We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

If your need is relaxing ,, this is the place for you ,, I stayed here 3 days ,,, I can say that thiss hotel is best place for relaxing and just doing nothing just enjoy with your soul mate the lovely views and places around ,, in the night its very very quite and almost nothing you can do .For service its a 5 stars service and evth is available .

We stayed in private garden villa and its very very nice ,,wonderful stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustafa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Signature Mustafa_13 Amman. Thank you for your review and rewarding feedback, we will ensure we share your positive comments with our team. Also it was nice to learn you managed to relax and enjoy the resort and grounds! Please do let us know if we can assist in anyway on your next reservation if you are considering to return in the near future! Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    328
    98
    21
    23
See reviews for
196
992
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to Sala Phuket 3 times now, and the hotel keeps surpassing itself in providing a fantastic experience. The food is always great, service is attentive and they do pamper you well when they can! I went on my birthday, and got a complimentary upgrade to a nice villa along with a free spa treatment as well. I was just pleasantly surprised all in all and no doubt I'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor_uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Signature eleanor_uy, Singapore. Thank you for your positive review, feedback and loyalty. We are pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to your own private pool villa, award wining cuisine and guest services. We will ensure to share your comments with our team and if we can assist you directly on your next return visit in the future please do let us know. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Where do you start ? Location, Staff, Room it does not matter they were all simply excellent. The location can not be beaten, stunning day and night. The majority of the rest of the world could learn a great deal from the staff at Sala, they were all superb, they smile, want to help, nothing is too much.
We had dietary needs, medical, not one of these fads, and the Chef and his staff produced a whole menu just for us, exceptional, and made our stay stress free.
Our room was one of their Pool Villas, perfect and how we needed the pool we were in and out of it mornings and evenings to cool down, just wonderful.
Sala Phuket is not a cheap place to go but worth every penny, or cent if you prefer, we visited three other hotels near by out of interest, how pleased we were to have chosen Sala, I will leave it at that.
It is our understanding that they were full while we were staying, if that was true it is extraordinary as we never saw more than 30 other quests at any one time.
If you were extremely fussy there are a few things that could be improved on and those will be between the management and us and if they implement them they can have their 6 STARS.
We both want to go back and will and that should be enough of a recommendation.

Room Tip: One of the Villas with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Signature Scotland-Martians, Scotland. Thank you both Mr & Mrs Hudson for your wonderful & encouraging review and constructive feedback, we have shared all with our team so we can take further steps as a 5 star brand to improve on our guest experience in the future! Chef Jan passes on his sincere gratitude and arranging your dietary needs was a pleasure. It is promising to learn that the resort and staff exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel was really lovely! The room (balcony room) was calm and tranquil. When they made up the beds, they also set up aromatherapy oil burner so you will return to your room which smells so lush after a long day on beach. The meals were excellent especially the breakfast was superb. The evening meal was just as good as the Thai taster menu was truly authentic and second to none.
This hotel is worth every penny for a relaxing holiday- perfect for couples!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcbn_ayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Signature tcbn_ayn, Leeds, UK. Thank you both for your feedback and great review! It was nice to hear you enjoyed the resort and its facilities, our award wining cuisine and our SSS - SALA Signature Services which includes a choice of various oil scents, handmade soaps and designer pillows for guests to select prior, or on arrival that they prefer. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Resort and Spa in the near future. Regards Jon Ashenden GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is in a national preserve, so none of the hotels in the area are right on the ocean, pushed back 30 or 40 yards, so no sea view rooms, but hotel is on the beach - can walk from the main pool down to the beach in a minute. The beach is usually pretty much empty. Several miles long, nice sand, no rocks. There are 2 main pools and an attached children's pool. But most rooms are self contained with their own pools. Modernist type rooms - get your choice of pillow types and oil scents for evening. Breakfast buffet is small, but also get choice of ala carte which is pretty good. Food for the most part was very good.

The negative is the location - on the northwest tip of the island, so is a hike to get anywhere but the airport. The taxis in Phuket are a complete and utter rip off, so going to cost $30-40 each way to go anywhere. Turns a cheap dinner out into an expensive dinner out. The hotel does make up for it by doing events pretty much every night - had US southern style smoked rib bbq, set up a screen and do movies on the lawn. But expect if staying you will be hotel focused for most of the trip.

Room Tip: Definitely at least go for the pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Signature rmk029, Singapore. Thank you for your recent and positive review after your visit to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa and we are pleased you enjoyed the resort design features, guest facilities, our beautiful 9km long pristine beach and cuisine. Some say the location is quite a distance from the city of Phuket but the majority of our guests appreciate the resorts secluded positioning away from the overcrowded and spoilt Southern beaches of Phuket. Unfortunately if you want to travel to Patong beach or Phuket town there will be a fee charged by the local taxi companies but these are similar prices to what other countries charge. We do hope you will return to Phuket and to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

If you like brilliant service (sensitive to your needs without bein overbearing), a secluded location, crisp white sheets, the nicest people on earth, delicious food, a natural setting, and absolute comfort- then SALA Phuket should come at the top if your list.

We booked ourselves in for one night en route to Ko Phi Phi (incidentally, that was a hideous backpacker hovel till we left and went to Zeavola). We loved it so much that we then came back from Phi Phi early and booked ourselves in for another visit on the way back to Bangkok.

The moment you arrive, you are faced with the calming view of natural colours, green grass, reflective architectural ponds and Thai luxury. Even as you check in and are adorned with sweet smelling flowers, you are provided with a cooling iced fruit tea, and all your worries wash away.

I know it's a cliche, but sometimes cliches exist for a reason. This place was heaven on earth. Our room had an amazing balcony with huge round bath, a large shower, and other bathroom facilities. They had thought of everything in the room - even down to a bowl of fruit featuring obscure local fare with a small booklet explaining what they were, printed, of course of eco friendly paper. They provided flip flops, a beach bag, beach towels, umbrella... Anything you needed they had. It was all tastefully decorated in white and purple/lilac. Staff would put down a mosquito net across the whole balcony each evening, and leave a fragrance diffuser on, and leave you with a surprise delicious drink.

No sign of touristy tackiness at all. The resort is tucked away on the very quiet Mai Khao beach with the other exclusive hotels and the beach is favorited by locals. We went in "monsoon" season and the place was almost completely empty and we were very lucky with the weather. We had almost exclusive use if the amazing infinity pool, and enjoyed sipping delectable cocktails in the bar with the crashing waves sounding in the background.

No superlative is too excessive to describe how much I love this place. In low season the price is very reasonable for this amazing experience. This is the antithesis to the stereotype of Thailand and the best antidote to a Londoner's stress and tension. Go! Now!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minpin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Signature Minpin26, London UK. Thank you very much for your encouraging review and positive feedback which we will ensure to share with our team! We are glad you enjoyed the resort design, guest services and facilities and even chose to return for an extra night of indulgence before your trip to Bangkok! Please do let us know if we can assist in the near future should you wish to return to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Phuket Resort and Spa. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Love this place!

Stayed here last 2 nights of honeymoon and would highly recommend it to others for a relaxing last Night or 2 in Phuket/Thailand. We got a free upgrade from a balcony room to a private pool villa on both nights (Thursday and Friday). Amazing. This was a step above other 5 star hotels we stayed at on our trip and certainly better value for money.

I really appreciated the modern architecture, decor and lighting which gave the hotel a truly unique character. The walkways around the villas might be a bit austere of an aesthetic for some with all the enclosing walls making it feel a little like a maze. I felt the landscaping softened it up appropriately.
I'm not sure why the guest room bathrooms were designed to be open to the elements. It has novelty value but Mosquitos are a bit of a problem.

The food is very good (try to eat as many donuts as possible at the buffet breakfast) the beach is beautiful and quiet. The service at the front desk was excellent.

Note the hotel is not near anything. It cost 600 baht in a taxi to get to anything like a pharmacy.
Other than the remote location (which you might find a plus) the hotel gets full marks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meliaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Signature Meliaa 78, Hoboken, New Jersey. Thank you for the positive review and great feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the resort design and facilities, your upgrade and guest services. I will advise our team on your craving of our homemade breakfast donuts and if and when you return we will ensure to change your arrival fruit bowl with a mixed donut dozen! We do hope you will consider returning in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing