We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We are leaving Sala today and will be sad to leave. The reviewer who said the staff were cold and uncaring must have got out of bed the wrong side, we found them all warm and friendly and they could'nt do enough for you. We had a villa with a pool which was lovely and clean, the pool was great and a great way to start the day.
The restaurant was in a great position by the pool. The breakfast buffet was good but could have had a bit more choice e.g jams and more flavoured yoghurts. The printed menu choice was nice but if you don't fancy anything they will do there best to cook you what you want. At night the food was outstanding, not the cheapest but with the taxes they have to add understandable. Overall our stay was really relaxing a bit out of the way and the staff were brilliant.
Sala you should be proud of them.
Thank you all for a great stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Signature Andy B, Derby, UK. Thank you for your review and encouraging feedback, we will ensure your comments are placed on our employee notice board so all staff can acknowledge your positive points on resort services. We are glad you enjoyed the resorts private pool villas and facilities and our award wining cuisine. Our Exec Chef is looking into the Continental breakfast buffet yoghurts to see if we can increase flavors/variety which hopefully will meet your expectations on your next planned visit to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa and Phuket regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    339
    99
    23
    23
See reviews for
208
1,025
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

An all round mind blowing escape. We have just returned from this wonderful resort with our 3 children and we have in all our many travels never experienced a holiday so relaxing as this one. The resort is 5 star with the whole package from food to staff to spa being excellent.

Well done Sala!! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthajules01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Signature Marthajules, Portadown, UK. Thank you all so much for your wonderful comments and we are glad you all enjoyed the resort facilities and your visit to Phuket and of course SALA Phuket Resort and Spa! Please do let us know if you would like to bring the family back for a return visit in the near futre, Regards Jon Ashenden GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was the first time we visited Phuket after having spent memorable holidays in other Thaï islands. We stayed in SALA Phuket 6 days in a huge 2 BR Pool villa by the seaside. All amenities and attention to details were there. Big pool, the 2 sleeping areas well separated, a very pleasant outdoor space to chill out by the private pool and an indoor common living room. Total privacy guaranteed . Room service was quick and good.

Perfect ! We loved the pool villa with its modern spacious outdoor bathrooms. the quiet, beautiful garden and sea view, long and wild nIce Beach (sunchairs not available ). Regretfully for beach lovers like us, it is not suitable for swimming, nor playing in the sea (at least in July). Strong currents, immediate steep water make it dangerous. Definitely not recommended for young children.

Eating : average. Since there is nothing around, we dine at SALA Restaurant almost daily. Pricey. Quality of food, OK , nothing more but when service is lacking, it becomes far too expensive for what we had.!. We ordered a grilled beef filet "rare" which was served 20mn later but "almost well done" , decorated with a leaf of basil and 1/4 of tomato. Our daughter had a Pad Thai after 30 mn. We ordered a bottle of rosé wine for each dinner. We had to request for the ice to chill the bottle and refill glasses ourselves.
Breakfasts was A la Carte. Hence, it took 15' for juice and coffee. Then other 15' -20' for the rest of order. There was a display of cereals & fruit, not a buffet. Quality was good but limited choice.

Check-in : we didn't feel welcomed. Waiting with Mosquitos for a while because room not ready. Check-out : pay your bill and bye.

We are used to such warm "Sawadee Ka" everywhere. Hence, we were very surprised at SALA, the Staff often "forgot" to greet guests. For such a level of boutique hotel, isn't it weird ?also, during the 6 days we stayed there, we've never had the privilege of meeting anyone from management to constructively complain abt these points..
Is that SALA philosophy that privacy is so respected and Staff overly discreet to the extent that the Resort offered such a cold, unfriendly ambiance which is instead a good match with the concrete architecture. Too bad, our take away is a bit far from our expectations compared to a few resorts we've been to in Asia.

Our experience at SALA Phuket sounds very similar to the comments I read recently from another reviewer. Average or poor service may be compensated with smiling faces, not in this case.

Room Tip: 2 BR Pool villa by the sea. Literally 2 steps to Restaurant, pools and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Signature Bellamonte, Pully, Switzerland. Thank you for your review and feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your private pool villa resort facilities. The resorts 9km of unspoilt and pristine Mai Khao beach fronts a National Park so unfortunately we are not permitted by law to provide sun lounge/beds on the beach however we do provide sunbeds around our vast lawn and lap/fun pools which is only a mere 30 metres from the beach. Swimming conditions are excellent between (Nov-Apr) each year and all of West Coast beaches in Phuket practice (yellow/red flag - caution) during (May-Oct). We apologize on your disatisfaction during breakfast and dinner meal periods, we constantly compare pricing structures with our competitor hotels in Mai Khao and can say we are the cheapest in the area and use only quality imported and sourced local ingredients. Again we apologize if we did nto make you feel welcome, which is unusual considering Thailand is the land of smiles! I can understand if you arrive early and your villa is not available as the resort is in high season period with high occupancies, perhaps you should pre-register (reserve and pay an additional night for your early arrival). It seems most unusual that you have not seen or were unable to meet any management at the resort over a 6 day period to voice your complaints? considering we have several managers in both Rooms/Food and Beverage and Operations? I disagree on your comment relating to Trip Advisor Review that our employees are 'cold, unwelcoming and unfriendly Thai staff' but i notice you did not mention the other 450 positive reviews that guests from all around the world have been kind enough to post!!? Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Loved the hotel and our room was super comfortable, very luxurious with our private pool, the place was spotless clean, all staff were smiley,and the service was super!

The only downside to this place, was that its really far from all the fun, its far from patong, karon, fantasea, everywhere, So you mostly just get tired of doing things sometime, due to the long cab rides to anywhere!!
Phuket is very well known for its day trips, like phi phi island, james bond, safaris and stuff like that, You can get those done through companies that are everywhere, we actually booked 3 trips right at the airport, which was perfect as we had 3 days planned ahead of awesome activities, those companies are really convenient as they have everything planned including pick ups and drop offs from hotels with exact timmings and its free of charge, however with Sala phuket's location, they would charge at least 400 bahts per person for trasportation.

Having said that, still having your own private pool was quiet an experience, so if you're looking for this sort of trip go for it. However 3 days is enough actually, as out of persoanl experience when we've checked in hotels with private pools for 10 consecutive days, we've noticed only using them 2, 3 times tops!! so save your money and hop around hotels if you're staying for longer periods, you need this indulegnece for a few days, then you'll find yourself going out and doing other activities than using the ameneties of your room.

Most fun things we've done in phuket: were ofcourse those well known islands visits, zip lining was out of this world!! what a wonderful experience at the amazing natural rainforest, and the mountain safaris are lots of fun as well.

Room Tip: We loved our Sala Villa with Private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Signature Sarah Mahmoud, Dubai, UAE. Thank you both for your positive review and feedback. We are glad you were impressed with your private pool villa and enjoyed the resorts facilities although you have indicated you would prefer to be in amoungst the fun and vibe of Southern Phuket. Whilst we understand your comment a majority of our guests vacation at SALA for a couple of reasons; for their privacy, discreet service, serenity, direct access to unspoilt and non-crowded pristine beaches, National Parks and Phang Nga bay of Islands, able to relax and recharge without the hassle and traffic of Southern Phuket (which you can always visit......and leave behind by car!) so we strongly suggest to all guests to first determine what type of vacation they are looking for and research before deciding on the perfect destination for their next planned holiday! Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Resort and Spa in the near future. Regards Jon Ashenden GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the sister resort in koh samui and hence cannot resist some comparisons. The accommodation in Phuket is superior, the pool area set up is comparable ( both very very good), but the beach side aspects, breakfast, resort location and general service standards were better in samui.
One can only assume that Sala Phuket is not allowed to place recliners on the sand near the beach? This is a bit of a minus for beach lovers - the beach itself stretches for miles and is good for a long lazy walk, jog etc. but it does have quite a steep incline so beware those with bad backs or knees as you will be walking at an angle. It seems that swimming might sometimes be a bit tricky there and is probably not always child safe (see the warning signs as you enter the beach referring to currents and drop off). While we were there the sea seemed as calm as the pools and many were swimming all along the beach.

The poolside recliners are good and plentiful with adequate shade for those wanting that. A really nice touch is the free cold tea provided ( but then they charge you for bottled water at the pool - which by the way is free in your room - go figure). Also free Internet with good signal throughout the resort is much appreciated.

The main pool is not chlorinated enough to deal with the climate - most guests preferred the smaller pool which seemed to have the filtration system working longer or better. It took 5 days to see a crystal clean pool - c'mon sala you need to clean a pool that size in that heat daily!

The pool villas are spacious and very well appointed and really work well. You can relax there if you want privacy else can wind the day down with a swim in your own lap pool, and glass of wine on your own poolside recliners. The aurconditioning is silent and works well especially combined with the circulating fans ( which can be used instead too).Even fussy visitors should not find much to complain about as far as the villa set ups, fit outs, and amenities are concerned. Most would find the semi outdoor bath and shower quite novel (even if using exposed toilet is a bit fearful) Rest assured noone outside each villa can see over the walls into the villa- the privacy is complete.

The service in the first two days showed how things work (well how they sort of work!)
Luggage took 2 hrs after check in to find its way to the room. Drinks for 4 at the poolside got 2 flat beers delivered then 5 min later a flat drink with soda, and a couple of minutes later - the 4th drink as ordered). The flat beers were replaced with no fuss as was the soda based cocktail - so that was ok?
The next day at breakfast - jam ordered for the bread never arrived. Coffees are a mixed success - a number of cups had cracks in them. By the way - a noticeable portion of the breakfast crockery seems crocked!Mangoes ordered - delivered half hr later when we'd left to the pool (so that was ok - sort of?). Next day breakfast - realized you have to order certain things like croissants which are not on display which might take ages to arrive so you over - order which leads to wastage! The following day a ordered everything and got it all.

However dinner is another story. The food is excellent no matter what you choose and somehow the orders seem to be correctly interpreted and delivered - get a table outside by the pool!

Sala is a great spot. It is not for those wanting action on your doorstep as you need to be prepared to spend about 600 to 800baht minimum each way (by the way get local taxis not the hotel ones )to get to other night spots. This resort is seriously too far away from anywhere other than the airport so unless you are prepared to use taxis you will have to make do with the single restaurant which is not cheap or go to the 2 nearby resorts which are equally pricy.

Sala however lets
itself down just a little by management no doubt seeing all the little "misses" as being "that's Thailand"! What they really need to do is bring in a team of German or Swiss operators to train the staff for a week or two and then find a balance between the "Thai way" and the European efficiency and effectiveness.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and clearly do their very very best but do not seem to know what makes sense or understand that people sitting together at a table want to eat together at the same time and not get things in a random order. It may be that language is a bit of an issue too but it would not take much to have customers feel more happy about visiting a top quality resort , paying top quality prices and getting top quality but unmistakenly Asian service! But this is not a Sala specific issue - it happens down the road too. Whoever makes an effort to address this will get accolades and more repeat guests!

Summary - great accommodation, great pools which need better maintenance, very good Internet coverage, nice outdoor vista, but ordinary breakfast, great evening meals in the restaurant, erratic service and way too isolated location (this may be a real plus to some). This makes it an "almost but not quite" luxury resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Signature EMandJM, Hong Kong, China. Thanks for your extensive review and feedback and for staying at both of our resorts in both Koh Samui and Phuket. Our 9km of unspoilt and non-crowded pristine white sandy beach is swimmable between (Nov - Apr) and National Park fronts the fringe of the beach so we are unable by law to place sunbeds along the beach front. We recently changed to offer guests complimentary ice tea to replace the complimentary bottled water by our main pool as a suggestion from passing guests and we also offer fresh chunky fruit skewers throughout the day. We do apologize for a lack in chlorhine in our large main lap pool during your stay, during early April we experienced issues with 2 of our 4 pool pumps which we have scheduled to replace this year, we are utilizing a mobile pump system daily which is used late at night so as not to disturb guests during the day. The resort is 45-60mins drive away from the hussle and bustle of over crowded, spoilt Patong beach and nightlife but guests soon appreciate Mai Khao beach and the resorts location in the North, as they can leave Patong or Southern Phuket behind and return to serenity at the cost of a cab fare similar to anywhere else in the world! We have investigated your comment on your luggage taking 2 hours?? which is not correct, your luggage was recorded at 20mins delivery time. Unsure what happened with your drink order but we insist staff repeat orders given the language barrier of English to save any wrong or incorrect orders being delivered, we apologize for this. The breakfast experience you mention crockery is chipped and or cracked, we have since replaced a majority of this including a change in design as square plates tend to chip easily! I wish your suggestion of putting in a European management team for a "couple of weeks" would be that easy and solve most of the 'service issues'.....this maybe the case in Hong Kong but certainly would not be in Thailand! (I would be more then happy to explain further if this would be of interest?) you can email me on; genmgr@salaphuket.com Thank you once again, please do let us know if we can assist in the near future should you wish to return to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Phuket Resort and Spa. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If your need is relaxing ,, this is the place for you ,, I stayed here 3 days ,,, I can say that thiss hotel is best place for relaxing and just doing nothing just enjoy with your soul mate the lovely views and places around ,, in the night its very very quite and almost nothing you can do .For service its a 5 stars service and evth is available .

We stayed in private garden villa and its very very nice ,,wonderful stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustafa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Signature Mustafa_13 Amman. Thank you for your review and rewarding feedback, we will ensure we share your positive comments with our team. Also it was nice to learn you managed to relax and enjoy the resort and grounds! Please do let us know if we can assist in anyway on your next reservation if you are considering to return in the near future! Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to Sala Phuket 3 times now, and the hotel keeps surpassing itself in providing a fantastic experience. The food is always great, service is attentive and they do pamper you well when they can! I went on my birthday, and got a complimentary upgrade to a nice villa along with a free spa treatment as well. I was just pleasantly surprised all in all and no doubt I'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor_uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Signature eleanor_uy, Singapore. Thank you for your positive review, feedback and loyalty. We are pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to your own private pool villa, award wining cuisine and guest services. We will ensure to share your comments with our team and if we can assist you directly on your next return visit in the future please do let us know. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing