or inconvenience guests like yourself in high season. We are also sorry to hear that you found the staff to be unhappy and at times surly? we have initiatives in place every 3 months to build on staff morale, team work and motivational events like the 3hr 'Staff Sports Day' that we notified guests in advance via letter and you complained about in your review. You have also brought to our attention that there were no senior or management in place during your visit? This is not the case, during your visit 14th - 18th March 2014 my EAM/Front Office Manager/ EAM & Food & Beverage Manager/Front Office Manager & Restaurant Manager - K. Keaw were all on duty and can be identified by their name badges and uniform variation. I am surprised as one hotelier to another that you would not give us the opportunity resolve or rectify some of these points prior to your departure and bringing it to our attention? Thank you again, Jon Ashenden GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I arrived here and was underwhelmed at first but the resort did grow on me during my stay. It is losing it's lustre due to
maintenance issues and the GM urgently needs to get a grip as I know surrounding hotels were close to capacity and Sala was not .
Some staff were great some were surly - another management issue.
You can still have an enjoyable break however just be aware of the issues.
One of the highlights for me was the band that played on Sunday Evenings.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ErawanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Signature Erawan Cape Town S.A. Thank you for your comments and choosing SALA Phuket Resort and Spa for your vacation. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations, however we do have a comprehensive (PMP) Preventative Maintenance Program over the past 4yrs that I have been the GM which is carried out on all our villas during our low season every year! I would be more then happy to forward you a copy, please advise us of your email contact details. Also we are not sure where you obtained the surrounding Mai Khao Beach Resort occupancy statistics from as we share a daily 'Competitive Set' report amongst each other and we will finish at No.2 in terms of occupancy growth and this is why we are unable to complete comprehensive rejuvenation schedules on the villas and public areas (until low season) due to the demand and ensuring our guests are not disturbed over our high season periods. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We really enjoyed a very relaxing three nights here - just what we were looking for. Peaceful location on the beautiful long beach. Nice open lawn area around the two pools. Couldn't fault the service - airport transfers, check in, room service, spa, restaurant all good. Staff all very helpful and welcoming. Special mention for Leo in the restaurant - he went out of his way to see that we had everything we needed and is always ready to share a laugh. Thoroughly enjoyed a couple of massages in the spa. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but the food was very good at lunch and dinner. Breakfast buffet okay - a la carte at breakfast a bit hit or miss. There's a great lounging area at the bar to watch the sunset and enjoy a few cocktails. Recommend the Welcome To Thailand!
We booked the 3 night beach break via the hotel which was good value - includes airport transfer, one dinner in the restaurant and a massage in their spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumintheSun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Signature MumintheSun21, thank you very much for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your 3 day vacation and for writing such a splendid review. We shall ensure our restaurant breakfast supervisor Leo is made aware of your lovely comments. It’s wonderful to read you thoroughly enjoyed your massages in our award winning spa. Thank you again and we hope you will return in the future, where we’ll ensure the breakfast consistence improves. Our very best wishes the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place, perfect ambiance, perfect room, perfect facility, perfect staff, all just perfect and we cant wait coming here again for our next honeymoon ! And one thing : I'm very happy that they provide halal food for moslem..:)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amalina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Signature Amalina P, thank you ever so very much for your perfect review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It’s so lovely to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed your with us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you also for highlighting that we can accommodate for our halal guests too. All the best the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing