We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for nine nights in this unique resort in a SALA Villa and we enjoyed it very much. The architecture is very special. No typical Thai-Style, very modern. You had to like it, otherwise you probably won´t enjoy the stay in this resort. And it´s very secluded. For couples, who are looking for a very private stay, it is perfect.
The villa offers every comforts, you expect in a 5* resort. With a really big pool and an outdoor-bathroom, which is probably not everybody´s wish. But even in the rainy season you can sit outside in a ´Sala´, while it´s raining. The room itself is not really big, but is enough, ´cause most time you will spend in the outdoor-area. Though there should be more room for clothes.
There is only one restaurant in the resort, but you can get there Thai and international food. And the taste is really good. The breakfast is partly a la carte and partly a buffet.
It´s very nice to lay on big beds at the bar, enjoying some cocktails and looking over the sea. Also te Spa is to be recommended.
Everyone of the staff is quite kind and helpful, always with a smile on the face. Thanks for that. Housekeeping works perfectly, also the turn-down-service presenting every evening another type of juice.
Our stay in SALA Phuket was perfect. For couples, looking for privacy and calmness, it´s to be absolutely recommended. A unique pearl.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sven4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Signature Sven4, thank you ever so much for writing such a wondrous review of your nine nights at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa in one of our pool villas. We will ensure we share your lovely comments with our entire team on the service they provided you both especially our food & beverage and housekeeping teams. It’s great to read you experienced and thoroughly enjoyed our award winning spa, and hope you’ll return for another joyous vacation in the near future. Thank you again The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

the hotel is far away, but far of being a problem, its an oasis in the middle of nothing. totally relaxing atmosphere, the food awesome, i took rissotto, and for the money we paid it was more than worth it.

the selection of spanish wines is incredible, they even have albariño, and again, the price affordable.

i will go back for sure, im in love with this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomasama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Signature Jomasama, thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your vacation. It is wonderful to hear you describe us as a "paradise in Phuket" and we look forward to you returning to Paradise in the very near future. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Sala for 8 nights in July in a Garden pool villa. The villa was incredible and so private. The staff we could not fault, they were wonderful and always friendly. The meals were incredible with a vast menu. Whether we had a poolside hamburger or tapas or fine dined by candle light. We were lucky to experience the Thai traditional menu and performance, was so much fun. For our first time in Thailand, Sala has left a permanent impression and we can't wait to return. We are already planning to return in 2015 but hoping to spend 2 weeks and make it an annual holiday. We will definitely be back. Michelle and Aaron

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Michelle and Aaron, WOW - 5 out of 5 in every category! Such a wonderful review of your 8 day stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa! It’s so wonderful to read what a joyous vacation in every way you had and that we made such a lasting impression on you both that you’ll return in 2015. We will ensure we share this with our entire SALA team. Thank you again and we shall look forward very much to your return and please let us know in advance of your arrival. Our very best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay - excellent value for money.

No point repeating what has already been written about out the modern design, beach etc.

Highlights:
- one of the best beds I have slept on (and I have stayed in dozens of five star properties) - right mix of firmness and comfort. Never slept so well without a back ache.
- fluffy warm towels stacked up by the pool and in villa (how do you guys keep it that way all the time?)
- beautiful ambience and public areas
- free bicycles were well maintained
- great quality linen
- there was loud construction at my villa within minutes of me checking in; while I was disappointed, service recovery was prompt and generous. The assistant manager offered to move me to a more spacious villa away from the noise.

Suggestions:
- I have stayed in many hotels in Phuket and I have realistic expectations of English capabilities but I found Sala waitstaff have worse English than most (on average)
- while most staff are friendly and competent, some are gruff and rude (in one case they made a comment in Thai to each other about me)
- food (even for locally procured items, e.g., seafood) is priced about 50% higher than a top end Bangkok restaurant and on par with Sydney or London. To be fair, however, quality and ambience were good and we didn't feel ripped off. But it is a very expensive place to eat and there are few options close by.

Regarding the architecture - it is really for couples. We traveled with a 7 year old child and found it hard to share the open bathroom. I am used to outdoor bathrooms in high-end tropical hotels but keep in mind the architecture at Sala is is really open, not just outdoor. The curtains provide little privacy. This is not a criticism of the hotel, just a design fact that guests should be aware of.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Critical_eye1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Signature Critical_eye1111, thank you for your review and for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your 2 night vacation with your wife and child. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the comfort of your villa and its bed so much. Like any business sometimes things unfortunately go wrong and we pride ourselves on our service recovery and it’s so warming to hear you highlight this. Regards your comments on the English ability of some of our team we do take English communication very seriously and our in-house native English teacher conducts departmental on-the-job and classroom based language classes with all our guest contact staff every week. As I am sure you’re aware language skills also comes down to confidence, listening skills, comprehension and understanding of other nationalities’ accents and language traits and these are some of the things we are constantly striving to improve on. Thank you again and we do hope you’ll return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent a 4-night stay at Sala Phuket resort in July (rainy season) with our 3 children. We booked the Sala Duplex pool villa (actually big enough for a familly of 4 or even 5) plus a Deluxe balcony. We enjoyed the spacey living room and the good-sized pool in the garden of the pool villa. However, at the time of our arrival, there was a foul odor in the compound which made the outdoor pool experience not so enjoyable. Luckily, as the rain stopped, it faded away the following days. The equipment in the villa was Ok but not top notch (we had the same problem as the other guest who left a review regarding a broken expresso machine, so I guess nothing was done to fix it for a while).

It would have been excusable if not for the following issues: When I booked our rooms, I specifically asked whether the maintenance work at the restaurant which was mentioned on their website would be completed. I received an email confirming that it would be completed by the time of our stay. So I was particularly disappointed to discover that the work was still going on. For our first dinner at the restaurant, we asked for a large table with sofas and, although the restaurant was almost empty, we were told this table was reserved. We were offered a table in the corridor. In the end, no one showed up for the "reserved" table during the evening. The next morning, we had to cope with the drilling noise of the repair work. On our second breakfast, I had to argue with the staff to have this maintenance work put on hold during breakfast time, which they reluctantly did after my insisting to discuss it with the manager on duty.

So despite this mixed start, we did try to make the best of our stay: we tried the Sala spa, which was Ok but not blissful; BBQ ribs and pizzas were very good and we had them delivered at the villa which was great for a family dinner with the kids ; the beach bar was a great spot for snacks and drinks with large beach sofas where the 5 of us could all fit and relax ; we also had our 8yr old son make his first rounds with the resort bicycles which are available to guests for free.

In sum, this is a good place if you like quiet and peaceful time (not so much to do in the area) and modern zen-like design. In our view, it lacks warmth and all the special attentions which make a real 5* experience. Service is not very consistent and not really customer-oriented, as if the "beautiful look" of the setting was enough to make the trick. Even as a Spa destination, it lacks the soul, sophistication and attention to details that one would expect (no explanation on the spa menu options, staff not fluent in english and not properly trained, lack of healthy options in the breakfast menu etc...). Also, I would suggest avoiding the moonsoon season as the dark grey and white look of the design while enjoyable in a hot and sunny day can be a bit depressing under the rain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Signature frenchconnection88, thank you for your comprehensive review and for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your family holiday. It is with regret although we have rectified this issue now, reading your comments on the espresso coffee making machine. All machines have now been replaced, which we had planned to do in October but we’ve completed this a little earlier than planned but a little too late for you I’m afraid, to which we apologise. The work we conducted on the restaurant completed on 19th July and was unfortunately delayed by a couple of days due to rain which did mean it regrettably finished during your stay which we tried to do with the absolute minimal disturbance yet we noted your request during your breakfast which you mentioned. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your ribs and your in-villa dining experience with your family. We shall ensure to assist our restaurant team with the importance of turning tables as we believe the table you requested although reserved for later in the evening could well have accommodated you and your family earlier in the evening. Our complimentary bicycles are very popular and it’s wonderful to hear your son enjoyed his time on them. We do take all aspects of our training and development of our team very seriously. Our in-house native English teacher conducts departmental on-the-job language classes with all guest contact staff every week, and as I am sure you’re aware language skills also comes down to confidence, listening skills and comprehension of other nationalities’ accents and language traits and these are some of the things we are constantly striving to improve on. Thank you again and we do hope you’ll return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I came with my partner for a weekend break. One of my friends had recommended the Spa here, and I wanted to feel pampered for a couple of days.

The villa was well-appointed, it was very easy to get comfortable and wind down. The bed was large and comfortable, and everything felt like it was in the right place.

We really liked the beach, which was in immaculate condition when we visited. The sea at Mai Khao is crystal clear, unlike some other beaches in Phuket.

But the highlight of the trip was my time in the Spa. I got "Lucky" - Daralak! - who gave me the best oil massage of my life. Her technique was superb - I felt like I was in a dream. The tension melted away from my shoulders and my back, and left me in a state of total relaxation.

So thank you SALA Phuket and especially Lucky, I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieCheesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Signature KatieCheesborough, thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. We are truly spoilt with our location being set on Phuket’s longest and most underdeveloped beaches which is also part of the Sirinat National Park. We shall pass on your comments and praise to our spa therapist Lucky. Thank you again and we hope to see you return. All the best The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me my wife and another couple of friend stayed for two nights during Sept 15- Sept 17 in two separate garden pool villas. We had our serious apprehensions about this place as we are not used to staying in secluded areas with almost no close=by alternative food options. We arrived early around 11:30 and were greeted very courteously at the reception who made us sit, relax and enjoy enjoy incredible welcome drink while they ensure they prepared the formal paper work so efficiently that we simply had to sign them with minimum effort. We were then given our rooms (early check in by four hours) with ease. The villas at the beginning looked a shed disappointing compared to how they are presented on the website but as we stayed there we reaiised it was a beautiful place and a great value for money. House keeping was great and efficient and staff courteous. We wish they had offered us the complimentary upgrade to single presidential suit but no complaint. It was refreshing to see that .the place had no flies or mosquitoes despite being next to beach with a pool and garden with the villa.We had major apprehensions about availability of good vegetarian food at reasonable cost but marvelled the great food at very reasonable price by Phuket standards. Both the complimentary breakfast and the service was excellent. The snacks, dinner, pool, ambiance, beach were all great. Yes, in the breakfast restaurant they can do marginally better by having one comprehensive menu for all vegetarian food and dessert choices rather than have one too many.
A few pieces of advice here - 1. the hotel can manicure the shrubs and maintain the garden around these villas and at little cost it can make the place look even greater. 2. They should provide atleast 8 bottles of water instead of four. 3. The mattress need to be changed as it was pressing down in the middle making sleeping posture less luxurious then it can be. 4. The tuk tuk service should be provided up to the main road so that guests can enjoy shopping and dining at the cheaper local stores instead of restricting themselves to the expensive Village mart..5. there should be more lighting options in the garden area and room so that guest like us done at times find it gloomy. We are sorry that while we were talking among ourselves and enjoying a bit of music there was complaint from the near-by villa guests but at the same time wonder if something can be done to ensure that sound does not travel far so easily.
We are happy that we stayed and payed that extra bit for pool villa as its true value over the balcony villa where i think the bathtub in the balcony is a waste. The spa pool villas close to the beach are of much different. could not see the duplex villa as it was occupied but should be great for a family with kids, presidential suit on beach with two villas are great for 4-5 friends travelling together. We now wish we had stayed there a night longer and are determined to suggest friends and folks to stay here. We have no regret that we chose this place over bell pool villa, impiana villa, dusit laguna or zolitude.

Room Tip: Balcony Villa although the most basic are no match to the garden villa. Spa pool villa not much diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj_Poddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Signature Manoj_Poddar, thank you ever so much for such a wonderfully comprehensive review of your beautiful time at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa on your stay in one of our garden pool villas. We shall ensure we share your review with our team as we continue to strive for excellence on all accounts. We will take note and look at the small areas of improvement and concerns for yourself that you mentioned and we look forward very much to your return in the future. Thank you again and please do let us know when you wish to return our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
799 reviews
25.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Address: 333, Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $184 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort And Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing