We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and privacy near to Phuket airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our trip in June. As we were in the middle of an early monsoon rain onset, we decided to move to be close to the airport and relax in a luxury hotel and we couldn't have been happier that we did. This is one of the better luxury boutique hotels we have stayed in. We loved the privacy of our own pool villa, we found everything to be kept very clean and tidy and the meal we had in the restaurant was lovely. We hope to return for another stay in the dry season soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Signature Rabstar32, thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to spend the last 2 days of your vacation at SALA in one of our pool villa. We’re so pleased we impressed you so and we hope as you say we can welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future. All our best wishes The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent three very relaxing nights at Sala from the 28th August. Our Sala Pool Villa was beautiful, well decorated/appointed and not overlooked at all. For those not familiar with Phuket, the location of Mai Khao is very quiet with just a handful of local restaurants outside the plethora of 5 star resorts - if you want the 'action' of Patong then think again. What you get here is a very relaxing pace of life in beautiful surroundings, a deserted beach and the Andaman sea to play in.

The restaurant on site is excellent, the Crab with Yellow Curry Powder ranks as one of the best meals I've had in Thailand out of the 6 occasions I have visited this wonderful part of the world.

Staff are polite, helpful and ever smiling - the Thai's are generally thus and nothing is too much hassle.

Breakfast is a break from the norm being A La Carte though there are enough options for everyone from traditional western fare to local specialities - try the pancakes with mango! I feel it better that your breakfast is freshly prepped for you than having a massive selection that has been stood in ban maries for hours on end, quality over quantity every time.

Just outside the hotel are a handful of local restaurants, nothing much to look at but staffed by ever smiling locals making excellent food at rock bottom (by UK standards) prices. Som Tum / Pad Thai for c100bht.

Only minor gripe is that for the in villa dinner all courses arrived at once meaning we rushed our anniversary dinner, however the food was excellent and given the surroundings we still had a wonderful evening.

Cinema on the beach twice a week, Return of The Jedi with the waves rolling in and a cold glass of Singha made for a memorable end to our stay.

If you want a truly relaxing holiday in quality surroundings then I would highly recommend Sala.

Room Tip: Sala Pool rooms are very private and excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieMc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Signature JamieMc1974, thank you for choosing SALA Phuket, our beautiful SALA Signature pool Villa and for such a perfect review of your holiday. We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary with us and we shall ensure we share your wonderful words with our team especially our F&B and culinary team who really ensure the utmost in a wonderful dining experience whichever meal period it may be. We do hope you’ll return and please let us know when you wish to do so. Thank you again and all the best The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is a good idea to spend a few days in Sala resort. The most enjoyable thing there is definitely the private pool, which in fact made my stay there enjoyable to a big extent. The staff were friendly and the service was good.
Breakfast was average (no enough varieties there), rooms from inside were were clean but there were a lot of Geckos in the pool open area which irritated me a lot.
I would advise honeymooners to stay for a few days there (2 or 3 nights maximum), then move to another place for a new experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasha_cairo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Signature rasha_cairo2013, thank you for your lovely review and for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your vacation. It's great to hear you enjoyed your SALA signature pool villa so much. Regards the geckos they are in fact harmless and are very effective at eating mosquitoes, we hope you liked your little purple SALA gecko gift we left on your bed. We truly are a marvelous location for honeymooners. Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the near future. Best regards The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our second visit to this lovely resort. Didn't disappoint. This time we returned with our 20 month old daughter and it is such a perfect place for families who love the boutique style resort and don't want to stay in large overcrowded hotels. It is 'family friendly' but never felt busy, noisy or overcrowded, even at 100% occupancy. Noticed a mild deterioration in cleanliness at the resort and you notice some bugs but this is minimal when you consider the tropical location. It is an open plan resort and everything is outdoors which makes it difficult when you have rain or extreme heat. Waiting for our late flight in our airport clothes was a challenge and we had to sit in the breakfast room to avoid the heat. We stayed in the resort for all meals and did find it overpriced given that the cost of produce was probably reasonable in Thailand. The food prices were in line with eating out in Australia, if not more expensive. This can add up when you eat there for the entire holiday. Cocktails and happy hour was a highlight of each day. Only had a pedicure and manicure in the spa and was very disappointed. I read a promotion in the room which indicated 20% off all treatments but found out later this didn't apply to manicures/pedicures.....misleading. So paying the full amount, sitting in a really uncomfortable armchair and being in full view of people walking to the gym...wasn't the best pampering experience. The nail varnish hadn't set properly when I left and the top coat came off within an hour leaving my nails looking pretty shocking. I didn't complain as I just find this difficult when communication is a challenge. I recommend that for nail services they invest in a proper salon chair and upgrade their equipment as it didn't give a good impression and influenced my decision not to return for further treatments e.g. Facials. The staff were excellent and especially attentive to our little girl, with crayons and kids menus plus lots of smiles. Breakfast included in the room rate was tasty and a good selection was offered. I heard some people complain about the limited continental options but I thought there was plenty, especially with the a la carte menu in addition to the buffet. We thought the airport transfer was handy but we weren't given two bottles of water on the return journey which was disappointing. Fixtures and fittings are starting to show wear and tear since our visit in 2010. I still think this place is luxury but I hope the management stay on top of renovations because we would love to keep returning. The programme of entertainment was great - outdoor movies, cooking classes, yoga, etc. We have previously stayed at resorts like The Racha and much preferred the Sala Phuket. Overall, an excellent stay as expected! Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divechickxtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Signature divechickxtreme, firstly thank you for returning to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for writing such a positive review of your family vacation. It’s great to hear such lovely comments, though with respects to the expense of our cuisine we only use the finest ingredients such a wagyu heifer beef which has to be imported which compared to local restaurants only using local beef there is quite a different in costs and a substantial difference in taste. Our daily happy hour from 17:00 – 18:30 is very popular. Our apologies for the confusion on the spa promotion it does say offer Excludes Salon & Spa packages and manicures would come under the salon, I am sorry to say. That being said there really isn’t any justification for your nail vanishing coming off so quickly after your treatment, we do hope you’ll return for a third time so we can make this up to you. All our 79 rooms, villas and suites undergo a very detailed preventative maintenance program though being set right in the beautifully picturesque Sirinath National Park right on Phuket’s longest and most under developed Maikhao beach it does expose us to nature and its elements. Our staff really adore children and the kids menu colouring and crayons are always a huge hit with children and parents alike. Thank you again and we’re so pleased you enjoyed our complimentary yoga on Tuesdays & Thursdays. We shall look forward to your return and thank you again our very best regards The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

well i went over there last march during my honeymoon . to be honest at first sight i didnt like it . it seemed remote and deserted ,, but as days went by it turned out i was wrong ,, to tell you the truth i spent very lovely days there at Sala with my lovely beautiful wife.
this is a place for honeymooners or for those who seek peace of mind away from their worries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamlawista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Signature shamlawista, thank you very much for you review and for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your honeymoon. We’re so pleased you both enjoyed your romantic time hear and look forward to your return in the near future. Let us wish you a lifetime of happiness together. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My second visit to this wonderful property and it didn't disappoint this time either. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help. It's a pity that the beach is to dangerous to swim with the rip but the villas have a private pool so it's not exactly a problem. The facilities are wonderful and we found the bang for buck excellent. My only bribe is the tiles that surround the pool deck of each villa. The tiles are totally slick when wet and very dangerous, we can't believe people aren't injured regularly. All in all a fantastic place and very well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear nicktaz, it’s wonderful to hear you had such a great time for the second time at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for taking the time to write a great review for us. We will most certainly pass on your compliments to our SALA team who really genuinely enjoy and appreciate the importance of true Thai SALA hospitality. We have noted your comments on the tiles; we do have long anti-slip mat that runs the length of the pool, villa side which should help. The best times for the beach with blue crystal calm waters is from around December through to about May or June. We do hope you’ll make it a back for a third time and please let us know when that will be. All our very best regards The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went here for my honeymoon and it was a reasonably nice place to stay. The pictures looked amazing, in real… it isn’t as nice. The basin was steel and had a fair bit of rust on it (I don’t expect this from a “5*” resort! The tea/coffee area had tiny insects everywhere. I called reception when I got there to ask about an electric insect repellent that had been mentioned to us, they said they would send someone over but didn’t. I called again half an hour later and was told the same thing, a further 30minutes later.. someone turned up. We took a walk to the beach and noticed a load of garbage everywhere… it was as if there had been some sort of night party. We were miserable for the rest of the night, but, when we went again the next day.. it was fine. The poolside waiter is amazing, very friendly.. brings everyone iced tea 

Breakfast – Isn’t great. Theres very little of the “buffet” breakfast, the rest has to be ordered. The service was not very good at all. I remember a young man that would come and take our order, he was miserable and not very polite. I asked him for cutlery, which he went and got without a “sorry about that/here’s your cutlery”. Then there was no English breakfast tea so again I had to ask for it. I noticed that everyday… there was something missing from our table – napkin/tea/milk/cutlery/sugar. Again.. would you expect this from a 5* start resort?
I complained about the service to the manager and he very kindly offered us a free dinner. I must say the service at dinner was exceptional.. a middle aged man served us all evening- being friendly, engaging in conversation and also got me some insect repellent!

What I did like… the turn down service. A healthy drink is left in your room, incense sticks and candles are lit. The spa is AMAZING.. a treatment is well worth the money. Dinner is lovely. Reception staff are very nice too.

I would call this 4* at the most, maybe because I had come from an actual 5* Maldives resort and Bangkok Banyan tree where the service had been absolutely faultless!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mpatel_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Signature Mpatel_23, firstly let us say congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for one of the locations for your honeymoon. We are sorry to say that it’s a little difficult to respond directly to your issues being they were 10 months ago. We certainly have improved and continue to improve as one can see from our latest reviews with more than 66% of our reviews scoring us a perfect 5 and more than 87% of our guests scoring us 4 or better. All our 79 room, villas and suites undergo a very detailed preventative maintenance program though being set right in the beautifully picturesque Sirinath National Park right on Phuket’s longest and most under developed Maikhao beach it does expose us to nature and its elements. We’re proud to say on a daily basis around the pool we are continuing to serve our very popular complimentary ice tea, and we’re glad you enjoyed this and the pool staff’s service. It’s also great to hear you were impressed with our award winning spa and our nightly turn-down service. We hope you’ll return and to experience what a difference a year makes! Let us wish you a lifetime of happiness together, our best wishes The SALA Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
772 reviews
25.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Address: 333, Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $185 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort And Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing