We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed in some great hotels before.
But I must say this was the concept and ideal of the perfect way to treat a guest.
The hotel it's stunning,a beautiful and easy design, tho a bi far from the city centre, so perfect if you're looking to get away from the world.
The most important point for me was the staff! An absolutely and incredible service from the moment we checked in, to the moment we left we were treated as Royalty!
I remember a gentleman called POP and another lady which I dont really remember her name but she was absolutely lovely booking all my tours and making me feel so special every day.
I would definitely come back! And will certainly recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Signature Josias S, London, UK. Thank you for your review and constructive feedback during your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort, and guest facilities and most importantly our staff and guest services. We will ensure to share all of your positive points with our staff and copy Khun Pop our newly appointed GRO (Guest Relation Officer) in on your response. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    335
    99
    22
    23
See reviews for
206
1,008
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and the location was perfect, right by the main pool and restaurant. Loved the villa - especially huge bathrooms, pool and lounge chairs. Rooms were clean and comfortable bed. Very pleased with the resort overall and staff was very friendly. This resort if perfect if you are looking for a quiet, tranquill, spa like environment. We had an amazing time - can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Signature Sandra H, New York City, NY. Thank you all very much for choosing SALA for your visit and taking the time to complete your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your private 2 bedroom pool villa suite and all of the resort facilities. Please do let us know if we can assist in the future if you are considering to return to the friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Resorts. Sincerely, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Thank heavens and great good luck that we find ourselves back at one of my favourite hotels in the world. Such a lovely welcome from the staff. All the notes for us hit perfectly here, and also with a lovely tiny gym - Hello Hotel de la PAix - Please....?

Room Tip: Talk to management direct - all so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Signature Harriel Robinson, London UK. Thank you very much for your review and feedback, we are all so glad you enjoyed the resort and its guest facilities, We do hope to see you both again and look forward to welcoming you back to SALA and the friendly shores of Phuket in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautifully designed modern resort (might be a bit too clinical for those looking for traditional Thailand style resort)
Not suitable for families and much more suited to young, trendy couples
Fabulous Spa --- must have a massage to experience the incredible ambience of this spa.
Excellent food in restaurant for both lunch and dinner !
Very helpful staff
Pool villas very comfortable although after staying at the Anantara Phuket Villas next door, we found the actual rooms to be quite small in comparison.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markslk250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Signature markSLK London, UK, thank you for your encouraging review we are pleased you enjoyed the resort's award winning design and facilities. Our SALA Spa as you pointed out also has won a number of awards for design, providing guests with the infamous Clarins product across all of our treatments. I will ensure the Executive Chef Jan Hollister is complimented on his menu and food offerings you indulged in during your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the friendly shores of Phuket and SALA in the near future. Our best wishes and a healthy and prosperous New Year 2014, The SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fellow trippy and two of our closest friends stayed here for three nights in November 2013. If it isn’t for the fact that we all enjoy each other’s company far more than we do complaining about hotel service, it might have been a total disaster. However for the more discerning traveller, here is a handy list of “don’ts” for your consideration…
1. Don’t expect a warm welcome. The reception desk is so cleverly designed that whatever your angle of approach, the numerous receptionists can perform voltes-face at a speed that would make Darcy Bussell breathless. Note – this also applies on check out.
2. Don’t expect the boys to be recognised as anything other than sexual predators if they arrive a day later than the girls. Similarly don’t expect the matching names on your passport and booking forms to provide any mitigating evidence in your defence.
3. Don’t expect your in-room dining order to be delivered either accurately or on time. Also don’t expect food that has already been delivered to remain under your control – the room next door might just have ordered a few minutes before you did. It is your responsibility to monitor this and allow a suitable amount of time to elapse before any consumption begins.
4. Don’t expect any complaint to be taken too seriously. In the unlikely event that you do receive an apologetic gesture, please don’t be surprised that the two tiny contrite chocolates slid into the Asti Spumante ice bucket. Nobody ever had to leave them in a Sala room before now.
5. Don’t order a bottle of Absolut vodka from room service. Instead you may receive Smirnoff and will be asked to sign for the price of Absolut plus 20 per cent. You probably don’t know the difference anyway if you have the audacity to drink in your villa after 11pm.
6. Don’t expect four sunbeds to be prepared if you are in a two bedroomed villa for four people. Only two will ever be made up. The others are down to your own investigative powers/division of labour/need to apologise to partner/promptness to rise in the morning (delete as applicable).
7. Don’t expect all three toilets in the villa to be serviced daily. By the law of averages number one will have number two stains, number two will have number one stains, and number three will spring a high-pressured leak whilst you are preparing for the following day’s sanitary challenges offsite.
8. Don’t expect an army of people to clean a whole villa in record time for the convenience of the paying guests. The most we ever witnessed was one cleaner per day.
9. Don’t eat even a stray peanut from an external table. We witnessed that floor mops and table cloths are one and the same thing at Sala Phuket.
10. Don’t swim in the pool without prior vaccinations or at the very least a penchant for crustacea and plankton.
11. Don’t select items from the bird and/or insect infested buffet unless you have already built up sufficient immunity (see 10. above).
12. Don’t ask to see a General Manager. They don’t come out at night, neither do they employ vampiric duty managers. During daylight hours they apparently attend strategy meetings (possibly preparing their defence for the next Sala Group Board Meeting to avoid closure of this godforsaken corner of the otherwise acceptable empire?)
13. Don’t ask to slide back the gate to open up your seafront view. Unless you happen to be on tour with the New Zealand All Blacks who must have been the last guests to facilitate such delights.
14. Don’t ask for extra towels unless you want them delivered in hermetically sealed bags directly from Bangla Road Laundromat.
15. Don’t pay your bill without checking it first. I realise these days we all pay hotel bills differently – in advance, in arrears, online, with or without a security deposit etc. – but surely the one true record is the responsibility of the hotel itself? The Sala did not have any such record and we would have paid double but for the eagle eyes of one member of our company.
16. Don’t go. It’s pretty awful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Signature Damasha, it is difficult to understand your unconstructive comments to be honest and your listing of “Don’t” 16 times to which in most part we cannot figure out what you are trying to say. We apologise for not seeing you during your stay, it was not for a lack of trying and we were sent away if you recall. We hope our other reviewers of our resort on TripAdvsior will read this, along with all our other positive reviews which make up the vast majority of our reviews. We are focused and determined to ensure every guest leaves SALA Phuket Resort & Spa with memories to cherish and in the most part they do. The SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Sala during 15-17 Dec. We got villa #35, which is right behind the hotel shops. While I was about to take a shower, my husband noticed someone climbed the villa wall and peaked into our villa...twice! The bathroom is outdoor and can clearly be seen by the person. We called the reception to complain, but they insisted no one could go behind the wall, and showed no responsibility about what happened, didn't even offer a new room for us. However, the air-conditioning in the room was broken and would take 20 minutes to fix. So we asked for a room change and got a new room. (Wondering if the air-conditioning worked ok, would we ever gotten a new room?)
Next morning, we went to the hotel shops and found that there is a small entrance to the area behind the shops. And right behind the shops is villa #35. In that area we saw a tree which was cut such that a person could climb and look over the villa wall into the villa easily! But why the reception the night before told us no one could enter the area?!?
We complained the reception again and the manager tried to investigate and found some suspects.
After that we never heard any progress nor receipt any compensation from the hotel.
This is not how 2013 TripAdvisor winner treat their guests?

Room Tip: Do not choose villa 33 & 35. They are behind the hotel shops and could be peaked into by strange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Auracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Signature Auracha, Bangkok, thank you for your review and feedback from your recent stay in December. The incident was investigated in full with all possible employees that may have had access to the tree behind the wall of your villa and all points of CCTV were reviewed from the time you reported this incident. An alternative villa was offered which you relocated to. Unfortunately after concluding all interviews and reviewing CCTV footage during this period there was not enough substantial evidence to support the reported incident. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience and this disappointing disruption to your vacation. We do hope you will reconsider returning in the near future. Sincerely SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Immediately upon arrival, we knew this place was special. Clean, spacious, gorgeous, delicious food, excellent service. Only 20 minutes from the airport, only 40 minutes from fun nightlife if you want it. Our room had an incredible outdoor bathroom (love outdoor showers) with our OWN pool, with big lounges, a huge day bed, the most comfortable king size bed. We didn't even want to leave the hotel, as the menu had millions of options, the food was outstanding, the service so great, and there was entertainment every night, varying from live bands, DJs, and local ethnic entertainment. Need I say more?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Signature IIlka Miz, New York, thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are glad you enjoyed your private pool villa, resort facilities and our passionate Executive Chef Jan Hollister's menu and dining options during your stay. I will ensure to post your review on our employee notice board and share with them your positive feedback on your service experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the friendly shores of Phuket and SALA in the near future. Our best wishes and a healthy and prosperous New Year 2014, The SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing