We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort with fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in a Sala Pool Villa room for 4 nights with our 11mo baby. A travel cot was provided, although the mattress was a bit thin but baby slept well in it, so no complain. The resort is not baby friendly especially our baby is still just a crawler but kind of expected when we made the choice to stay here.

Can tell the interior suffered from wear and tear but then the relaxing environment makes up for it. The resort is all about relaxing and close to nature so don't compare it with those huge chain American hotel. The food served at Sala restaurant was absolutely beautiful although a lot more expensive compared to local restaurant but is still way cheaper than the price we paid when we last visit Hamilton Island. There are local seafood restaurants just around the corner from the beach and they offer free food delivery back to your hotel room (but we didn't try). Or else, we did walk over to Renaissance and JW Marriott for lunch (similar price to Sala) but a lot more restaurants to choose from. We also caught the free tuk tuk to Turtle Village for the mini mart.

The massage ladies on the beach were very good too (400 for 60mins).

On the last night, the power went out at around 4am. The receptionist said the whole Phuket was out of power and didn't come back on until nearly 2 hours later. So there was no air con, the room was very hot and stuffy, we didn't dare to open the bi-fold doors as we are afraid of mozzies. It wasn't very pleasant and nothing was done about it but I guess it will be the same for other hotels.

I scored down 'cleanliness' because the bathroom was outdoor and everyday there was animal droppings either in the bath tub or hand basin so not very appealing. And it does get a bit annoying at times to have to go out of the room every time when you just want to quickly wash your hands. It would be nice to have a sink at the bar inside the room (a lot of washing was need to be done for the baby).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Signature bunnyegg, thank you so much for choosing to spend your 4 night family vacation at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for writing such a comprehensive review. It is so lovely to read you had a wonderfully relaxing stay and appreciated the nature and tranquility of our location. The power outage you experienced was unfortunate but out of our control and as you said affected the entire area. This kind of incident doesn’t happen too often fortunately but with island life such things are sometimes unavoidable. We shall look forward to you returning in the future! Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the first time I came to Thailand . My friend chosen this hotel for us. We all like it very much, which is very quiet, clean, and comfortable . The food is also excellent . All in all, if you want to have a good vacation in Thailand , you must choose here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chef X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Signature Chef X, we are so pleased you left SALA Phuket Resort & Spa with some “Perfect memories” and that you chose to share your experience with everyone on here. We will ensure we share your very positive review with our team at SALA especially our culinary team. Thank you again and we hope you’ll choose us for your second visit to Thailand. All the best The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I agree in most part with review by lorde666 . Path very dark and uneven bad for poor sighted people we had a pool villa room was ok but area around pool was simply a death trap, slippery as all hell. They threw this netting down which was laughable as it was also slippery but then a trip hazard. Again breakfast for non egg lovers was basically nil excepting sweet waffles.meals at hotel expensive and were slow. No other facilities within walking distance really
However on the plus side very relaxing, staff were superb polite and could not do enough for us. We were guests at a stunning wedding and I can tell you they went above. and beyond to make it the truly beautiful occasion
Stay if you want to laze by the pool can afford to eat only at hotel...also another plus 25 mins from airport

Room Tip: Select a pool room only if traveling as a single couple if you have friends ect or meeting up for an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Signature suzanne1207, thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on your stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. We’re so pleased you enjoyed all the preparation, effort and service excellence we provided for the wedding on Sunday. We have discussed your review in detail regarding the areas of concern you have mentioned and we shall endeavor to improve on these as we strive for continual improvement. Thank you again and we hope you will return in the future. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The pool villas are nice the location is great - the service and food need a little improvement. They have upstairs apartments that are nice but they need you to be a mountain goat to get up their steep staircases......

Room Tip: Select a pool villa
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mascotbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Signature mascotbangkok, thank you ever so much for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for your splendid review and remarks. Thank you again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. All the best The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, took the villa with the private pool, its a Nice hotel, with a few buts:

Pros:
- Nice welcome by the reception staff, and the room tour provided.
- the public pool looks nice.
- Bicycle's are provided for free.
- Friendly staff.
- Free refreshments provided at the public pool, but it was tasteless.

Cons:
- Uncomfortable bed.
- 4 cockroaches killed - 2 in the room (yet the hotel confirms they perform insect spraying on 2 days).
- fire alarm during the day, as after calling the operator they confirmed that it was a test.
- Maintenance opened the room door while we were in the room, without knocking and despite the DND on the door. And later it appears that one light in the room is not working, and the sink was clogged (should have been maintained before check-in).
- Breakfast has a very few options for the non-egg lovers.
- Ants in the room upon arrival.
- At night, and if you want to venture to the near by hotel's for dinner, there is a vast area that is in the dark, torch is available in the room, but why do I need one to walk at night!
As well the hotel path's are not well lighted.
- The beach itself is not regularly cleaned, as what ever washes on it from the waves, stays there.
- We had to call house keeping for the room to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doometrix666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Signature lorde666, thank you for your overall positive review of your 3 night stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, in respects to our friendly staff and facilities. It is with much regret however to read of the areas which were not so positive which we will most certainly look in to and ensure we eradicate. It is unfortunately we were not aware of all of these during your stay; it is regrettable as when things do not go right we pride ourselves on our usual prompt and efficient resolution. We do hope you will come back in the future and allow us the opportunity of a far more positive experience. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I came at a recommendation of a friend and this place is offering surprises one after another. They were so nice as to offer welcome drinks and towels at check-in. Given that it will take some fair bit of tome to check-in, why don't you give us a sleeping bag to take a power nap at the lobby itself. I simply love the landscaping in that area. It's really open concept for bath and toilet area. Works well in good weather but it's quite difficult to shower when it rains (and there was torrential rain when I checked-in). Lots of ceiling to floor windows for clear and beautiful views but if you don't draw the curtains you risk exposing your beautiful bodies to neighbors. I kinda need some drawers and the cupboard door need a 'lift' for it to close. Blanket had a funny smell, someone with strong BO left his/her scent for me to 'indulge in it'. A lot of insects bugs lizards and wildlife coming in uninvited. I feel so bad having to crush two ants and three-four bugs and two mosquitoes when they came onto the bed. Which makes me quite proud of myself cause I can actually kill mosquitoes with hands. Never thought I was that fast. Now I feel like some top martial arts master. But I didn't manage to squash the lizard that was on the mug by the wash basin. I should have used the mug to trap the little fellow. Wasn't too quick on that. So all these action was causing hunger and I asked for some food. Actually I think their concept to help me lose weight is good. Cause the food took some time and by the time it came I wasn't hungry anymore so it helped me reduce sugar intake and keep in shape. Nice job! And oh did I mention that this whole place is so in line with nature? I mean wow the place has blended in so much with the environment and primal beauty that I actually saw a naked butt on the balcony. As the bathtub is on the balcony and if the guest doesn't draw the curtain, he is literally in his own skin! And how lucky am I to have witnessed such basic and primal behaviors in civilized world! Anyway i have to thank them all for the free upgrade to villa as they oversold the balcony rooms. Though actually I don't mind giving up that chance to someone else and be put back into the balcony room upstairs and draw all curtains tight to persevere some level of intimacy with myself. This is an exciting resort - not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Please do draw the curtains esp at night when staying on the second floor balcony rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Signature Ms_1226, it’s very disappointed to read you were unhappy with your complimentary upgrade from a deluxe balcony standard room to one of our private garden villas with your own personal pool. Being you arrived a few hours before our advertised check-in time, we tried our utmost to room you as soon as possible and being we had this villa type available we thought you would appreciate your own private garden pool villa. The curtains are designed for a purpose and in the most part it is for privacy whether that be in a villa, a hotel room or in the privacy of your own home, so we agree with you and thank you for stressing this point that closing your curtains is definitely a good idea. We hope that your candid personal opinions are construed as useful to other readers. Thank you for choosing SALA Phuket! The SALA Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife, baby, and I stayed at the Sala for a 5-day getaway during early August. We loved our stay, despite the lousy weather (see below) and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Weather:

We were warned prior to booking the trip that going to Phuket during the summer would involve some risk of rainy weather; however, we thought (hoped) that any rain would just be short showers followed by clear skies. Unfortunately, what we experienced was 4 consecutive days of torrential rainfall. It was not until the last day when we saw any clear sky.

Room:

We reserved a One Bedroom Pool Villa Suite. This private villa (building, pool, plus private area) was quite large at over 2,300sf. The private pool was very large as well at roughly 10m x 3m. The bedroom (with king bed) and living room area (with full size daybed) was divided by a revolving door. The room had all the necessities that one would typically need, ranging from two flat screen TVs, DVD player, mini-bar, air conditioning and ceiling fans, coffee and tea makers, etc. The private sala and sunbathing deck was also quite large, with an L-shaped sofa and two lounge chairs.

One important point to note, as this may work for some but not others, is that the bathroom is outdoors next to the indoor living area. The vanity area, double sinks, shower, toilet, everything – all located outside. While this didn’t bother us per se, it was at times a little annoying when you’re stumbling outside to find the bathroom at 4am or when you’re swarmed by mosquitoes when all you really want is some privacy…

Other Facilities:

Overall, compared to other larger nearby hotels such as the JW Marriott Phuket, Sala does not have many other on-site extracurricular activities. There is a small gym, two large infinity pools, and a spa. There may not be enough entertainment on-site for older kids. Overall fit and finish was still in very good shape.

There is one large restaurant (with indoor and outdoor seating) and a bar / lounge area with large round daybeds. We really enjoyed this set up and it was very easy and relaxing to dine there.

Food:

Overall, the food was actually much better than expected (we had lowered expectations from reading reviews on Trip Advisor). We ate all our meals at the hotel so we tried everything from the breakfast buffet, to a la carte lunch and dinner, to themed dinners, to room service. We were pleasantly surprised. Naturally, their Thai cuisine is better than their western cuisine but overall everything was quite decent.

If you get bored of (or dislike) the food at Sala, you could also go to restaurants at other nearby hotels (within 3 – 4 minutes drive) such as Anantara Phuket Villas and JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spas. Sala provides complimentary rides to and from these hotels.

Service / Staff Friendliness:

The staff was very friendly, especially those that work at the restaurant and room service. They were very attentive and managed to get all of our (many) picky requests correct. Most importantly, they were extremely friendly and helpful with our son. Many of the restaurant staff eagerly volunteered to hold him during our meals so that my wife and I can actually eat our food and enjoy our meal. That was one of the most pleasant surprises of our trip. We were initially concerned about what to do with our son during meals since we did not bring a stroller or car seat, but that concern was quickly alleviated after our first meal.

Key Standouts:

We received excellent personal attention from the moment we arrived at the hotel – from personal notes to complimentary champagne to very customized service throughout the resort.

My family and I would (and plan to) go back and stay at the same resort. We stayed at the Anantara Phuket Villas a few months earlier and while the Anantara was a more expensive and higher rated hotel, we enjoyed our experience at the Sala much more.

Other Tips:

In retrospect, coordinating with hotel management to get the right room is very important (i.e., in terms of location, type of room, etc.). The Sala has different types of rooms and villas ranging in price and size from:

(i) “Deluxe Balcony” – these are just regular rooms in a big concrete building
(ii) “Garden Pool Villa” – these are semi-private pool villas on the bottom floor of the building with other guest rooms on top
(iii) “Sala Pool Villa” – these are independent villas in a private enclosed set up with own pool
(iv) “One Bedroom Pool Villa Suite” – these are larger private pool villas (about twice the size of the Sala Pool Villa) with private pool
(v) “Two Bedroom Pool Villa Suite” – these are the largest private pool villas, with separate buildings for each bedroom and overall the indoor space is about twice the size of a One Bedroom Suite

Location of the villa is also quite important. There is a main walkway with lots of foot traffic for guests / service staff so try to avoid the villas facing this main path. We specifically requested a quiet room so our villa was nicely tucked away in a quiet area of their compound.

Room Tip: See review regarding room selection and location.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Signature RNG1008, WOW! What an amazing review, giving us perfect scores in all categories. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and useful review of your 5 night family stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It is so wonderful to read that you had such a beautifully relaxing time in spite of the poor weather you unfortunately experienced. We shall ensure we share your lovely review with the whole of our SALA team on your appreciation of the great customer service especially our restaurant team. Thank you very much again and we hope you’ll return for another family holiday in the near future, please do let us know when you wish to return. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
705 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $136 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing